Harrison County, WVGenWeb
Hardesty's 1882 Biographical Atlas
Harrison County
     Ten Mile District:

   The surface of this district, like that of the principal part of the county, is hilly and broken.  There is a variety of soil, but it is principally clay and limestone, and well adapted to agriculture and grazing.  The timber is oak, poplar, sugar, beech, sycamore, and hickory.  Nearly two thirds of the land is improved.  There is an abundance of coal of an excellent quality, although but little has been mined, and that for home consumption;  several years ago, while some parties were boring for oil, they cut through a vein fourteen feet thick.  Ten-Mile Creek is formed in this district by a conjunction of Coburns Fork and Turtletree Creek, and flows northeasterly through the district.  Coburns Fork rises in the district and flows northeast.  Salem Fork rises in the district, runs easterly , and empties into Ten-Mile.  Cherry Camp also rises in the district, runs nearly south and empties into Salem Fork.  Grass Run rises in the district, flows southeast, and empties into Ten-Mile.  Indian Run rises in the district, and flows southeast into Ten-Mile.  There are many other small streams, tributaries of those mentioned.
   The B & O R.R. runs through the district from east to west.
   The first settlement was made at New Salem, about the year 1793.  Among the pioneers were Samuel F. Randolph; William Davis; Jesse F. Randolph; James, Jacob, Nathan, John, Stephen C. Joshua and Asa Davis; William Martin; George W. Dakon; Wilford Drummond; William Jones; John B. Davidson; Samuel Ritter; and Bedlam Maxwell.  
   The first marriage is supposed to have been that of Zebulon Maxen to Mary Davis.     
   The first election was held at the  house of Perry Lynch, on Ten-Mile Creek, before the district was formed, in May, 1852.  At this election, the following officers were elected:  Mathias Davis and Thornton Rumble, Magistrates; S.C. Davis, Clerk; Daniel F. Davis, Treasurer.
   The first grist mill was built on Ten-Mile Creek, about the year 1808, by William Davis.
It was built of logs and was run by horse power, when there was insufficient water in the stream.  There are now six grist mills in the district- one steam mill at Salem, and five water mills, located in different parts of the district.  Near Cherry Camp, on G.W. Dakon's farm, there have been four mills erected within fifty yards of each other.  The original mill was one of the first in the district.  One of them is now in operation by overshot water power.  The first saw mill in the district was built by William Davis.
   A school was taught at New Salem about the year 1808, in a small log cabin.  This was the introduction of education into this seciton.  The first building erected under the free school system was built at Cherry Camp, in 1866; it was a one-story frame building, which has since been enlarged by the addition of another story.  There are now fourteen free schools in the district, and one independent school at New Salem, all occupying neat, well furnished frame buildings.  The enrollment of schools is as follows:  males, 384; females, 345; total, 729; beside those in attendance at the independent school at Salem.  The tax levy for teachers' fund is 15 cents on the $100; for building fund, 25 cents.
  The first post office in the district was located at New Salem; Cherry Camp, Wolfs Summit and Marshville have since been added to the list.

  The present justices are Jesse F. Randolph, and James L. Hickman.  Board of Education:  James L. Hickman (pres), Rufus Haymond, J. Paine.  The district contains about 500 voters.
   The first religious society was the Seventh Day Baptist, organized about 1805 by Rev. Jacob Davis, at New Salem; they worshipped in a rude log house that had no door nor floor.  Among the original members were Rev. Jacob Davis, John Peter and Nathan Davis, Zebula Maxon and Samuel Rudolph. Mt. Morris Methodist Episcopal, now known as Point Pleasant Church, was organized about 1837.  The original church building as built of hewn logs; when the B & O Railroad was built, the line ran through it, and it was torn down.   A short distance from the original site a nice frame church was erected, which was named Point Pleasant.  This was the second religous organization in the district.  The third was the Enon Baptist Church, near Cherry Camp, organized about 1840 by Rev. A. J. Garrett, Rev. G. W. Dakon and Mattnew Mattocks; the first pastor was A. J. Garrett.  There are now thirteen church organizations in the district.  The Methodist Epsicopal at Cherry Camp; frame building; membership 100; Rev. A. S. Loveall, pastor.  Pleasant Grove Methodist Protestant Church on Cherry Camp; frame buidling; membership, 54; Rev. J. L. Simms, pastor.  New Salem Seventh Day Baptist; frame; membership 200.  Salem Methodist Episcopal; frame; membership 70; Rev. A. S. Loveall.  New Salem Baptist; membership 28; Rev. John S. Fisher.  Enon Baptist Church, near Cherry Camp; frame; membership 136; Rev. John Riblett.  Indian Run Methodist Episcopal; frame; membership 30; Rev. A. S. Loveall.  Pleasant Valley Baptist Church, on Grass run; frame; 35 members; Rev. H. F. Garrett.  Grass Run Methodist Episcopal; frame; built in 1874, membership 46; Rev. A. S. Loveall.  Jarvisville Baptist Church; frame, built in 1882; membership 19; Rev. J. S. Riblett.  Mt. Lebanon Methodist Episcopal Church, on Ten-Mile Creek; frame; membership 50; Rev. Curtis.  United Brethren, on Ten-Mile Creek; frame; membership 37; Rev. C. H. Cox.  Baptist Church, on Ten-Mile Creek; frame.  All but one of the church organizations have church buildings of their own.  The first Sabbath school was organized many years ago by Elder Peter Davis.  There is now one connected with nearlyh every church in the district.
   The village of Cherry Camp was laid out in 1860 by John Good, and first named Goodtown, in honor of the original proprietor.  Samuel Good was the first postmaster, and T. J. Coffman is the present one.  It is situated on Salem Fork and B & O R. R., two miles east of Cherry Camp, and contains about six stores, one grist-mill, one planing mill, and one woolen factory.  The steam grist-mill was built in 1878, is three stories high, and has two runs of stones. 
   When a settlment was first made at Salem, a block-house was built for protection against the Indians.  The town was incorporated in 1879, when the following officers were elected:  Jesse Randolph, Mayor; M. H. Davis, Assessor; 
S. Gaines, Commissioner; Peter Hutson, Sergeant; Daniel Rudolph, R. L. Fowles, F. A. Orr, R. T. Gorden, J. M . Jeffers, Councilmen.  The present officers are:  R. L. Fowles, Mayor; M H. Davis, Recorder; James Fonge, R. T. Gorden, M. W. Davis, D. G. Powell, L. H. Davis, Councilmen; John S. Warner, Serg.; P. F. Randolph, Assesor; Jesse L. Randolph, Street Commissioner.
Home | Index