While there is genealogical information throughout the book, this is a quick link to the Personal History Section of the book, where brief bios of some people are located.
The 13th day of May, 1607, was a great day in the history of the New World. Had the reader been standing upon one of the points of the capes of Virginia gazing out upon the broad expanse of the Atlantic, he would have beheld objects resembling the wings of some spectral bird as it seemed to rest its huge body upon the billows. Land is neared, distance disappears, and the whitened sails waft the vessels of Capt. Newport into the entrance of Chesapeake Bay. On board are 105 persons, who months before had seen the shores of Old England and the blue hills of Ireland fade away in the distance. Then thoughts of the land of their nativity filled their minds, but now they have left the shores of the Old World to find a home and plant the banner of civilization upon the shores of the New. One hundred and five years have passed away since that October morning when Rodrigo Triana, at the mast head of the "Pinta," raised the cry of "Land! Land!" and thus announced to Columbus and his crew that the shore of a new continent was in view, yet no permanent settlement had been made. But now the ships pass the capes, giving to them the names of Charles and Henry, in honor of the two sons of James, their beloved sovereign, and the little tempest-tossed fleet anchors safe within the bay. The next morning, as the sun lights up the shores of Virginia, and, like a myriad of gems, his rays sparkle upon the expanse of waters, the sails are again unfurled and the fleet sails fifty miles up a beautiful river, upon which, in honor of their sovereign, they bestow the name of James. On its northern bank a peninsula is discovered; upon it they land, and Jamestown, the first permanent English settlement in America, is founded.
Every student of American history is familiar with the vicissitudes and trials through which that little colony, the germ of the American Republic. passed, and as he gazes back on the first decades of its existence upon these shores, he wonders that with pestilence, famine and savage warfare, it was not entirely exterminated. But he must remember that a higher power than the genius of Newport had guided them over the stormy seas-that same power was around about them. The time had come when a land of freedom was to be opened for the down-trodden and oppressed of earth's millions-a land in which men wen: to worship God according to the dictates of their own consciences. The permanency and progress of that little colony was designed by Him whose will is unalterable, and it could not fail.
But no sooner had the Anglo-Saxon landed on these shores than his possession was disputed by another race- the Indians- who for 185 years waged the most relentless warfare of which history records an account. Notwithstanding this, the colony increased and extended over every part of what is now East Virginia. An 103 years passed away, and of the country west of the Alleghenies no one knew, for the most daring adventurer had never penetrated into the illimitable wilderness beyond. But in 1710, the illustrious Alexander Spottswood, then swaying the scepter over Virginia, determined to learn something of this hitherto unknown region. Accordingly he equipped a party of thirty horsemen, and heading it in person, set out from Williamsburg, and in due time reached the summit of the Alleghenies. Then, as they stood gazing away toward the setting sun, they pledged themselves that the country should be redeemed from the sway of wild beasts and wilder men. That pledge was sacredly kept. Pioneers at once began to cross the mountains and find homes along the western base of the mountains. The numbers increased so rapidly, that by the year 1777, when British cannon was reverberating along our shores, Greenbrier county was organized, and her citizens worked out their tax levied upon them to defray the expenses of the Revolution, upon the first road opened from where Lewisburg now stands to Charleston on the Great Kanawha. Twelve years later, 1789, Kanawha county was organized and embraced within its limits all the territory lying between the Little Kanawha and Big Sandy rivers, and a line on the east passing from north to south through Gauley mountain, and the Ohio river as its western boundary; a territory which has since been carved, wholly or in part, into no less than fourteen counties.
Wayne's treaty with the Indians in 1795, forever put an end to savage warfare in the Ohio valley. The storm had spent its force and died away, and hundreds of pioneers now found homes on the banks of the Ohio. Among those who sought a dwelling place within the present limits of Jackson county were Samuel McDade, and John Hannamon, both of whom came in 1796. Then followed Charles Parsons, Samuel Tanner, John Greathouse, Elijah Staats, Jacob Starcher, Isaac McKown, John McKown, Joel Buffington, who settled on Buffington's island; John Ingles, Joshua Freehart, and Joel Dewey, who built the block-house at the mouth of Pond creek; John Coleman, who was killed by the Indians near where the town of Cottageville now stands; Joseph Hall, James Hydes, Isaac Hydes, George Hyes, John Brown, Benjamin Wright. and A. W. Aikire.
From the formation of Mason county in 1804 to the year 1831, Jackson was a part of Mason and Wood, but in the latter year the old pioneers, wearied with long jaunts to court at Point Pleasant or Parkersburg, circulated a petition which was numerously signed and sent to Richmond, where it was laid before the general assembly, then in session in that city. The prayer was heard with favor, and in 1831 Jackson county-named in honor of Andrew Jackson, then president of the United States-was checkered upon the map of Virginia.
In pursuance of an act of the general sssembly of Virginia, passed on the 1st of March, 1831, entitled, "An Act to form a new county out of parts of Mason, Kanawha and Wood," the following named gentlemen, each holding commissions as justices of the peace, issued by his excellency, the governor of the commonwealth, convened at the house of John Warth Esq., which stood near the mouth of Big Mill creek, and proceeded to open the first county court ever held for Jackson county. John Warth, George Casto, Bamabus Cook, George Stone, Bird Boswell, Henry Shearman, Ephraim Evans, Benjamin Wright, John McKown and Tapley Beckwith, all took several oaths prescribed by law, and the court was declared to be open for the transaction of such business as might legally come before it.
Benjamin Wright was appointed clerk of the court protein. John Warth, being the oldest justice, owing to his seniority, became high sheriff of the county. He held a commission signed by his excellency, Gov. John Floyd. He gave bond in the penalty of $10,000, with Nehemiah Smith, James Smith, Ira Lindsey, John McKown and Gideon Long as his sureties. Then, upon his motion, James Smith, Ira Lindsey and John Greer were appointed as his deputies. They at once took the several oaths prescribed by law, and entered upon the discharge of their respective duties. Thomas A. Hereford was then chosen as the commonwealth attorney for the county. Then it was ordered that George H. Warth be appointed a commissioner of the revenue to list the real estate and personal property of this county and the number of tithables thereof; and thereupon he personally appeared in court and took the several oaths prescribed by law, and together with John Warth as his surety, entered into and acknowledged a bond in the penalty of $1,000, payable to John Floyd' etc., conditioned as the law directs. George MeGarvey was appointed constable of Jackson county. He at once appeared in court, took the several oaths, and, with Nehemiah Smith and Joseph Rader as his sureties, entered into a bond with his excellency, John Floyd, governor, and his successors in office, in the penalty of $2,000, and the court certifies that "the said McGarvey is a man of honesty, probity and good demeanor."
This day (May 31, 1831), Isaac Morris, Thomas A. Hereford, Charles Henderson, James M. Stephenson and Henry J. Fisher, practicing attorneys of this commonwealth, appeared in court, and, after taking the several oaths required by law, were admitted to practice in the courts of this county. Thus was formed the nucleus of the Jackson county bar, now among the most able in the State.
The machinery of the government of the county was now in complete running order, and the court, after making the following order, adjourned according to its provisions: "Ordered, that in pursuance of the power vested in this court by the act of the assembly creating this county, that the court in and for this county, until the erection of the public buildings, in future be held at the house of Joel Sayre, on Big Mill creek." The house thus designated, was a hewed log house, which stood about one and one-half miles northwest of the present county-seat. It has long since been torn down, and not a vestige of it now remains.
The first grand jury was empaneled at the June term of 1831, and was as follows: Andrew Lewis, foreman; Nehemiah Smith; Solomon Harpold, Isaac McKown, Abel Sayre, Gideon Long, Ezekiel McFarlin, Isaac Shearman, Henry Shearman, Charles Smith, David Standley, Joseph Rader James R. Woolf, Jabel Bowles, John Harpold, John Krites, Jonas Casto Isaac Poast, Elijah I. Rolling, John Casto, Thomas Carney and James Standley: They were sworn a grand inquest for the body of the county, and, having received their charge, retired "to consider of their presentments."
In the records for the same term is found this first financial statement. And it is ordered that the sum of $1.62 1/2 be levied upon every tithable in the county, and that the sheriff proceed at once to collect the same as prescribed by law.
June, 1831: "Ordered that William Spurlock, John Miller, and John McWhorter, being appointed by the general assembly of this State to locate the county-seat of Jackson county, are therefore ordered by the said court of Jackson county to attend the same at the house of Joel Sayre, in said county, on the first Monday of September next, for the purpose of locating the said county-seat.
"Ordered that the first district of the overseer of the poor, begin at the mouth of Cedar run, tence to the dividing ridge between the waters of the Big Mill creek and Sandy, and thence with the same to the back line of the county and to include all the upper parts of said county which shall be the first district of said county respecting the poor.
Also,"Ordered that the second district begin at the mouth of Cedar run, thence to run with the line of the first district to the back line of the county, and to include all the district of said county as respects the poor.
At the same time: "The court doth appoint Henry Shearman, William Shepherd, Thomas Cain, Jonathan Casto, Gilbert Boswell, Thomas Boggs, John Warth, Ephraim . Evans, George Stone, and Jesse Camey, school commissioners for the term of one year.
And further: "The court doth appoint Ephraim S. Evans, George Casto, and George Stone, commissioners in the county to act in the examination of the pools of said county in the general election.
To Commissioners to locate county-seat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100.00
To Cover expenses for running county lines . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 250.00
To Books for clerk's office . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50.00
To Attorney for commonwealth . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 70.00
To Sheriff, for publicservices . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 75.00
To Clerk, for same . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40.00
To Meat contract for jail . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .250.00
To Joel Sayre, for cleaning court-room . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10.00
To Cover delinauencies, and contingent expense . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42.25
County credit by 546 tithables, at $1.62% each. . . . . . . . . . $887.25
"Ordered that the roads of Jackson county be cut and kept open athwart twenty feet and dug and bridged twelve feet.
"Ordered that the clerk of this county keep his office at any place within this county that he may think proper until the necessary building is erected for keeping the same."
At the July term, 1831, which convened on the 25th of that month, there were present the following justices: John Warth, George Stone, George Casto, Ephraim S. Evans, Gilbert Boswell, John McKown, and Topley Beckwith. They at once proceeded to the election of a clerk of the court, the first having been but a pro tern appointment. The names of Benjamin Wright, John McKown, and Charles E. Harrison were placed in nomination. The balloting resulted in the election of Benjamin Wright, and he at once came into court, and gave the required bond in the penalty. of $3,000, with Thomas A. Hereford and John McKown as his sureties, the said bond to be transmitted to the office of the circuit supreme court of law and chancery for this county.
On the 27th day of June preceding, the court had made an appropriation of $100 for the purpose of defraying the expenses of locating the county-seat, and in compliance with that act, it is now ordered, that Cyrus Carey and John McKay, who were heretofore appointed commissioners by the general sssembly to locate the county-seat of Jackson county, do join with the other commissioners appointed by the said act, at the house of Joel Sayre, on the first Monday in September next, for the purpose of attending to the uty assigned them.
August term, 1831: At this term the second grand jury was empaneled as follows: Andrew Lewis, foreman. (The first jury could not have entirely disappeared from the county, as does the name of John Cabot from English history, for it will be remembered that Andrew Lewis was foreman of the first grand jury, the action of which there is no record.) And William Hughs, Andrew Flesher, jr., Andrew Flesher, sr., David Woodruff, Jesse Hughs, David Sayre, Ezekiel Sayre, Elijah Staats, Thomas Hughs, John Harpold, Martin Ables, sr., Leonard Hing, David Seaman, Jacob Starcher Joseph. They retired to consider of their presentments, after which they reported the following indictments: Henry Lane John Steed, Robert McKane, John Standley, and Silas Cotrell, upon a charge of assault and battery; John Standley, misdemeanor, George Sellars, petit larceny. In the records of this term it is that "in the hurry of business at the last term" the clerk omitted to record the fact that he took the several oaths required by law, and it is now ordered that the same be entered in the order book nunc protunc.
On the last term day of this term was granted the first license to "keep hotel" in the county. On that day came Ezekial McFarlan, who produced the sheriff's receipt for $1.67, the tax imposed upon houses of entertainment, and thereupon a license was granted him "to keep private entertainment at his own house" (which was located where the present town of Ripley now stands), until the next May term of this court."
August 23, 1831. - "This day John Warth, sheriff of this county, appeared in court and informed the same that there is no jail or other sufficient place provided for the imprisonment of such persons as are committed to his custody b order of the court, or by virtue of by order either civil or criminal, come or coming to his hands, and he excepts to the insufficiency of any place for the confinement of prisoners in this county."
It was then ordered that "Joel Sayre do make a bar across this court-room, and that he shall be allowed a reasonable compensation therefor, to be paid out of the next county levy."
September 26, 1831. - Ordered that James Rader, Peter Cleek and John D. Riley be appointed commissioners on the part of this county to contract with some person for the erection of the courthouse and jail of this county, and that they take bond, with ample security, from the parties for the faithful performance of said contract."
The commissioners above named convened at the appointed time and performed the work assigned them. How well they did it let all who have visited Ripley, the county-seat of Jackson County, answer. Located, as it is, on the waters of Big Mill Creek, upon a beautiful plateau, embosomed amid gently sloping hills on every side, rising terrace upon terrace, the green-swards glistening in the sunlight, the whole rendering it one of the most beautiful and romantic locations which has been selected as a site for a county-seat in West Virginia.
The square upon which the public buildings were erected and now stand was donated to the county by Jacob Starcher, who owned the lands upon which the town of Ripley now stands, on the 28th of March, 1832.
On the 27th day of September, 1832, the commissioners were ordered to contract on behalf of the county for the erection of the public buildings. They were instructed to receive written and sealed proposals until the November term of the court, the buildings to be erected according to specifications to be furnished by the commissioners. At the October term the specifications were submitted to the court and unanimously approved, and the commissioners, instead of awaiting until November, were ordered to contract for the work at once and in so doing to require the contract to be completed on or before the first of November, 1832, and that they bind the county or the payment of the sum of $250, to be paid on or before the first of the next November, and the sum of $500, to be paid on the Ist of November, 1832, and the remainder in two annual installments, on the first days of November of the dears 1833 and 1834.
On the 23d of January, 1832, the Contract was let to James Smith, who entered into bond to erect the buildings according to specifications, and to accept payment as above. The buildings were to be constructed of brick, the jail was to be 34 X 17 feet, and the court-house to be 36 X 36 The entire cost was to be $3,700. Smith completed his work in a satisfactory manner, and the court, in behalf of the county, received the buildings on the 28th of October, 1833, and at once occupied them.
From this temple, justice, rewarding the right and punishing the wrong, continued to be dispensed until 1858, when the present building was erected, and on the 11th of Sptember of that year was received by the commissioners on behalf of the county. It is a large and commodious building, two stories in height The lower, which is of stone, is used as a jail, the second, which is of brick, is used as the court-room. It was built by N. H. Bonnett, at a cost of $7,000. The records (county and circuit court) are kept in fire-proof offices, erected in 1879 by J. T. Blades, and cost, when completed, $3,800.
Jackson county lies in the western part of the State on the Ohio river, which washes its northwestern boundary for a distance of twenty-four miles. It is bounded north by Wood county; east, by Wirt and Roane;south, by Kanawha; southwest and west, by Putnam and Mason. At the time of its formation the area was something more than 350 square miles, but in 1867 it was increased by an additon from Mason, so that the present area is fully 400 square miles. The surface for the most part is hilly and broken, but along the Ohio river, and Big Mill creek and Big Sandy creek, the two principal streams, lie considerable areas of level bottom land, aggregating, perhaps, fifty square miles. These bottom lands are for the most part a sandy loam mixed with a white clay, and are among the best agricultural lands of the State, and are especially adapted to the producton of wheat. The hill lands consist of a mixture of white and red clay, the latter predominating. They are excellent for wheat and as grazing lands are equal to the far-famed blue grass region of Kentucky.
With the exception of Middle Fork creek, a tributary of Pocatalico river, all the streams draining the county flow northwest and discharge their Waters in the Ohio. Beginning at the north, they are Pond creek, Skill run, Little Sandy, Great Sandy, and Big and Little Mill creeks, Crooked fork, Mud run, Trace fork. Right Hand fork and Left Hand fork are tributaries of the Great Sandy creek; and Cow run, Parchment creek, Tug Fork, Right Hand fork, Elk fork, Frozen Camp, Big run and Little creek are tributaries of Big Mill creek.
We have said, that the surface is for the most part hilly, but from that, it is not to be understood that the surface is rough, for, on the contrary it consists of valleys and gentle undulations rising nowhere above the height of 300 feet. A glance at the mean elevation will convey a better idea. The mouth of Big Mill creek the lowest depression in the county is 300 feet above sea level, and Salt Hill, four miles south of ipley, the highest point of land in the county, rises to the height of 600 feet, so that it will be seen that the difference in elevation of the entire area cannot exceed 300 feet, that being the difference between the lowest depression and the culminating point.
Rising a short distance below is a point locally known as Swapes Point. It rises abruptly from the Ohio river to the height of 250 feet, and the beginning of Beckwiths Ridge - the watershed between Big Mill creek and Great Sandy creek. It extends in a southeastern direction into Roane county, where it forms the dividing ridge between the waters of Spring creek, a tributary of the Little Kanawha, and those of the Pocatalico river, a tributary to the Great Kanawha. Along this the surface is broken, and in some localities rough. The turnpike leading from Ravenswood to Ripley, the county seat, distant twelve miles, lies for the most part along this ridge, and it is a common saying, that when the traveler has passed over it that he has seen the worst portion of Jackson county. Good building stone is found in several localities; it is chiefly sandstone, with occasional strata of semi-granite. Bituminous coal is known to exist, but as yet has not been developed.
About the year 1872, a great excitement was created by the report that silver had been discovered at a point on Big Mill creek, about one mile above the village of Angerona. A company of Pittsburg capitalists at once organized to develop this reported Eldorado, but after a shaft had been sunk to the depth of 400 feet, and several entries driven, the enterprise proved to be but another "South Sea Bubble," and the operators with less money but more experience abandoned the undertaking, and silver prospectors, especially those looking for it under ground, have been remarkably scarce in Jackson county ever since.
The timber supply along the water courses is well nigh exhausted, but in the interior vast quantities of good timber still exist but is being diminished every day by the production of lumber, staves, and railroad ties, many hunred thousand of the two latter being shipped annually. The timber consists of the various kinds of oak, poplar, hickory, beech, sugar, sycamore, locust, elm, pine, etc. There begins near the mouth of Arbuckle creek, a tributary of the Great Kanawha, what is known as the Locust Belt; it is a zone of three or four miles in width, extending from a point of beginning in a northern direction through Mason county and into Jackson, where it terminates near Ravenswood on the Ohio river. Within its limits, in the forests, is found quantities of locust timber, and wherever farms have been cleared the farmer has to contend against the constant growth of locust sprouts.
Ripley, the county-seat of Jackson, is situated in the central part of the county on a plateau lying in a bend of Big Mill Creek, twelve miles from its mouth, and the same distance from Ravenswood, the largest town in the county. Its elevation above sea level is 630 feet, and is in west longitude 4 deg. and 37 min. from Washington, or 18 deg. and 37 min. from Greenwich; north latitude 38 deg. and 50 min. It became the county-seat in 1833, two years after the formation of the county, Jacob Starcher having in that year donated to the county the square upon which the public buildings have ever since stood. The town was named in honor of Harry Ripley, who was drowned in Big Mill creek at what is now known as Staats Mills, one and one- half miles above Ripley, in the year 1830. He had his marriage license in his possession at the time of his death. The body was afterward recovered, and was the first deposited in the Ripley cemetary.
The original owner of the lands upon which the town stands was a man of the name of William Parsons. He was the first settler, and resided in a log cabin which stood near the the present residence of Josiah Vail. He afterward sold the land to Jacob Starcher, who laid out the town.
The first sermon was preached by the Rev. Mr. Webster, of the M. E. Church, about the year 1828. The first school was taught by John Armstrong, afterward a practicing physician of Ripley, in the year 1829, in a log cabin which stood on the lot now owned by Mrs. Martha Turner, and our informant says, that at the time "there was not a stick amiss where the town now stands." Dr. Joseph Mairs was the first resident physician. He went to Missouri in 1864, where he has recently died. Joseph Boling was the first blacksmith, having opened a shop here as early as 1834. The first merchant was Alfred Beaucamp; he began business in 1833 in a small frame house which stood where the residence of Major C. H. Progler now stands. The second merchants were James and Nehemiah Smith, who came in the same year as the above, but a few months later. The first hotels were opened in 1833, one by William Carney and the other by Jacob Staats. The town, although laid out in 1833, was not incorporated until 1852, at which time Clermont E. Thaw, a name renowned in the records of Virginia jurisprudence, was elected the first mayor. The resent (1883) official directory is as follows: Mayor, W. H. Van Gordon; recorder, William W. Riley; councilmen, B. T. Armstrong, J. L. Armstrong, William T. Greer, J. J. S. Hassler and Charles H. Progler. The population is 400.
The first flouring mill at Ripley was erected by Jacob Starcher, about the year 1836; it was a water-mill with two run of burrs. He continued to run it for several years when he sold it to Joel Sayre, who a few years later sold it to John McGrew, who in 1856 added steam power and a third set of burrs. It again changed hands in 1862, D. H. Hood, the present owner, becoming the proprietor. It now has a capacity of fifty barrels daily.
Jacob Starcher also erected the first saw-mill; it was propelled by water. In 1847 he sold it to Col. James Armstrong, who in turn sold it to Joel Sayre, from whom it was bought by John Chase. He continued to operate it until 1866 when he sold it to F. R. Hassler, who in 1867 wrecked it and began the erection of another, but before it was completed it was carried away by the ice. In 1870 F. R. Hassler built a steam saw-mill which he soon after sold to James Armstrong and Ashabel Hoggsett, who removed it to the headwaters of Big Mill creek.
The woolen mill was erected in 1866 by F. R. Hassler, F. W. B. Hassler, and C. H. Progler, at a cost of $10,000, and was o rated by them until 1868, when T L. Armstrong leased the share of F. R. Hassler. The next change occurred in 1870, when J. J. S. Hassler purchased the interest of F. R. Hassler. In 1873 C. H. Progler leased the interest of both the Hasslers, and the business was conducted under the firm name of Progler & Heally until 1875, when C. H. Progler sold his interest to F. W. B. Hassler and J. J. S. Hassler, who are the present owners and by whom the enterprise is now carried on.
After C. H. Progler retired from the woolen mill he erected a handle factory, to which, in 1876, he added a planing mill, and in 1882, spoke machinery was added.
This society was organized as Lodge No. 160, on the 13th day of February, A. L. 5857 - A. D. 1857, under a dispensation of the Grand Lodge of Virginia. The first officers were Joseph Smith, W. M.; J. A. Park, S. W.; J. P. Harper, J. W. These officers were appointed under the dispensation to open the Lodge. The first elective officers under the charter were J. P. Harper, W. M.; James A. Park, S. W.; George Board, J. W.; J. L. Armstrong, secretary; Millard Chalfant, treasurer; C. N. Austin, S. D.; W. H. Watson, J. D.; James Armstrong, Tyler; J. L. Armstrong was the first initiate. Work was continued until February 14, 1861, when it was suspended until after the civil war. Work was again resumed on January 24, 1867, under a charter from the Grand Lodge of West Virginia, at which time the charter members were J. A. Park, V. S. Armstrong, and G. J. Walker. The worshipful masters prior to the war were Joseph Smith, J. P. Harper, J. A. Park, and C. N. Austin. Those since have been J. A. Park, James Armstrong, J. L. Armstrong, J. H. Riley, G. J. Walker, J. R. Vail, H. C. Flesher, and Charles Sayre, the present one.
The present membership is thirty- eight. Meets every first and third Saturday of each month.
Was chartered as No. 132, by the Grand Lodge of Virginia, April 15, 1858. The charter members wen; F. P. Turner, J. L. Armstrong, J. A. Park, C. H. Progler, and M. Chalfant. The lodge suspended on the 24th day of May, 1861, and work was not resumed until October 6, 1866, when a new charter was obtained from the Grand Lodge of West Virginia. The first officers under the new charter were C. H. Progler, N. G.; J. L. Armstrong, V. G.; E. B. Wright, scribe; and J. A. Park, treasurer. The present ones are J. A. Ripley, N. G.; D. K. Hood, V. G.; J. L. Armstrong, scribe; W. T. Greer, treasurer. The present membership is eighteen. Seventy-five initiations have taken place, of which eight are deceased. Meets Friday evening of each week.
This church was organized in 1866 by the Rev. Jonathan Smith. The following constituted the membership at the time of organization: James A. Armstrong, G. W. Armstrong, Samuel Rhoades, Cynthia Rhoades Miriam Rhoades, Waldo Riley and Nancy Hammond. In 1874 this congregation joined with the Free Masons and erected a large and commodious church building, two stories in height. The Masons occupy the upper, while the auditorium is in the lower. The first minister was Jonathan Smith; then came Jabez Swiger; his successor was J. C. Richardson, after whom came W. E. Pownell, now the West Virginia editor of the Journal and Messenger, of Cincinnati. Then again came J. C. Richardson, who has served in all eleven years as pastor of this church. The present membership is eighty.
As early as 1804 a Methodist minister was preaching on the waters of Mill creek, and an appointment was made and a congregation gathered at Ripley, or where it now stands, as early as 1820. About 1840 a church building was erected, but at the time of the schism in the M. E. Church the property went to the M. E. Church South. This left the northern branch without a building, and they have none as yet, but worship in the South M. E. Church. The congregation was reorganized in 1867, and the membership is at present thirteen. Rev. Perry is the present pastor.
The history of this church is the same as that of the preceding until 1845, when it became a separate and distinct body, organized by the Rev. Samuel Black. From that time to the present it has continued to increase, and to-day numbers among its members some of the best men of Jackson county. Prior to 1858 the congregation worshiped in the court-house, but in that year it paid Jonathan Conker and C. H. Progler $1,400 for building the present structure. Rev. Sturm is the present pastor.
The Sabbath-school in connection with this Church is one of the most successful and influential in the county. It was organized in 1856 by James A. Park, who was the first superintendent. George W. King is the present one, with W. T. Hutchison as assistant. S. H. McGurise is secretary, and Mrs. Laura V. Riley treasurer. No suspension has ever occurred from the time of organization. The following constitute the present corps of teachers: W. W. Riley, J. M. Wright, W. T. Hutchison, J. L. Armstrong, Mary E. Clerc, Cora Armstrong, Caroline Vail, Laura V. Riley and Katie Wright. The average attendance is fifty- five.
The town at present contains six general mercantile stores, two grocery stores, one clothing house, two drug stores, three confectioneries, three blacksmith shops, five hotels, three churches, one graded school building, one flouring mill, one woolen mill, one %ke and planing mill, one cabinet lop, one printing office (the Jackson Democrat), two millinery stores, one tin shop, two boot and shoe shops, one tannery, one postoffice (money order), one telephone office (Ravenswood line), four resident physicians, three resident ministers, seven resident attorneys, one town hall, one lodge of Free Masons and one Odd Fellows' lodge.
The town of Ravenswood is situated upon the left bank of the Ohio river, thirty-five miles below -Parkersburg, fifty-one above Point Pleasant, and fifty-eight on an air line from Charleston. The land upon which the town stands originally belonged to George Washington, having been surveyed by him and his assistant, Col. William Crawford (who was burned at the stake by the Deleware Indians in the year 1781), in the summer of 1772, and patented by him the following year. There were 1450 acres of this tract. It was inherited by six of Ids grandnieces, of whom Henrietta S., Wife of Henry Fitzhugh, and Lucy Fitzhugh, afterward wife of the late Arthur M. Payne, were two, and they came into possession of the land upon Which the town is now located.
In 1810, Lawrence Lane and William Baily, having explicit confidence in the doctrine of "squatter sovereignty," settled upon the land and cleared about forty acres. Rudolph Roberts, of Alexandria, Virginia, the agent for the Washington heirs, in 1812 had the lands surveyed and divided among them. The improved lands, from which the squatters had been ejected, were then rented to various parties, one of whom was Bartholomew Fleming, until 1836, when Mrs. Henrietta S. Harning married Henry Fitzhugh, and Mrs. Lucy having been united in marriage with Arthur Payne, removed to these lands and laid out the town. The name which it now bears is the result of an error. Mrs. Payne named it Ravensworth, in honor of relatives of that name in England, but the engravers of the first map of Virginia, upon which it appeared, spelled it Ravenswood, instead of Ravensworth, and the mistake was never corrected.
Joseph Holdren, George Warth, Bartholomew Fleming, Thomas Coleman John Thorn, Thomas Slagel, and David Stanley purchased the first lots and were the first settlers. Joseph Holdren was the first merchant, having commenced business in 1837. The second were Bartholomew Fleming and David Stanley, doing business under the firm name of Fleming & Stanley. The third was Henry Fitzhugh.
The first school was taught by a young man of the name of Smith, in 1837. The first sermon was preached about the same time by the Rev. J. C. Brown, a Presbyterian minister, at the house of Bartholomew Fleming in the year 1834. The first hotel was opened by Thomas Slagel about the year 1839. Dr. James Henry was the first resident physician and John Clark the first blacksmith. The first church was erected in 1837; it was an Episcopal Church, and the expense of building was almost entirely defrayed by Henry Fitzhugh. Bartholomew Fleming kept a wood-yard for many years from which, he informed the writer, he had sold 14,000 cords of wood to the early steamers on the Ohio. He also kept a ferry as early as 1831, but it was not established by act of the legislature until 1841.
Walter Holmes and B. Fleming brought the first wharf boat to this place in 1844, having purchased it at Bull creek, above Marietta. The first voting place was at the residence of Mr. Fleming, and here for the first time the voters cast their votes for the candidate of their choice at the close of the famous hard cider campaign of 1840. The postoffice was established in 1846 with Thomas Atkinson as postmaster.
The following exhibit shows the business of Ravenswood at the present time: There are seven general mercantile stores, three grocery stores, three drug stores, two coffin depots, two feed stores, two marble establishments, three millinery stores, one furniture establishment, two silversmiths, one boot and shoe store, one news depot, two hotels, two harness and saddlery establishments, three blacksmith shops, two livery stables, five church buildings, one postoffice (money order), two butcher shops, four cooper shops, one graded school (four departments), one printing office (The Ravenswood News), one barber shop, one telephone office (Ripley and Parkersburg line), five resident physicians, three resident attorneys, four resident ministers, one surveyor, one flouring mill, one broom factory, one wharf boat, one Lodge Knights of Honor, one Masonic Lodge, one Odd Fellows Lodge, and a population of 1,000.
Was instituted as Ashton Lodge, No. 121, under a charter dated A. L. 5854 and A. D. 1854. The first officers were William--------, W. M.; Henry Fitzhugh, S. W.; C. M. Rice, J. W. The lodge continued to work under this charter until 1861 when it suspended until 1865, when work was again resumed under an indorsement of the Grand Lodge of West Virginia, by which a charter was granted in 1867, at which time the officers were Dr. B. H. Hoyt, W. M.; Topley Beckwith, S. W.; and C. M. Rice, J. W. The present official directory consists of Dr. B. H. Hoyt, W. M.; George Park, S. W.; E. Wells, J. W.; N. C. Prickett, secretary; and John A. McIntosh, treasurer. Meets on Tuesday evening preceding full moon in each month.
Was chartered by the Grand Lodge of Virginia, June 16, 1854, and instituted on the ensuing 4th of July. The first officers were Amos K. Frost, N. G.; Thomas Atkeson, V. G.; Fields McWhorter, secretary; and E. L. Pattie, treasurer. In common with almost everything else it suspended during the civil war, but when peace once more returned a new charter was obtained and work again resumed.
Was organized on the evening of March 19, 1883, under a charter from the Grand Lodge of West Virginia. The following is the list of officers, all of whom were charter members: N. C. Prickett, P. D.; 1. M. Adams, D.; W. C. Vanmatre, V. D.; G. A. Coleman, A. D.; J. D. McGlothlin, R.; R. T. Wetzel, F. R.; T. O. McCown, T.; A. W. Atha, C.; Jacob Neibert, guide; Samuel Leppert, G.; C. C. Shank, S. Meets first and third Monday of each month at Lemley's Hall. Present membership eleven.
This church was organized in 1867, under the pastorate of the Rev. Warren; Samuel Ball and his family were among the first members. It was at once determined to erect a church, and to that end a subscription was circulated by the Rev. T. H. Monroe. The necessary funds were collected, and a frame building with a seating capacity of 400 was erected. The following is a list of pastors, named in the order of their succession: Revs. W. R. Mahan, W. C. Snodgrass, W. E. Loomas, W. W. Kelly, W. H. Shaw, J. T. Chenowith, and J. W. Lambert the officiating minister at the present time. The membership is seventy. In connection with this church there is a flourishing Sabbath-school, of which W. V. Atha is superintendent, and Berth Diddle is secretary.
Was organized in 1845 by the Rev. Samuel Black, now the pastor of a church in Greenbrier county, and now in the seventieth year of his age. Bartholomew Fleming and his wife Hannah Fleming were among the first members, the latter claiming to have been the first person whose name was placed upon the church register of any denomination in Ravenswood.
The pastors in charge since 1858, named in the order of their succession, have been Jeremiah Farmer, Richard Stevens, Elias Kendall, J. M. Lauck, H. S. Williams, Thomas Cotton, W. Downtain, S. T. Mallory, F. P. McGee , and J. W. Lambert the present one. The membership is now seventy-four. Preaching first and second Sabbaths of each month.
Connected with this church is one of the best Sabbath-schools in the county. The enrollment is 120 and the average attendance is ninety. John McIntosh is superintendent, and Henry Fleming, secretary. Among the teachers are Edward Grant, Evert S. Smith, John D. Harris, W. C. Vanmatre, W. S. Fleming, Ellen McIntosh, Mary Douglass, Laura Hoyt, and Laura Kendall.
This church was organized on Saturday, the 10th of November, 1866, by the Rev. J. Swiger, with fifteen members, as follows: Sarah Long, S. M. Haworth, Mary A. Parker, Rachel Blackburn, John Rudman, Jane Rudman, Hannah Haworth, Alma Haworth, Alice Haworth, Virginia Long, Josephine Taylor, Americus King, Nancy Law, Katie Parker and William Long. For a while the little congregation convened in the old Ravenswood academy, but it was at length closed against them, when they met in a room at Charles Harpold's tannery.
Then Robert S. Brown fitted up his hall, and in it they worshiped until 1875, when they once more returned to the academy, which they occupied until the erection of their present church building, which was completed at a cost of $3,000, and dedicated by the Rev. J. W. Carder, of Parkersburg, on the 9th of June, 1878. The following pastors have served the church, named in the order of their succession: Revs. J. Swiger, J. F. Hardwick, M. B. Edmondson, W. P. Walker, W. E. Powell and L. E. Peters.
The Sabbath-school in connection with this church was organized December 6, 1866, with Dr. S. M. Haworth superintendent, and in that capacity he has continued to the present time. The average attendance is fifty. James Amsden is secretary, and William Wall, treasurer. The teachers are John Rudman, Jacob Huff, Ida Taylor, Ida Wilkinson, Hannah Haworth, Alice Haworth, Mary Parker and Jennie Roberts.
The only public execution that has ever taken place in Jackson county was that of Charles Green, who expiated his crime on the scaffold Friday, May 10, 1850, for the murder of Timothy Fox, in Parkes Lane, about one mile above the town of Ravenswood, on the Ohio river. It was one of the most unprovoked murders an account of which is recorded in the criminal annals of Virginia. He was arrested a few days later, and placed in the county jail to await trial.
An indictment for murder was returned against him on the 26th of March, 1850. On the same day he was arraigned before the bar to answer to the charge. His counsel demurred to the indictment, but the demurrer was overruled, and a jury composed of the following named gentlemen was at once empaneled: Leonard R. King, Thomas Paxton, Henry Lane, John Lee, Abraham Pfost, Jacob B. Hyre, William Harpold, John H. Chase, George W. Fields, Elisha Stewart, Spenser Adams and Wilson Koontz.
The jury was placed in charge of Nehemiah Smith, high sheriff, and Mathias B. Armstrong, his deputy, and the prisoner was remanded to jail until the next day. At 9 A. M. the next day the jury and prisoner were brought into court, and Charles Green was placed on trial for his life.
Throughout the day the trial continued; evening came, the prisoner was removed to be returned on the third day, when it was continued. Late in the evening the argument for both State and prisoner closed, and the jury retired. In a short time it returned and rendered a verdict of "Murder in the first degree in manner and form as in the indictment against him alleges." He was returned to jail to await sentence.
On the 1st day of April he was again brought into court, and when asked if he had anything to say why judgment should not be pronounced against him, he replied, "Nothing but what I have already said." Judge David McComas then sentenced him to be taken, by the sheriff of Jackson county, from the jail on the 10th day of May ensuing, to a scaffold to be erected in or near the town of Ripley, and there hanged until dead. During the period of his incarceration pending his execution he wrote a full confession of his crime, which, when published, covered nearly forty pages of a large pamphlet.
At length the fatal day arrived; the scaffold had been erected in a ravine (ever since known as Greens Hollow) about one half mile northeast of the court-house. It was a beautiful May morning, and ere the sun had risen above the eastern hills, hundreds had arrived upon the scene, and by the hour of 11 o'clock fully 3,000 persons from this and adjoining counties were swarming upon the streets of Ripley.
One hundred State militia formed a hollow square about the jail. At 1 P. M. a wagon containing a coffin was driven within the square, and the doomed man walked forth, and, mounted upon his own casket, was driven to the fatal spot. Arrived there, he dismounted, and, with his spiritual adviser, ascended the scaffold, where he delivered a short address to the multitude. The black cap was then drawn, the rope adjusted, the signal was given, and Charles Green swung into eternity. Twenty minutes later Drs. W. B. McMahon, F. A. Holt and N. Ragnaud pronounced life extinct. The body was then cut down and interred about thirty yards from the scaffold. Thus terminated the first and last execution in Jackson county.
A history of Jackson county would be incomplete without a narration of the following, not because it occurred within the present limits of the county, but for the reason that many of the relatives and one of the principal actors now reside within the county. The site of its occurrence is now in Putnam county, but near the Jackson line. It was one of the most heartrending events an account of which is recorded in the annals of the West. The facts as gleaned by the author from persons yet living are as follows:
Sometime about the beginning of the present century a man by the name of Charles Green settled with his family upon what is known as Trace fork of Pocatalico river. About the same time a man of the name of Reuben Harrison settled upon the waters of Mud Lick fork, a tributary of Thirteen-mile, in Mason county. He had several sons, among whom were Alexander, Josiah, and a lad of twelve years named Zebulon. These men were all hunters, and frequently engaged in the chase together; the Harrisons going to Green's to hunt upon the waters of Pocatalico, and he in turn visiting them for the purpose of hunting upon the waters of Eighteen and Thirteen. It was in the spring of 1813 that Mr. Green came upon one of these visits, bringing with him his little son Edward, aged ten years.
One day during his stay, he and Alexander Harrison were hunting alone on Eighteen, and after having killed and dressed a deer, found a tree which, from the scratches upon it, they supposed to contain a bear. eaving the deer they hastened to the residence of Mr. Harrison, distant seven miles, for the purpose of securing axes for the purpose of felling the tree. When they started to return the two boys begged that they might be taken along to see the tree cut. Their request was granted and the four arrived at the tree late in the evening. It was felled but no bear was found.
It was quite common at that day for hunters to remain out over night, and they being weary, determined not to return home until morning. Accordingly they set about to find a suitable place in which to lodge. A cave under a shelving rock was soon found, and here they kindled a fire and lay down to rest, the men upon one side and the boys on the other, neither little dreaming of the awful fate in store for them. During the night the rock overhead, from the combined effects of the frost going out and the fire beneath, burst and a huge mass fell upon them. Both men were crushed 'from the hips down to the feet; the ,boys, though badly bruised, were able to crawl out owing to the fact that the rock upon that side of the fire was partially supported by the wood which they had carried in for fuel.
Morning dawned upon the awful scene, the men crushed beneath the weight from which the boys were unable to extricate them. They cried for water and the boys poured the powder from the horns and brought it. The boys were bewildered and knew not the way home, the only source from which help could come. The day passed away, night came and no relief; another day and night of the most intense suffering to which any human beings were ever subjected passed away. Their friends at home, alarmed at their long absence, were searching for them, and late in the evening of the fourth day, Josiah Harrison, a brother of one of the unfortunate men, found them.
What a sight met his gaze! Death had already relieved his brother from his suffering, and Green was speechless while the boys were famishing and ready to die of wounds. He put them upon the horse, which he had been riding, and hastened home for assistance. As he departed Green turned and cast one longing look of despair after him. He conducted the boys home, and having secured assistance hastened back to the terrible spot, but when they arrived Green's spirit had taken its flight and he, too, was no more. Only two masses, crushed almost beyond recognition, remained.
The rock was removed and the bodies taken out. No useless coffins enclosed them; logs were cut from which slabs were split, then narrow graves were dug, a slab placed in the bottom, then two others were placed upon edge, the bodies were placed within, another slab covered them, and all that was mortal of Charles Green and Alexander Harrison was buried at the entrance of the cave where they now repose. Both boys recovered and grew to manhood. Zebulon Harrison died a few years since, and Edward Green, familiarly known as "Uncle Neddy" Green, yet survives, and resides upon the waters of Grass Lick creek in this county.
The newspaper business of a commonwealth reminds one of the "rise and fall of empires." Perhaps no legitimate business is so susceptible of change as this, and its history in Jackson county is not an exception to the rule. The first newspaper published in the county was the Virginia Chronicle, which made its appearance at Ravenswood September 1, 1853. W. P. Frost, brother of Col. Daniel Frost, late of the 11th Virginia Volunteer Infantry (Federal), was editor and proprietor, who published it in the interest of the American or Republican party. He continued it until 1858, when he sold it to his brother, the colonel, who issued it until 1861, when it suspended, and in 1862, by an accident, the office material was burned.
The second venture in the newspaper field was that of a Mr. Wells, of Athens, Ohio, who, in 1866, began the publication of a pper which he called The Ravenswood Press, which he continued for one year, and then sold it to S. R. Klotts, who, in 1869, removed it to Cottageville, and soon after sold it to a Mr. Higgins. He published it until 1870, when it ceased to exist.
In August, 1868, there appeared a new paper at Ravenswood called The West Virginia News. It was edited and published by Andrew Flesher and Henry Gregory. It continued to appear regularly until 1869, when they sold it to R. C. Brown and W. G. Heaton. In October of the same year Mr. Brown sold his interest to Charles McGlothlin, of Pomeroy, Ohio, and he and Heaton continued its publication until 1875, when McGlothlin sold his interest to the Rev. A. J. McMillin and repaired to Middleport, Ohio, where he became foreman in the office of The Meigs County News, now The Meigs County Republican. McMillin and Heaton continued the paper until the death of the latter, which occurred in 1876, when McMillin became sole proprietor, and published it until the time of his death, in April, 1878. It was then continued by his widow until the 13th day of June of that year, when it was purchased by C. E. McGlothlin and J. E. McGlothlin, who changed the name to The Ravenswood News. They are the present editors and proprietors, and have continued it for five years, during which time, says our informant, "it has never missed an issue or been an hour late."
The first paper published at Ripley was The Jackson Democrat, which made its first appearance in the fall of 1864. The press and office material was owned by a joint stock company composed of J. L. Armstrong, John H. Riley, John M. Greer and W. F. Greer. The paper was edited and published by W. C. Whaley and Lee C. Sayles but at the end of six months Sayles withdrew, and the enterprise was continued by the Whaley Brothers, Monroe Whaley having taken the place of Sayles. They continued it for one year when it was suspended for a year, but in 1877 J. J. S. Hassler and George B. Crow revived it under the name of The Jackson Herald. Mr. Crow retired at the end of four months, but Mr. Hassler continued its publication until 1878, when he was succeeded by George W. Biggs, of Preston county, who issued it for six months, when he in turn was succeeded by H. B. Bishop, of Wheeling, in 1879, whose name tood at the head of its columns until the 1st of April, 1881, eleven years, when D. D. Karr became the editor, and under whose management it now makes its weekly visits to its patrons. Such is the history of the newspaper interest in Jackson county.
A bill entitled "An Act to provide for the division of the several counties of this State into townships," was passed by the legislature July 31, 1863. The fifth section of that bill provided for and named several prominent men in the county who should perform the work in their respective counties. Those whose duty it was to do the work in this county were George L. Kennedy, John Johnson, Robert R. Riley, Abraham Slaughter, and George Click.
These gentlemen convened at the county seat soon after, and completed the work, the result of which was the division of the county into five townships, as follows: Grant, Ravenswood, Union, Ripley, and Washington. Upon the adoption of the State constitution, in 1872, the word township was changed to district, and as such it now remains. We will now notice the history of each in the order named above.
Grant district lies in the extreme northern part of the county, and is bounded on the north by Wood county, on the east by Wirt, south by Ravenswood district, and west by the Ohio river. It has a river frontage of about eight miles, along which lies the fertile lands known as Muses bottom; here the soil consists of a sandy loam intermixed with a light clay; the hills consist of rolling slopes upon which the soil is fertile, much of it now being under cultivation; it is composed of red, white and blue clay mixed in various proportions. The timber, once very heavy, is now nearly exhausted, except in the eastern portion, where considerable quantities still abound. It consists of white oak, black oak, red oak, chestnut oak, ickory, poplar pine, beech and sugar. The entire district is well adapted to fruit growing and considerable attention is now being turned in that direction.
The first settlement in the district was made on Muses bottom, in the year 1807. John DeWitt built the first cabin, but in the same year, John Boso, Thomas DeWitt, John Powers, Thomas Coleman, and Ellis Nesselroad came and erected cabins near the same spot. The next half a dozen years saw A. W. Alkire, Charles Boso, John Law, Adam Alkire, Joel Buffington, Peter Nisanger, Esley Groves, Elijah Staats, Daniel Staats, William Flinn, Noah Staats and Isaac Chenowith, located within the present limits of the district. All of the foregoing were actual settlers, and came to the banks of the Ohio to find a home for themselves, and afterward to transmit to their posterity.
Daniel Staats, jr., was the first child born in what is now Grant district; his birth occurred on the 13th day of August, 1813. His parents were Elijah Staats and Margaret (Alkire) Staats. The first matrimonial alliance formed was that between William Harrison and Margaret Coleman, duaghter of Mary and John Coleman, one of the first pioneers.
The first grist-mill was built by John Powers, in the year 1809. It was a water mill, and stood on Topins creek, a short distance from its mouth. It was constructed of round logs, which, like its owner and all the old pioneers whose corn it crushed to make bread for the first generation born on the banks of the Ohio, has long since crumbled into dust. The first saw-mill was erected in 1829, by Frederick Amrine; it was a frame building, the first erected in the district. Water was the propelling power; the saw was what is now known as the old "sash frame." The builder continued to run it for about one year, when he sold it to a man of the name of Thomas, who, after operating it for four years, in rum sold it to Michael Bums, and at the time transferred to him a tract of land containing 317 acres.
The first school-house erected was on Muses bottom, in the year 1818. It was built of round logs, and was sixteen by twenty-six feet square. The floor consisted of puncheons, made by splitting large logs into slabs, three or four inches in thickness, and then dressing them with abroad-axe. Seats were provided by splitting small logs into two pieces, and then inserting pins or legs into the oval side of each. The first public school was taught in 1865, by A. J. Lane, in a hewed log building on Topins run, at which time fifty pupils were enrolled. There are now twenty- three public school buildings within the district, of which twenty are frame and three hewed log; and in these, competent and experienced teachers teach 1216 pupils the rudiments of an English education.
The first postoffice established was the Muses bottom office, about the year 1836. Thomas Coleman was the first who handled Uncle Sam's mail keys in this office. There are at the present time five offices, as follows: Murraysville, Muses Bottom, Topings, Lockhart and Wiseburg. Five years passed away after the first settlement before a pioneer minister reached this section, but in the year 1812 a preacher of the name of Tamer came and preached the first sermon. He was a Methodist, and appears to have been a member of the Baltimore conference. He organized a society, of which John Powers (who built the first grist-mill), John Law and wife, Mary White, and a man of the name of Hill, were among the first members. There are at present five church organizations in the district, viz.: Murraysville M. E. Church, Ulysses Preble, pastor; Muses Bottom M. E. Church South, Rev. Kendall, pastor; Millhan Ridge hurch, Disciple or Christian; Little Sandy Creek Church, Union, at which J. T. Chenowith, of the M. E. Church, Rev. Kendall, of the M. E. Church South, and Thomas Rymer, of the United Brethren Church, each have an appointment, and Topins Creek Baptist Church, of which 1. C. Richardson is the pastor.
This is the central or middle district of the county, which lies on the Ohio river, and takes its name from the town of Ravenswood, which is situated within it. It is bounded north by Grant district, east by Wirt and Roane counties, south by Washington and Ripley districts, and west by Union district and the Ohio river. Within it are some of the best farming lands in the State; the soil on the river bottoms is sandy, while that of the hills is for the most part red clay.
The first cabin erected within the present limits of the district was built by John Nessleroad, about the Year 1808, at the mouth of Sandy creek; but with him came Robert Carry, Lawrence Lane (who built the first cabin where Ravenswood now stands), William Bailey, George Swope, Noah Robinson, Franklin Wise, George Swope, Daniel Beaty, William Anderson, who settled about two miles below where Ravenswood now stands; Eli Gandy, who settled on Sandy creek, about three miles from the Ohio river; James Daugherty, who settled on the Ravenswood bottoms, and James Stanley, who located a short distance below the mouth of Big Sandy. Bartholomew Fleming, who still survives, came in 1820, coming with Grandfather Lane, who was then quite old. Tapley Beckwith came in 1830 and about the same time came Ezekiel McFarland, Elijah Runner, Daniel W. Sayre, Daniel Darby, John Woodruff, George Parsons, Thomas Bramble, George Stump, Isaac Richards, Armstead Morehead and Thomas Morehead.
The first grist-mill was built in 1838 by Henry Fitzhugh. It was an addition to a saw-mill which he had erected the year previously.
The first school was taught by a man of the name of Daniel Beaty, in the year 1820, in a log cabin on Big Sandy creek, which had been erected for school purposes in the year 1818. It had holes cut through the walls, which resembled portholes in a fortifcation, for windows. One end was almost entirely taken up by a huge fire-place, in which logs from eight to ten feet long might be rolled in and burned. There are at the present time twenty- five school buildings in the district.
The first postoffice (now Ravenswood) was called Sandville. Warren Reed, afterward known as "Esquire" Reed, was the first postmaster. There are now four offices in the district, viz.: Ravenswood, Silverton, Sandyville and Leroy.
The M. E. Church was the first denomination that sent a minister into this locality, but of the work at that early period nothing can be learned, for the reason that the records are lost. It is, however, known that as early as 1828 they had an appointment at the residence of Bartholomew Fleming, and that there had been a society consisting of several members formed, and which from that date has never ceased to exist.
The second church organized was the Baptist (an account of which is in notice of Ravenswood).
The Presbyterians were the third denomination that formed a Church in the district. The Rev. Francis Dutton was here as early as the year 1836. He was followed by a Mr. Paxton, but no organization was perfected until the year 1847, when a small congregation was gathered, composed of the following named persons: John Koontz, Mary Koontz, the Alexander family, Mary Blackmore, James R. Koontz, C. M. Rice and wife, Fleming Wardner, Marietta Wardner, and Mrs. James King. The first regularly installed minister was the Rev, William C. Nealy, and his successors have been the Revs. James A. Ewing, A. J. McMillin and Henry G. Blaney, the present incumbent.
The Episcopal Church was the first denomination that erected a house of worship in the town of Ravenswood. Their building is a neat frame structure, twenty by forty feet, with a vestry- room sixteen by twenty feet, in the rear. It was erected about the year 1844. In 1851 the communicants were Henry Fitzhugh, Henrietta Fitzhugh, Henrietta T. Barr, Mazilla Armstrong, Ellen S. Ford, Thomas Kirk, Isabel Parks and James Thompkins. The present membership is fifteen. The Rev. Jacob Bittingham is the present minister.
This district is the most southern of the river tier. It is bounded on the north by the Ohio river, east by Ravenswood and Ripley districts, southwest by Mason county, and northwest by the Ohio river. It includes within its limits the best portion of the county, having several miles of river frontage, and also all of the lower part of the Mill Creek Valley, along which, as well as on the Ohio bottoms, the land is very fertile. Upon the latter is what is known as Warths bottom, which has a celebrity from source to mouth of the Ohio.
Both Big and Little Mill creeks flow through the district in a northwest course and empty into the Ohio. Lick creek rises in what is known as the Flat Woods, and empties into Big Mill creek. The timber is now nearly exhausted, but on the hill considerable quantities of the various kinds of oak, pine, poplar and hickory still abound.
It is almost certain that the first settlement made in Jackson county was within the present limits of Union district. It was in the month of May, 1796, that William Hannamon, Benjamin Cox, James McDade, arrived here and reared their cabins, then in the far western wilderness. These were the men who first planted the standard of civilization in what is now Jackson county. Hannamon and Cox were actual settlers, but McDade, although he reared his cabin, it was with the design of making te chosen spot his future home when the scream of the savage foe should be heard no more on the south bank of the Ohio, for he was a soldier or Indian scout, either in the employ of the general government or the State of Virginia, and for years he traversed the banks of the Ohio, between the Great and Little Kanawha rivers, his practiced eye ever peering through the dense forest in an effort to descry the first approach of the pioneer's relentless foe. Many weary miles did he journey, with his trusty rifle in his hand and a faithful dog as his only companion, and many long dark nights did he spend in the lonely wilderness, drenched with the pouring rain, pelted by the driving hail, and chilled by the wintry blast, ever cheered with the pleasing thought that he might be able to save the inmates of some lonely cabin in the wilderness from becoming victims of the murderous foe. But at length the storm of Indian warfare spent its force and died away, and he was permitted to live long and enjoy the home which he had chosen and so nobly defended, and here, honored and respected by all who knew him, he lived long, and at last sank into an honored tomb. But despite his vigilance, some prowling war party would elude him, cross the Ohio, and perpetrate their horrid acts upon any or all who chanced to fall in the way. Such an event occurred on the site where the town of Cottageville now stands, about the year 1797. While two hunters from the block-house at Belleville, named Coleman and Savney, rested here, they were fired upon by a band of Indians. Savney was wounded, but made his escape, while Coleman fell to rise no more. Nine days afterward his body was found and buried. Beside it, when found, was his faithful dog, which was with him when the fatal shot was fired, and so nearly dead was he from starvation that he was unable to travel, and had to be carried away from the spot where for nine long days and nights he had kept watch over the lifeless remains of his once kind owner.
Four years passed away ere other settlers came, but the year 1800 witnessed the erection of the cabins of Joseph Parsons, Cornelius King and John Douglas. The way was now opened, the smoke began to ascend from many cabin homes, thus marking the site of their location beneath the dark shades of the then primeval forest. David Sayre and Alexander Warth came with the first year of the present century; Reuben Smith came in 1802; Thomas Hughs and Job Hughs in 1804; Joseph Hall, Isaac Hide, Isaac Staats and Thomas Flowers in 1806; John Bibbee in 1810, and Jacob Baker in 1812. Other early settlers were Asa Long, Thomas Simmons, William C. Ankram, Robert Wright, Philip Shively (son-in-law of Mr. Wright), William King, Abraham Staats, Jacob Starchner and David Sleeth. Joseph Hall and Isaac Hide cleared the first land and made the first improvements on the waters of Little Mill creek, and Jackson Smith cut the first road from where Ripley, the county-seat, now stands to the Ohio river.
The first child born in the district was a son of William Hannamon, in the year 1797; it was the first white child born within the limits of Jackson county. The first marriage was that of Philip Buffington (son of Joseph Buffington, who settled on Buffingtons island, and for whom the island was named) and Sarah Hughs.
The first mill in the district was a hand-mill, brought by a man of the name of Hushan, in the year 1799. In 1800 he made an effort to attach horse- power, but owing to his inability to secure proper machinery, the project failed, and he was compelled to continue the hand-power until 1802, when Benjamin Wright erected a horse power mill on the site where the town of Cottageville now stands. In the year 1803, John Brown (son-in-law of Mr. Wright) built the first saw-mill ever erected, not only in what is now Union district, but in Jackson county. The timber of which it was constructed was hewn out, and the building was something after the plan of a frame structure. The saw was of the old "sash" pattern, the pitman being attached to the wrist of the wheel. Such was the beginning of the milling business, in Jackson county, a business which has now obtained more than a local celebrity.
The first school-house was erected in the year 1806, and the first school was taught by a man of the name of Andrew Hushan, in 1807, at which time, an old record of that date shows that there were fifteen pupils in attendance. The building was constructed upon the plan of all the pioneer "temples of leaming." It was built of round logs, the roof held in place by heavy "ridge poles," and the usual huge fire-place, which occupied nearly one entire side of the house. On another side a portion of a log was chopped out, and over the aperture was pasted greased paper, which served the purpose of glass. Through this paper came nearly all the light that entered that house, for the teacher was only bound by his "article" to teach "spelling, reading, writing and arithmetic as far as the `single rule of three.' " But to-day, how changed the scene! There are now fifteen neat and well-furnished school buildings, in which an efficient and experienced corps. of teachers instruct more than 1200 pupils in the rudiments of an English education.
The first postoffice was established at Cottageville, then called Cedar Grove. There are now (1883) six offices in the district, viz.: Ripley Landing, Cottageville, Angerona, Willow Grove, Pleasant View and Huntsville.
The first sermon was preached by a man of the name of Noah, of the Methodist Church, at the residence of Joseph Parsons, in the year 1803, at which time David Sayre and wife, Abraham Staats and wife, and Daniel Sayre and wife united with the church and constituted the first class. The second church organized was the Baptist. The organization was perfected by a clergyman of that denomination whose name was McDoe, whom the early history of the Ohio valley shows to have been one of the earliest representatives of that ever active and enterprising body of Christians that carried the glad tidings to the banks of the Ohio.
The first Sabbath-school was organized at Cottageville about the year 1848 by a man of the name of Philip Baker, whose weight was 300 pounds. At he time of organization there were twenty scholars in attendance. There are now seven flourishing Sabbath-schools in the county, namely: the Union school at Cottageville William Sleeth. superintendent; Marvin Sabbath-school near Ripley landing; Otterbein school at Otterbein chapel; Angerona school at Angerona; Flora Chapel school at Willow Grove; Baptist school at Mount Alto and Pleasant View school at the place of the same name. '
Cottageville is the largest town in the district. It was laid out in 1858 by Daniel D. Rhodes. The location was formerly known as Wrights mills, later as Moores mills, and still more recently as Rhodes mills, the latter proprietor laying out the town as above mentioned, and at the same time bestowing the name of Cottageville upon it. It is situated on the south bank of Big Mill creek, three and one-half miles from the Ohio river. Here is located the flouring mills of D. D. Rhodes & Son, the most extensive in Jackson county, their celebrated brands being well known in the markets of New Orleans, Philadelphia, Baltimore and other eastern and southern markets. An extensive woolen mill was erected at this place and operated by Andrew Roseberry until 1870, when it was removed to Guyandotte, West Virginia, where it is now in successful operation.
There are now in the town four general mercantile establishments, one drug store, one postoffice, one flouring mill, one hotel, one tannery, one harness shop, two blacksmith shops, two shoe shops, two resident physicians (Drs. Jacob Lallana and B. E. Harrison), and two resident ministers - L. M. Carder of the United Brethren Church and E. Getchnel of the Baptist Church - one church building, and one school- house in which two teachers are employed.
Mount Alto was laid out in 1871 by Thomas Turner. It is situated in the northwest part of the district near the Ohio river. One general store, one blacksmith shop, one cooper shop, one church, one school, and one resident physician make up he business of the place.
Angerona was laid out by Nathan Ong in 1847. It is situated on the south side of Big Mill creek in the best section of the valley. It has two stores, one tannery, one blacksmith shop, one postoffice, one saw and grist mill propelled by both water and steam power.
The history of Ripley district is the history of the town of Ripley, which the reader will find in this work. Washington district lies in the extreme eastern part of the county, and is bounded north by Ravenswood district, east by Roane county, south by Kanawha county, and west by Ripley district. The southern part is drained by the Middle Fork creek, a tributary of Pocatalico river, the western part by the right hand fork of Big Mill creek, while the central and northern portions are drained by Elk fork and Frozen Camp fork, both of which flow into Big Mill creek. The surface is comparatively level, insisting principally of creek valleys, divided only by ridges, rising only sufficiently high to form the watersheds between the streams.
Grant District: Murraysville, Muses Bottom, Topins Grove, Lockhart and Wiseburg. Ravenswood District: Ravenswood, Silverton, Sandyville and Leroy. Union District: Ripley Landing, Cottageville, Angerona, Willow Grove, Pleasant View and Huntsville. Ripley District: Jackson C. H., Fair Plain, Parchment Valley, Grass Lick, Kenna and Fishers Point. Washington District: Hereford and Staats Mills.
Jackson lies in the fourth congressional district; Hon. Eustace Gibson, representative.
Circuit Court (seventh judicial
Presiding Judge, Robert F. Fleming.
Clerk, William W. Riley.
Depuies, J. L. Armstrong and W. L. Armstrong.
High sheriff F. R. Hassler, Deputies, A. A. Skidmore, G. W. Depue, . Miller and P. M. Stone.
Jailor, John Horn.
Commissioners of circuit court, George 1. Walker, Virgil S. Armstrong, Beunos Ayers and N. C. Prickett.
General Receiver, J. L. Armstrong.
Commissioner of School Lands, James A. Seaman.
County Court - Commissioners, Charles Harpold, George W. Shinn and F. M. Slaughter.
Clerk, J. L. Armstrong. Deputies, W. L. Armstrong and W. W. Riley.
Commissioner of Accounts, Henry W. Deem.,BR> Superintendent of Schools, W. P. Kerwood.
Grant District: Justices of the peace, John Robinson and J. H. Curry; constables, Shelton Nesselroad and John Somerville; notaries public, D. R. King, A. C. Tidd, T. B. Coleman and Robert Hardesty.
Ravenswood District: Justices, T. H. B. Lemley and Benjamin F. Johnson; constables, J. S. Dilworth and D. M. Flinn; notaries, Robert T. Wetzel, N. C. Prickett, S. F. Beckwith, H. E. Kelly, C. L. Brown, E. M. Brown, Elijah Baker, James T. Crumb, I. P. Parsons, T. C. Huchison.
Union District: Justices, G. W. Brownell and Isaac Sayre; constables, C. K. Gatchell and M. J. Webster; notaries, B. E. Harrison, W. H. Combs and J. H. Dunlap.
Ripley District: Justices, Beunos Ayers and Jacob Casto; consables, W. A. H. Bettis, and one vacancy; notaries, H. C. Flesher W. A. Parsons, Warren Miller, H. W. Deem, G. J. Walker, F. Leon Clerc Uriah Evans, James M. Kessell John D. Clinton, S. W. Harpold J. O. Shinn, and Jon Smith.
Washington District: Justices, Miles Board and E. A. Thomas; constales, J. L. Dunning and B. L. Duff; notaries, Isaac Counts, J. P. Kiser, C. E. Greenleaf, J. R. Munday and W. S. Duff.
Voting Precincts: Murrayville, Pine Log School-house, Red Brush, Ravenswood, Sandyville, Leroy, Cottageville, Angerona, Court House, Fishers Point, Givens Precinct, Staats Mills, Elk For, and Baptist Grove.
ISAIAH P. ANDERSON - has been a resident in Jackson county since he was five years of age, but his birth was in Meigs county, Ohio, the date July 25, 1854. His parents were Jeremiah Anderson, now deceased, and Parsidia (Bishop) Anderson, who came to Jackson county in 1859. In Jackson county, January 26, 1856, was born Georgia A. Hall, and in this county she became the wife of Isaiah P. Anderson Their marriage was consummated August 9, 1875, the Rev. Dr. W. C. D Bond officiating, and they have two little ones in the home it established. Iola D., born October 19, 1880, and Harley E., born March 8, 1883. Two children have been taken from them by death: Della Grace, born December 9, 1876, died June , 1878; Holly S. born September 25, 1878, died January 2, 1880. The father of Mrs Anderson was Alexander H. Hall, who came to Jackson county about 1847 Her mother's maiden name was Eliza E. Cheuvront. Isaiah P. Anderson alternates the labors of farm life with the profession of a teacher, and may be addressed at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
SIMON ARCHER - a successful teacher, whose home is in Ravenswood district, Jackson county, West Virginia, has been a resident in this county since 1873. In that year his parents, Stephen and Nancy (Grandon) Archer, left the "Buckeye State," and cast their fortunes in with the people of the new and growing State of West Virginia. His birth was in Ohio, at Carlisle, Noble county, but he considers his future interests as identified with the prosperity of the State of his adoption Sandy, Jackson county, West Virginia, is the postoffice address of Simon Archer.
W. V. ATHA - the people's one- price clothier of Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia, and dealer in ladies' and gentlemen's furnishing goods, boots and shoes, caps and hats, is one of the successful merchants of Ravenswood. He was born August S, 1853, in Marion county, this State, of which county his father, J. O. Atha, was one of the pioneer settlers. His mother's maiden name was Eliza V. Criss. J. T. and Mary (Brown) Crum came to Jackson county in 1864, and their daughter, Hattie C. Crum, was born in Jackson county, in June, 1856. At Sandyville, West Virginia, December 17, 1879, she became the wife of W: V. Atha. The postoffice address of W. V. Atha is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
JAMES BOLSER -was born in Rockbridge county, Virginia, April 10, 1838, a son of Jacob and Susan (Lucas) Bolser, who in 1849 took up their residence in Jackson county. His parents were both natives of Rockbridge county, and were the children of Pennsylvanians who had settled in Virginia. Jacob Bolser died in 1866 of that terrible disease, small-pox, and his widow is now a resident on Mill creek, this county. Malinda Rice was born in Jackson county, January 17, 1833, a daughter of John and Rebecca (Runnion) Rice, who left Pennsylvania and made their home in Virginia a few years previous to her birth. In Ripley, Jackson county, West Virginia, August 14, 1860, the Rev. James Park joined in the bands of wedlock James Bolser and Malinda Rice, and in the ensuing years seven children have been born in the home their marriage established, as follows: E. W., May 28, 1861; Jacob B., December 11, 1863; Anna J., February 2, 1866; Florence S., December 3, 1867; John V., January 29, 1870; Amanda L., November 21, 1872; James F., September 12, 1876. Mr. Bolser is a practical farmer and a skilled mechanic of Ravenswood district, and universally esteemed by all who know him. In 1868 he served his district as road supervisor. He may be addressed at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
John BOLSER-son of Jacob and Susan (Lucas) Bolser, who became residents in what is now Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1849, was born in this county, March 12, 1852. Here he married Nancy Beckwith, who was born in Ravenswood district, this county, and was a daughter of Barnes and Elizabeth (Lloyd) Beckwith, natives of England, and who came from Old Virginia to this part of Virginia about 1840. The date of her birth was July 25, 1855, and the Rev. Mr. Ray united her in marriage with John Bolser in Ravenswood district, January 7, 1874. Hollie, born October 28,1875, and Eva, born December 16, 1877, are the children of Mr. and Mrs. Bolser. John Bolser carries on a good farm and is prosperously engaged in the merchantile, at Hemlock, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Charles T. COAST- was born in Belmont county, Ohio, September 29, 1850. When he was three years of age his parents, John and Eleanor (Furguson) Coast, bringing him with them, became residents in Jackson county, and this country has ever since been his home. At the date of their settlement here, the town of Ravenswood contained but one log cabin, and the county-seat, Ripley, consisted of two dwellings and the jail. In Ravenswood district, near Silverton, Jackson county, then in Virginia, September 29, 1855, was born Adelia F., daughter of John and Martha G. (Mahan) Rawling, who settled in this county in 1833. December 3, 1874, at the bride's residence, the words were spoken joining the lives of Charles T. Coast and Adelia F. Rawling, and in the home their mariage established are two children: Nellie, born December 15, 1876, and Daisie, born September 21, 1880. Death has taken from them: Martha E., born June 15, 1875, died July 22, 1876; and Johnnie, born December 14, 1877, died November 27,1880. To the calling of a farmer, Mr. Coast adds the profession of teaching, in which he has successfully engaged for a number of terms. He may be addressed at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Alfred L. COE- born in Ripley, Jackson county, and the son of John Adams Coe and Susan (Bibbe) Coe, was a soldier of the civil war. He enlisted at Salem, Roanoke county, Virginia, in April, 1863, and served as a member of the 17th Virginia Cavalry. Among the battles in which he was engaged were: Bunker Hill, Martinsburg, Gettysburg, Hagerstown, Cedar Creek. At Urbana, Maryland, July 9, 1864, Mr. Coe was wounded. March 7, 1838, was the date of the birth of Alfred L. Coe, and his marriage was consummated March 17, 1867. On that day, at Hemlock, this county, the Rev. J. Swigger joined him in wedlock with Mary, daughter of John and Margaret (Marteney) Piercy. She was born in Wood county, near Parkersburg, this State, July 22, 1848, and made her home in Jackson county when her father and mother came here, which was in 1863. The three children of Mr. and Mrs. Coe are: Lewis P., born June 26, 1868; Lulu Maud, March 22, 1879; Lola W. M., November 19, 1880. Since 1881 Mr. Coe has been serving as a member of the board of education in Ravenswood district, and in this district he follows the occupations of agricultural life. His address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William G. DUER- born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, August 18, 1854, accompanied his parents, George A. and Mary (Glendening) Duer, to Jackson county, West Virginia, when they settled here in the spring of 1870. He qualified himself for the profession of teaching, and alternates the labors of that calling with farming in its various phases. In June, 1882, he was appointed a member of the board of examiners of Jackson county, and the duties of that position he is still discharging. In Monroe county, Ohio, Auguest 2, 1858, Jennie M. Johnson was born, a daughter of Thomas and Anna Maria (Ridgeway) Johnson, who took up their residence in Jackson county, West Virginia, in February, 1873. From the home they established here, their daughter, Jennie M., went as the bride of William G. Duer, their marriage vows having been recorded on the 30th of September, 1880. They have one little one, Elsie A., born February 14, 1883. The post office address of William G. Duer is Sandy, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Benjamin F. FISH - son of William and Jerusha (Gorbert) Fish, both now deceased, was born in Marshall County, then Virginia, July 28,1834. In 1861 he enlisted in the 1st West Virginia Infantry, taking part in the second Bull Run battle, and participating in the campaign of Gen. Pope, until September 11, 1863, he was made prisoner at Morefield, West Virginia. He was taken first to Libby prison, and from thence was sent to Belle Isle, and in all was six months and four days a prisoner. In Belmont County, Ohio, August 31, 1865, Benjamin F. Fish was united in marriage bands with Amanda M. Gibson. She was born in Belmont County, in February, 1848, and is a daughter of Allen and Deborah (Barnes) Gibson, who are still highly esteemed residents in the county of her birth. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Fish are: W. T. S., born March 31, 1866; Charley, February 29, 1868; Edwin, August 6, 1870; Minnie, November 11, 1871; M. B., January 17, 1874; Hayes, August 12, 1876. The youngest child was born in Jackson County, the others in Marshall County; all are living in Jackson County. In 1868, Mr. Fish was supervisor of Liberty district, Marshall County, West Virginia, and in 1876 he took up his residence in Jackson County. The farm he is cultivating lies in Ravenswood district, and he receives his mail at the town of Ravenswood, Jackson County, West Virginia.
William Bonnett FLESHER - was a son of Isaac and Elizabeth (Bonnett) FLESHER, who in 1811 removed from Harrison county, Virginia to what was then Mason county, Virginia, settling on Warths Bottom. This land is now part of Jackson county, West Virginia, and here has always been the home of William B. Flesher, who was born in 1822, on Mill creek. He married Eliza McKown, who was born at Mill creek in 1823, a daughter of Gilbert and Lydia (FLESHER) McKown. Her parents also took up their residence in this locality in 1811. William B. Flesher and Eliza McKown were married on the 11th day of July, 1844, and their children are thirteen, all the living ones residing in Jackson county. They were born: Elizabeth V., March 22, 1845, died July 29, 1859; Andrew J., February 11, 1846, died September 12, 1882; Hiram F., April 5, 1847, died July 29, 1868; Sarah A., December 8, 1848, died May 7, 1852; Minerva E., September 7, 1850; Lydia J., February 18, 1852; Mary I., December 22, 1854, died July 11, 1869; Tabitha T., February 16, 1857; Maxy A., December 20, 1858; William P., April 6, 1860; George M., January 29, 1862, died January 4, 1868; Emma, December 11, 1863, died April 30, 1864; Isaac M., September 14, 1866. William B. Flesher is a farmer of Ravenswood district, which district he has served four years, 1863-7, as president of the board of education, and he has been postmaster four years at Silverton. He still receives his mail at Silverton, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William P. GUILER - son of William and Sarah A. (Shafer) Guiler, was born in Noble county, Ohio, April 24, 1848, and his father continues to reside in the county of his birth. In that State and county, October 15, 1868, Rev. George Waters officiating, William P. Guiler was united in marriage with Mary E. Franklin, and seven children were born of their union, of whom one, Johnnie, born in July 2, 1872, is deceased, his death occurring December 16, 1879. The living children, all at home, were born: Ada W., September 7, 1869; Emma J.., June 3, 1871; Martha B., April 5, 1874; Mary A., December 1, 1875; Sarah A., November 16, 1877; Foreman Ingersol, November 29, 1879. The wife of Mr. Guiler was born in Noble county, Ohio, November 25, 1849, and in that county her parents, John and Hannah J. (Worton) Franklin, continue to make their home. In the year 1874, William P. Guiler and his family settled upon the farm in Ravenswood district that he is now cultivating, and his post office address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
John HALL- was born in Lebanon township, Meigs county, Ohio, in the year 1813, a son of John and Sarah (Hahurst) HALL, who passed their lives in Meigs county, and died there many years ago. The wedded life of John HALL began in Meigs county, Salvina Buffington becoming his wife in Long Bottom, that county, January 26, 1839. Their children are six: Sarah E. and E. C., who live in Wirt county, West Virginia; James M., who is a river man: William F., Winfield S. and Seth A., who make their home in Jackson county, West Virginia. James M. was a drummer in the 11th West Virginia Infantry, enlisting at the age of eighteen years, and serving until the close of the war. He was twice wounded, once in the arm and once in the head. Wm. Buffington, born in Virginia, was a soldier of the 1776 war, serving about six months; was quite a religious lecturer, and boated a great deal. His wife was Sarah G. Hughs, born in Jackson county, West Virginia; the former died in West Virginia and the latter in Meigs county, Ohio. While living in Meigs county, Ohio, John HALL was at one time overseer of roads, and he was also school director during his residence in that county. He became one of the citizens of Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1877, following his life-labor, which is farming, and his post office address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Henry HECK - son of Peter and Mary (Detweiler) HECK, was born in Butler County, Pennsylvania, September 20, 1820. In his younger days Henry HECK was very fond of traveling, and in 1850, he crossed the Isthmus of Panama, and sailed up the coast to California, remaining for three years in the mountains. In 1854 he returned East, settling in Monroe County, Ohio, where he stayed until, in 1857, he removed to Jackson County. At present he resides in Ravenswood district, about two miles from the town of that name, and on the Ravenswood and Ripley pike, where he is cultivating a fine farm.
At Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, he married his first wife, who was Catherine Eisenhardt of New Orleans. She died June 15, 1856, leaving two children: Mary, born February 28, 1845, lives now in Wheeling, West Virginia, and Henry E., born June 15, 1851, lives on Middle Island creek, Tyler County, West Virginia. In Monroe County, Ohio, February 22, 1857, Margaret Keifer became the wife of Henry HECK, and their children are six living and two deceased, who were born: William E., June 30, 1860; Lucie B., October 7, 1862; John W., September 27, 1865; Emma, March 9, 1867, died December 14, 1879; Julia, March 27, 1869; Margaret, June 10, 1871, died August 20, 1872; Charlotta, January 15, 1874; Viola, January 3, 1879. Lucie B. makes her home in Wheeling, this State, and the other children in Jackson County. Margaret Keifer was born in Monroe County, Ohio, a daughter of Henry and Magdaline (Stephens) Keifer, who still reside in that County. Her birth was on the 8th of September, 1839. During the civil war, Henry HECK was a member of the West Virginia State Guards. He has served his district five years as treasurer, and is now overseer of the poor. His address is Ravenswood, Jackson County, West Virginia.
Brown HENDERSHOT - supervisor of roads and school trustee of Ravenswood district, Jackson County, West Virginia, is one of the enterprising and prosperous farmers of this district. He was born at Winget run, Ludlow township, Washington County, Ohio, July 2, 1842, a son of Harvey M. Hendershot, now deceased, and Matilda (Linn) HENDERSHOT, whose home is still in the County of his birth. In the County and township of his birth he became, March 21, 1867, the husband of Lavina E. Powell, Rev. J. S. Covert pronouncing them man and wife. Their children are four: Clara D., born February 8, 1868; Viola I., April 9, 1870; Mary E., June 12, 1873; Carrie N., April 24, 1878. During the war of 1861 Mr. Hendershot served from February 22, 1864 until May 31, 1865, as a member of the 77th Ohio Infantry, Company E. In 1878, with his young family, he made his home in Jackson County, West Virginia. His wife was born in Washington County, Ohio, August 17, 1850, and she is a daughter of Solomon and Elizabeth (LENNINGTON) Powell, who became residents in Jackson County in 1873. The post office address of Brown HENDERSHOT is Ravenswood, Jackson County, West Virginia.
G. W. HUNTER- is a resident in Ravenswood district, Jackson County, West Virginia, and has made his home here since 1865. He is a Virginian by birth, that event occurring July 12, 1859, in Wetzel County, then included within the territory of Virginia, but now one of the counties of West Virginia. His parents are Joseph and Sarah Jane (Matheny) Hunter, who came with him to Jackson County. His father is engaged in farming, and in the duties of farm life, G. W. assists when not occupied with professional engagements. He has prepared himself for the labors of a teacher, and in his chosen calling has already achieved eminent success. He may be addressed though the post office at Sandy, Jackson County, West Virginia.
Joseph JOHNSON - is a son of Thomas and Anna Maria (Ridgeway) JOHNSON, who took up their residence in what is now Jackson County, West Virginia, in the year 1850. He was born in this county, in 1861, and has received an education qualifying him for the profession of teaching in which he has successfully engaged. His first school was taught in this county, when he was eighteen years old, near Sandyville. In 1880 he was engaged in teaching at Portland, Meigs County, Ohio. He has also successfully engaged in the work of canvassing. He may be addressed at Sandy, Jackson County, West Virginia.
J. William LAMBERT - son of Nathan J. and Jemima (Boner) LAMBERT, was born in Randolph county, Virginia, January 2, 1850. In the State and county of his birth, October 25, 1870, the Rev. J. William LAMBERT was united in wedlock with Susan M. Schoonover, and in their home four children have been born to bless their union: Nathan J., born April 4, 1872; Flavius W., January 10, 1874; Harry B., January 23, 1880; Lillie L., August 13, 1881. Lillie L. departed this life February 5, 1883. Susan M., daughter of Jackson L. and Jemima (Skidmore) Schoonover, was born in Randolph county, Virginia, January 14, 1851. Mr. Lambert united with the West Virginia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, March 21, 1877, and was ordained deacon, October 13, 1878, by Bishop W. L. Harris. He was ordained an elder by Bishop J. T. Peck, October 17, 1880, and he is at present the pastor of Ravenswood Circuit Methodist Episcopal Church, with his address at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
James LEATHEM - born in Wayne township, Jefferson county, Ohio, February 29, 1816, and Elizabeth Porter, born in the same State and county, May 13, 1817, were in Wayne township united in wedlock, March 21, 1839. Their seven children present the following genealogical record: William F., born March 14, 1840, died April 14, 1842; Elias A., December 17, 1841, lives in Jackson county, West Virginia; Matthew C., September 23, 1843, lives in Ravenswood, this county; Harriet, September 20, 1845, lives in this county; Brice, June 3, 1847, died April 3, 1851; Eli, April 22, 1849, lives in this county; Thomas K., December 11, 1851, resides in Allen county, Ohio. Elias A. was corporal in Company I, 11th Virginia Infantry, war of 1861, and Matthew C. served as drummer in the same regiment. Nicholas and Elizabeth (Goodlin) Porter, who settled in Jackson county in 1849, were the parents of Elizabeth, wife of Mr. Leathem,. James Leathem's parents were Elias LEATHEM, born in 1780, and Susanna (Maxwell) LEATHEM, born August 5, 1793. His mother died in Jefferson county, Ohio, November 1, 1840, and his father accompanied him when he came to Jackson county in 1850, and here died July 5, 1866. At the date of their settlement here, Ravenswood was a village of seven or eight houses, and the road passing the farm where Mr. Leathem located was the only one leading to Ripley, county-seat of Jackson county. The Ravenswood district school house was not built until 1867. James LEATHEM has been twenty-one years road surveyor in Jackson county, served one year as constable, and was supervisor of county court, 1867-8. He may be addressed at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Benjamin LEWIS - son of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Brookover) Lewis, was born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, July 3, 1820. Later in life his parents settled in Monongalia county, West Virginia, and in 1845, the subject of this sketch cast his fortunes in with the people of Jackson county. In Meigs county, Ohio, December 3, 1843, he wedded Sarah M. Rose, and their children are four living and three deceased, the living children in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Lewis. These children were born: Harriet M., November 18, 1849, died January 25, 1868; Elizabeth M., August 11, 1851, died July 15, 1853; John S., December 24, 1854; Charles H., December 3, 1859; Melissa A., September 13, 1862; David F., October 16, 1865; Addie, June 8, 1867, died May 8, 1868. John R. and Annie (Cox) Rose, the parents of Mrs. Lewis, were raised near the city of New York, and married in New York State. They removed to Greene county, Pennsylvania, where their daughter Sarah M. was born March 25, 1826. At a later date they went to Monroe county, Ohio, and from there to Dane county, Wisconsin, where Mrs. Rose died. Mr. Rose then returned to Ohio, settling in Meigs county, which was his home until his death, April 12, 1878. Farming is the occupation of Benjamin Lewis, and his address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
James Evans McGLOTHLIN - a native of the "Buckeye State," was born in Chester, Meigs county, July 14, 1854. In 1874 he came to Jackson county, West Virginia, and in this county, at Ravenswood, he was united in marriage with Maggie L. Petty on the 6th of June, 1876. Their children are four: Clarence E., born March 13, 1877; Dana R., January 29, 1879; Joseph H., September 28, 1880; Nellie, April 10, 1882. Maggie L. Petty was born in Marion county, then part of Virginia, January 10, 1859, and in 1868 she accompanied her parents, Joseph Allen Petty and Sarah (Satterfield) Petty, to Jackson county, they taking up their residence in this county in that year. Nathaniel Miller McGLOTHLIN and Harriet (Ware) became residents in Jackson county in 1878, and in the same year James. E. McGlothlin took charge of the Ravenswood News as junior member of the firm of McGLOTHLIN Brothers. They purchased the paper from the widow of the late A. J. McMillen, and the office was already owned by the senior member of the present firm, C.E. McGlothlin. In 1881 Postmaster-General James appointed James E. McGlothlin postmaster, and he is still filling the position at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
John Plummer McGREW - was a son of John and Susan (Deyarman) McGREW, and was born in Jackson county, May 8, 1848. In Clifton, Mason county, West Virginia, in 1869, he was united in marriage with Eugenia M., daughter of William P. and Mary C. (Dudding) Shank. She was born November 22, 1850, in Winfield, Putnam county, West Virginia. The children of Mr. and Mrs. McGrew are four, all living in the home of their parents in Ravenswood district. They were born: Florence E., July 28, 1870; John William, January 25, 1872; Freddie Guy, July 22, 1876; Emmet S. Clair, December 18, 1880. During the war between the States, John P. McGrew served as a member of Company E, 7th Virginia Cavalry. By occupation he is a miller and millwright, and his address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William H. MATHENY - born in Marion county, Virginia, April 3, 1825, was a son of Noah Matheny, who was born in Preston county, Virginia, in 1786. Noah Matheny removed to Marion county while it was still part Monongalia county, and continued to reside there until his death, January 2, 1882, at the good old age of ninety-six years. In Wetzel county, Virginia, October 7, 1852, Rev. James G. West joined in wedlock William H. Matheny and Drusilla A. Morgan, and their children were: Sarah A., born in September, 1853, died June 2, 1854; John W., born July 1, 1855, died May 27, 1862; Mary B. (Price), August 23, 1858, lives in Meigs county, Ohio; Charles N., June 27, 1861; Susanna, January 14, 1864; Martha J., October 10, 1866 - these three living at home. Drusilla A., wife of Mr. Matheny, was born in Wetzel county, September 25, 1826, a daughter of Morgan and Susanna (Martin) Morgan. Her father was the second son of Col. Morgan, who served under Washington in the war of 1776, and the mother of Morgan Morgan was Drusilla, daughter of Dennis Springer, who died near Winchester, Virginia, in 1765. The Morgan brothers resided in that portion of Monongalia county which is now part of Marion, and in their lives had many of those frontier experiences with the red man which will be found sketched elsewhere in this Encyclopedia. In 1865, William H. Matheny became a resident in Jackson county. He is by occupation a farmer, and in the cultivation of his estate he is assisted by his son Charles N. in the intervals of his engagements as a teacher. The post office of the family is at Sandy, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Isiah P. PARSONS - was born March 22, 1850, on Trace fork of Sand creek, Ravenswood district, Jackson county, a son of Charles and Eliza J. (Sands) Parsons. His father is one of the substantial men of Jackson county, and highly esteemed here. During the war between the States, Charles Parsons served as a member of Capt. George S. Kennedy's State scouts. William and Irene (Mitchell) Huffman are the parents of Margaret A., wife of Isiah P. Parsons. She was born in 1850, in what is now Barbour county, West Virginia, and the Rev. D. Warren officiated at the marriage rite when she was joined in wedlock with the subject of this sketch, in Jackson county. June 26, 1879, was the date of the marriage, and it has been blessed with one son, Chester J., born September 7, 1880. Educated for a teacher, Mr. Parsons alternates the duties of that profession with the labors of farm life. He is also at this time serving as a notary public. Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia, is his address.
Charles R. POLING - pursues the double avocations of farming and teaching in Jackson county, West VIrginia, with his residence in Ravenswood district, where his parents, Edward and Ann E. (Rankin) Poling, made their home in 1859. They came to this county from Alleghany county, Maryland, but their son Charles R., subject of this sketch, was born in Hampshire county, Virginia, in 1843. He had one brother, H. L. Poling, who served three years in the 1861 war, from 1862 until peace was declared. H. L. was a participant in the battle of Cloyd Mountain, West VIrginia, and was in all the engagements of the Shenandoah Valley campaign, and was present at the surrender at the close of the war. He was a member of Company I, 11th Virginia Infantry. He is now a minister of the United Brethren Church, Parkersburg Annual Conference, which he joined in 1870. He served the following congregations: Pennsborough circuit, Parkersburg circuit, Mannington circuit, Buckhannon Station, Hartford City Station, West Columbia Station, and others. The post office address of Charles R. Poling is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West VIrginia.
Solomon B. POWELL - was born on Buffalo fork of Wills creek, in Guernsey county, Ohio, on the 4th day of April, 1821. He was a son of Joshua and Elizabeth (Piatt) Powell, whose last days were passed in Washington county, Ohio. In Washington county, Ohio, September 14, 1843, Solomon B. Powell was joined in wedlock with Elizabeth Lemington, who was born in Guernsey county, Ohio, July 18, 1825. She was a daughter of Elias O. and Mary (Bowers) Lemington, [ed. note: should be Lennington] who died in Washington county, Ohio. The twelve children of Mr. and Mrs. Solomon B. Powell have the following record: Mary J., born September 29, 1844, lives at Beattys run, this county; Martha A., August 7, 1846, lives at Wurtland, Greenup county, Kentucky; Francis M., September 10, 1848, died August 18, 1873; Levina E., August 17,1850, lives at Hemlock, in this county; Sarah E., April 27, 1852, lives at Right Hand, this county; James M., March 8, 1854, died February 8, 1862; John A., April 7, 1856, died August 19, 1879; Matilda A., August 11, 1858, resides at Oak Ridge, this county; Nancy M., May 26, 1860, died February 24, 1861; Emma A., July 24, 1862, lives at home; William J., June 7, 1864, lives at home; Josiah R., October 13, 1866, died January 14, 1879. Mr. Powell first resided in Guernsey county, and removed in 1823 to Monroe county, and in 1833 to Washington county, all in Ohio. In 1873 he came to Jackson county, West Virginia, settling upon a farm in Ravenswood district. He recieves his mail in the town of Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
T. B. RANKIN - born in Marshall county, Virginia, December 17, 1843, was a son of John and Eliza A. (Fish) Rankin, who is 1855 took up their residence with the people of Jackson county. In this county, then , he has passed his life since his twelfth year, except for the years he spent in the Federal army, as a Member of Company I, 11th Virginia Infantry. He enlisted in this regiment and company on the 14th of August, 1862, and shared its fortunes until the end of the civil conflict. In Jackson county, on the 1st of April, 1868, the Rev. H. L. Poling, officiating clergyman, united in wedlock T. B. Rankin and Serena A. Lane, and they have made their home in Ravenswood district, where, as a farmer and mechanic, the time of Mr. Rankin is spent. The children of T. B. Rankin are: Marlin L., born October 12, 1870; Edgar J., July 1, 1872, and Otti B., July 3, 1878. His wife was born in Jackson county, February 14, 1852, and she was a daughter of Barlett and Emily (Rice) Lane, who were natives of Jackson county. T. B. Rankin's post office address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Henry ROWLEY - was born in Seneca county, New York, in Nevada township, June 7, 1809. William and Elizabeth (Vanziel) ROWLEY were his parents, and with them he came to the locality where he now resides in the year 1820. The country was then in a pioneer stage of settlement, and was a part of Mason county, Virginia, the county of Jackson having been erected since that date. The first pair of boots made in Jackson county were made by the father of Henry ROWLEY, for one John Nesselroad, the greatest hunter in the State. Henry ROWLEY married Amanda Buffington, of Buffingtons Island, Jackson county, May 26, 1831, and she died November 5, 1878. Their children were: Joseph, born October 18, 1831, lives in Adams county, Ohio; G. C., August 26, 1833, lives in Jackson county; Magdalene, March 3, 1836, resides in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania; Cloe, August 11, 1838; Nancy C., February 14, 1842, died February 10, 1847; Henry C., May 25, 1844, lives in this county; William A., March 26, 1846, died February 7, 1864; Elizabeth, May 29, 1849, died January 11, 1850; Nancy L. V., March 12, 1853, lives in Cattaraugus county, New York, and James, May 19, 1860, lives in Jackson county.
In the 1861 war, Joseph V. was lieutenant in Company E, 9th West Virginia Infantry, Union service, and William was a member of the same company. WIlliam died of injuries received in the service. Grosvenor C. was a member of the 11th West Virginia Infantry, Company K, and was wounded and made prisoner at Lynchburg. Henry C. served in Company F, 4th West Virginia Infantry.
In Racine, Meigs county, Ohio, Henry ROWLEY wedded Mary, daughter of George W. and Mary Ann (Bondinot) Bell, July 31, 1879. Her parents still reside in Meigs county, where she was born April 4, 1825. She was a widow at the time of her marriage with Mr. Rowley and the mother of Letitia A. and Walter D. Homes, the former born September 12, 1847, and residing at Point Pleasant, Mason county, West Virginia, and the latter, born July 19, 1849, residing at the same place. A daughter of her first marriage, Florence L., born April 12, 1852, died November 6, 1858. Mr. Rowley was supervisor of roads in Jackson county for nineteen consecutive years during the time when the roads were being opened up, and they could exact daily work of that officer, if desired. He is a farmer, with his post office address at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Henry Clay ROWLEY - one of the farming residents of Ravenswood district, Jackson county, West Virginia, was born in the county, on Sand creek, Grant district, in 1844, a son of Henry and Amanda (Buffington) ROWLEY. July 15, 1861, Henry C. Rowley enlisted in Company F, 4th West Virginia Infantry, and at a later date was transferred to the 8th Missouri, where he served eighteen months, receiving his discharge in August, 1864. He was a participant in the battles of Black Hills, Vicksburg, Jackson, Resecca, Dallas, Tuscumbia, and all the battles of Sherman's march to the sea.
September 25, 1864, Henry C. Rowley and Sarah M. Morehouse were united in marriage, and their union has been blessed with seven children, all living at home, born: Josephine, August 30, 1865; Bazzette, June 14, 1867; Warren T., March 8, 1870; Nellie, June 24, 1872; Claude D., November 28, 1874; Romana, August 30, 1877; Henry H., October 14, 1879. Sarah M. Morehouse was born in Allegany county, New York, August 8, 1844, a daughter of William and Elizabeth (Ives) Morehouse. They came to Jackson county about 1850, and her marriage was in this county, on Sand creek. Henry C. Rowley receives his mail at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Charles REDDING -- Was born near Punxsutawney, Indiana county, Pennsylvania, February 25, 1819. In the State and county of his birth, October 17, 1836, he wedded Elizabeth Blose, who was born in Westmoreland county, near Greensburg, Pennsylvania, June 15, 1815. The genealogical record of their children is: Sarah Ann, born June 26, 1837, lives at Middleport, Meigs county, Ohio; Lucinda, August 28, 1840, lives in Jackson county, West Virginia; Margaret, April 5, 1842, lives in Indiana county, Pennsylvania; William H., April 16, 1844, and James E., January 18, 1846, live in this county; Nancy E., June 11, 1848, lives in Wirt county, West Virginia; Charles Scott, June 5, 1850, lives in Roane county, West Virginia; Samuel G., May 16, 1852, lives in East Brady, Clarion county, Pennsylvania; Clark, October 18, 1855; Ors F., June 25, 1857, lives in Jackson county. Charles REDDING enlisted at Wirt C. H., in July, 1861, for service in the Union army during the war between the States. He was a member of the 1st West Virginia Cavalry, and took part in all the battles of that regiment, among them: Bull Run, Winchester, Petersburg, Hunter's raid, and Appomattox. He was serving his second term of enlistment when the war closed. The oldest of his sons, William H., enlisted in 1862, at the age of eighteen, and served until the close of the war. Samuel and Barbara (Newcome) REDDING were the parents of Charles REDDING, and his wife was a daughter of George and Sarah (Walton) Blose. The parents of both passed their last days in Jefferson county, Pennsylvania. In 1881 Charles REDDING with his family settled on a farm in this district, and they receive their mail at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Rev. Thomas H. RYMER - son of John and Margaret (Beverage) Rymer, was born in Highland county, Virginia, in 1842. In Middleport, Meigs county, Ohio, in 1869, he was joined in wedlock with Allie E. Hover. She was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, in 1840, a daughter of David H. And Elizabeth (Frane) Hover. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Rymer were born: A son, in 1870; Fidelia E., 1871; Thomas E.,1875; John F.,1879; Ora L., 1882. The Rev. Thomas H. Rymer has been engaged in the work of ministry for sixteen years. He traveled in Mason county for six years, five years in Ritchie county, this State, and in 1877 he came to Jackson county, where he has since been diligent in his Master's service. His address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Philotes STANLEY - son of David and Hannah (Richards) Stanley, was born in Jackson county, October 15, 1831. During the war between the States, he served as a member of Company F, 4th West Virginia Cavalry, enlisting at Ravenswood, in September, 1863. In Jackson county, February 12, 1873, he wedded Romana, daughter of Thomas and Ann (Russell) Wilkins, and widow of a Mr. Blackburn. She was born in Beaver county, Pennsylvania, January 17, 1830, and her parents are now residents in Columbiana county, Ohio. The first marriage of Philotes Stanley was consummated February 12, 1855, when Harriet Matilda Runnion became his wife. She died October 16, 1871, leaving one son, who is now living in Jackson county, Samuel N., born April 15, 1856. The first marriage of the present Mrs. Stanley resulted in the birth of eight children, namely: William F. Blackburn, born July 21, 1852, resides in Wellsville, Ohio; Rachel R., August 15, 1854, lives in Meigs county, Ohio; Joseph M., October 29, 1856, lives in Jackson county, West Virginia; Thomas H., January 15, 1859, died same day; James M., January 13, 1860; Ann E., March 25, 1863; John S., September 15, 1865; Harry A., April 15, 1871- the last named living with his mother.
The father of Philotes Stanley was born in Jackson county in 1802, and his early years were spent as a keel boatman on the Ohio; later in life he engaged in the mercantile business in Louisville, Kentucky, and while endeavoring to close out his business there he was ruthlessly murdered by assassins, and his body sunk in the river. Philotes Stanley is conducting a farm in Ravenswood district, with his post office at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Otho M. STONE - born on Mill creek, Jackson county, March 7, 1856, and Lelia F. Douglas, born in the same county, near the mouth of Mill creek, November 25, 1858, were joined in wedlock at the bride's residence, the Rev. W. M. Weekly officiating clergyman. They were married on the twenty-first anniversary of the bride's birth, November 25, 1879, and they have now two children: Bertha May, born January 7, 1881, and Homer H., born August 28, 1882. Calvin and Jennette (Brownell) Douglas were the parents of Mrs. Stone, and Otho M. Stone was the son of Elias and Ollie Ann (Shinn) Stone, the former born in Jackson county in 1832, and the latter born in this county in 1835.
George Stone, grandfather of Otho M., was one of the pioneers of this locality. He came from Greene county, Pennsylvania, to take up his residence on the banks of Mill creek in 1817. He was one of the first squires of the county, and was among the first sheriffs of Jackson county. In starting for himself in life, Otho M. Stone was first engaged in teaching. His first school was at Mt. Olive, this county, his next term at Pleasant Hill, the third at Union, and the fourth and last at Pine Hill, which was his home school. He taught in all four years, and then embarked on a mercantile career. He is dealing in dry goods, notions, hardware, queensware, tinware, cutlery, and the various articles that stock a well-kept store of miscellany suited to the trade he commands. He sells cheap for cash or produce, and all who come to Silverton will do well to remember and investigate the cheap and reliable goods of Otho M. Stone, merchant and postmaster of Silverton, Jackson county, West Virginia.
W.C. VANMATRE - son of O. H. P. VanMatre, and Miriam (Sayre) VanMatre, was born in Pleasants Flats, Mason county, West Virginia. He was first married to Matilda J. Bumgarner, and the one child of their union was Estella, born December 15, 1869, died January 15, 1870. In 1874, W.C. VanMatre cast his fortunes with the people of Jackson county, and on the 24th of December, 1874, he was joined in wedlock with Hester L. Crum. They are the parents of five children: Hiram H., James W., P.G., Nellie D., Martha S. Hester L., wife of Mr. VanMatre, was born in Noble county, Ohio, a daughter of J.F. and Mary B. (Brown) Crum, who have lived in Jackson county since 1854. D.S. Crum, brother of Mrs. VanMatre, was a major in the Confederate service, in the army of Southwestern Virginia, enlisting in 1861 at Point Pleasant. Mr. VanMatre is successfully conducting a large and increasing mercantile business at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
B.F. WEST - is one of the substantial young farmers of Ravenswood, district, Jackson county, West Virginia, and is a native of this county, born on Sandy creek, December 15, 1852. Andrew J. and Lydia (Kyle) West, his parents, were also born in Jackson county. At the residence of Michael Kouns, in this county, November 16, 1871, Rev. A.J. McMillion spoke the words which linked in one the lives of B.F. West and Mary C., daughter of Michael and Maty (Kouns) Kouns. She was born May 17, 1847, in Mason county, this state, and came to Jackson county with her parents when they settled here in 1856.
Charles G., the oldest of the children of Mr. and Mrs. West, was born June 28, 1872, and died August 28 of the same year. They have three children who brighten their home: Archie H., born November 17, 1873; Mary E., November 14, 1875; Georgie K., January 9, 1880.
The grandfather of B.F. West was among the pioneer settlers of Jackson county, and his memory is still revered by those who remember his connection with its early settlement.
Andrew J. West lost his wife in 1867, she dying at the age of 45 years, and his death was in 1874, at the age of 55 years. B.F. West's post office address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Calvin Marvin WEST - was a son of Thomas and Mary (Flesher) West, who became residents in what is now Jackson county, West Virginia, when it was a part of the frontier lands of Virginia, in 1811. He was here born, at Parchment Valley, Jackson county, January 17, 1819, grew to manhood, was married and entered upon the labors of a farmer in Ravenswood district. His wedded life began October 4, 1837, when Phebe Curry became his wife, and their children have the following record: J.W., born May 5, 1839, and R. N., March 1, 1841, live in Jackson county; Mary Ann, September 13, 1842, deceased; T.B., June 9, 1844, lives in this county; A.J., March 2, 1846, lives in Mason county, West Virginia; A.G., October 4, 1847, lives in Nebraska; W.C., April 30, 1850, lives in Kentucky; Julia A., February 13, 1852, lives in Mason county, West Virginia; Elizabeth A., February 5, 1854, lives in Harrison county, West Virginia; Annie F., August 28, 1856, lives in Jackson county. Three of these sons were participants in the civil strife; Andrew J. and Robert as members of Company K, 11th Virginia Infantry; J.B. was first a member of the 9th Virginia Infantry, and afterward of the 4th Virginia Cavalry.
Calvin M. West filled satisfactorily the office of poor overseer, 1860-1875. In 1842 he settled on his present farm one and three-quarters miles back from Ravenswood, when settlements round about were comparatively scarce. Then a wagon road was an unknown thing, but settlement has so increased that now a hundred wagons pass daily. He receives his mail at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Cornelius G. ARCHER - has joined the avocations of farmer and teacher and is pursuing both in Grant district, Jackson county, West Virginia. He is a son of Joseph and Catherine (Harris) Archer, and his birth was in Noble county, Ohio, the date July 25, 1854. His residence, as well as that of his parents, has been in Jackson county since 1873. He has been six years following the profession of a teacher, and has received five No. 1 certificates. His mail is received through the post office at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William C. BARLOW - was born in Guernsey county, Ohio, April 17, 1840. During the 1861 war he entered the service of his country as a member of Company I, 25th Ohio Infantry, serving from June 25, 1861, until January 6, 1862, when he was discharged for disability. February 22, 1864, he re-enlisted in the same company, and served until the end of the war.
In Noble county, Ohio, December 3, 1870, he was joined in marriage with his present wife, Sarah J., daughter of Joseph and Mary (Floyd) Baker. She was born in Monroe county, Ohio, May 1, 1840, and the children of her marriage with Mr. Barlow are: Mary I., born April 16, 1872; Levi L., November 28, 1873; Violet, October 25, 1875; Lilly F., October 8, 1877; Perry G., April 18, 1880. Mrs. Barlow's children by a former marriage with David McLowe are: Susan, born January 13, 1859; James F., April 17, 1861, lives in Ohio. The first wife of William C. Barlow was Margaret A. Kincey, born July 31, 1845, a daughter of Lorenzo D. and Nancy (McVay) Kincey. She wedded Mr. Barlow June 14, 1863, and died August 18, 1868, leaving two children: Elma C., born November 25, 1864, married James Burke, of Grant district: Laura V., April 18, 1866, married Benj. Cheuvront, of this district. In farming and work at the carpenter's bench the time of Mr. Barlow is actively employed, and his address is Lockhart, Jackson county, West Virginia.
John P. BURKE - son of John and Julia A. (Thompson) Burke, was born February 4, 1833, in Shepherdstown, Jefferson county, now part of West Virginia. Lizzie M. Harpold was born in Meigs county, Ohio, January 23, 1842, and her parents are Henry and Hester H. (Roush) Harpold. In the State and county of her birth, upon the 1st of November, 1874, were spoken the words joining the life of Lizzie M. Harpold with that of John P. Burke. Two sons have been born in the home their marriage established, as follows: John E., May 20, 1876, and George O., July 4, 1878. In the year 1878, with his little family, John P. Burke settled in Grant district, this county, and entered upon the cultivation of a farm here. He may be addressed through the post office at Wiseburg, Jackson county, West Virginia.
James M. CHEUVRONT - is a son of Isaac and Catherine (Childers) Cheuvront, who became residents in Jackson county in 1839. In this county he was born June 17, 1848, and here his wedded life began, February 22, 1874. On that day Bedelia Archer became his life's partner, and in the years that have ensued their home has witnessed five births and two deaths. Their first child was born March 4, 1875, and died April 6, 1875; Amy E., was born September 18, 1876, and she died December 1, 1876. The three younger children are: Harvey O., born October 14, 1877; Ara Ann, July 22, 1880; Raymond A., April 17, 1882. Jacob and Elizabeth (Sadler) Archer, who settled in Jackson county in 1873, are the parents of Bedelia, wife of Mr. Cheuvront, but she was born in Noble county, Ohio, February 2, 1856. During the war between the States, James M. Cheuvront was a member of Company F, 4th Virginia Cavalry, enlisting in July, 1863, and receiving discharge in March, 1864. In February, 1865, he enlisted again in Company F, 7th Virginia Cavalry, serving until August, 1865. He owns and carries on a good farm in Grant district, and his post office address is Lockhart, Jackson county, West Virginia.
James COCHRAN - son of Nathaniel and Elizabeth (Ford) COCHRAN, was born September 19, 1806, in Marion county, then in Virginia. His first marriage was on the 2nd of December, 1828, when Amanda Brumage became his wife.
Their children were seven, with the following record: Joseph N., born November 16, 1829, died June 24, 1864; Minerva E., July 16, 1833, lives in this county; Nathaniel C., August 28, 1836, lives in Marion county, West Virginia; Mary J., February 1, 1851, died September 7, 1876; William H., August 11, 1842, died June 7, 1865; James A., April 1, 1845, and Winfield S., November 9, 1849, live in Grant district. Nathaniel, William H. and James A. were Federal soldiers in the war between the States. The first-named was in Malsby's battery, serving three years, and the other two were six months members of the 4th West Virginia Cavalry. The mother of these children was born February 6, 1812, and died June 15, 1853. At Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, September 1, 1857, James COCHRAN again wedded, and the wife of his choice was Margaret M., daughter of John and Mary (Magathan) Campbell. She was born in Kentucky on the 9th of November, 1826.
James Cochran has been a man of great industry in the avocations of farming and carpenter work, and is now enjoying a serene and well-earned repose. His address is Belleville, Wood county, West Virginia.
David S. COLEMAN, Jr. - was born in St. Genevieve county, Missouri, August 8, 1854, and in the year of his birth his parents, David S. and Maria (McPike) Coleman, took up their residence among the people of Jackson county, then a part of Virginia.
In the State of his birth, and in Washington county, January 22, 1878, David S. Coleman was wedded with Ella C. McPike, and they made their home in Grant district, Jackson county, West Virginia, where Mr. Coleman follows the occupations of a farming life. Their children were three: Tony C., born December 29, 1879; Edith, May 30, 1881; Carl D., December 30, 1882. Ella C. McPike was born in Bollinger county, Missouri, on the 27th of January, 1856, and is a daughter of James and Ann (Woolford) McPike. The post office of address of David S. Coleman is Muses Bottom, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Thomas COLEMAN - was born at Letart Falls, Virginia, June 22, 1801, a son of James and Nancy (Anderson) COLEMAN. At the age of two years he was orphaned, and from that time until he was fourteen he lived with an uncle. He was then apprenticed at the blacksmithing trade, worked at it a year, then went as cook on a riverboat. He rose to push-hand, then to captain, purchased a farm for which he was to pay in salt, and did pay, so that, at the age of 21 years, he was the owner of a good farm.
He has climbed the ladder until he now owns 3,000 acres of rich farming land, mostly in Muses Bottom. He built a fine brick church on his land, and gave ground for a grave-yard, about which he built a block-stone wall which will last for ages. He has contended with many hardships, labored hard, done good to all about him, and kept together and raised a large family of children, laying by enough to give each a good home.
His grandfather was among those sturdy pioneers to whom the Virginias owe so much, and in frontier days did garrison duty at Fort Pitt, Wheeling, Marietta, and Belleville. He was finally murdered by Indians at the Falls of Mill Creek, while waiting to cross. More detail of these pioneer adventures elsewhere given in this Encyclopedia.
Sarah Roush was born at Letart Falls, Meigs county, Ohio, December 15, 1805, a daughter of Henry and Sarah (Sayres) Roush. December 23, 1823, in the place of the bride's natavity, Thomas COLEMAN and Sarah Roush were united in marriage, and she passed away in death on the 6th of April, 1882, having been the mother of his ten children. These children were born: David S., April, 1827, died July, 1852; Nancy (Roberts), April 11, 1829, lives in this district; Mary A., (Adams), June 27, 1831, died July 7, 1876; Henry R., December, 1833, is now traveling in the West, lecturing in behalf of the Southern Methodist Church, and exhibiting specimens obtained while he was in the Holy Land; Eliza J. (Williams), July 2, 1836, and Thomas B., September, 1838, live in Grant district; Samuel H., February, 1842, died in July, 1848; Virginia (Morgan), July, 1845, lives in Ravenswood district; Maria M. (Morgan), December 25, 1847, and Sarah E., April, 1853 live in Grant district.
Thomas Coleman has filled for many years the office of justice of the peace; he was, under the old constitution, appointed by the governor, and has since been elected by the people. He settled in Jackson county in 1830, and during the time of the war which tore the Virginias apart he was postmaster of Muses Bottom holding the position until the close of the war. Farming and stock-raising are his avocations, and his post office address is still at Muses Bottom, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Jasper M. CONGROVE - is a native of the "Buckeye State," born in Meigs county, Ohio, February 18, 1844. But his parents became residents in Jackson county in 1845, and in this county the subject of this sketch grew to manhood and entered upon the duties of life for himself, learning and pursuing the trade of ship-carpenter, and also engaged in the cultivation of a farm of Grant district. He entered into marriage bonds with Cordie Copen, in Elizabeth, Wirt county, West Virginia, December 21, 1873, and one son and one daughter brighten their home; Harry E., born October 29, 1874; and Effie B., born February 6, 1878. Nicholas Congrove, father of Jasper M., was born November, 1817, and his mother, whose maiden name was Ingebeth Taylor, was born November 26, 1822. Thompson R. and Annie M. (Dye) Copen were parents of the wife of Jasper M. Congrove, and she was born October 19, 1857, in the county in which her marriage took place. Jasper M. Congrove was one year in the Federal service during the war of 1861, a member of Company D, 6th West Virginia Infantry. He receives his mail at Murraysville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Reuben W. COOPER - born in Ohio, has lived in Jackson county since the year 1847. He is extensively engaged in the lumber business, dealing in staves and ties, and is the owner of an excellent farm in Grant district. His place of business, to which all correspondence should be addressed, is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Isaac CROSS - son of Isaac and Mary (Buckley) Cross, was born April 11, 1842, in Jackson county, then part of Virginia. His first wife was Anna D.Gandee, born in Jackson county, near Ravenswood, September 13, 1844, a daughter of Levi T. and Cynthia Gandee. Her father is no longer living, and her mother still resides in Ravenswood. The Rev. James Buckley joined in wedlock Isaac Cross and Anna D.. Gandee, at the bride's residence in this county, February 5, 1862, and she died November 6, 1874, having been the mother of: Cynthia Ann, born July 4, 1863, died August 3, 1863; Mary Virginia, August 28, 1864, died November 4, 1878; George Washington, September 1, 1867; WIlliam Harrison, February 20, 1870; David Isaac, June 3, 1872- these three now living in Jackson county. In this county, December 19, 1875, Isaac Cross was united in marriage with Martha Halsey, who was born in Meigs county, Ohio, July 20, 1851, a daughter of Oleroy and Mary Ettie (Stewart) Halsey. Their daughter, Lola I., was born August 21, 1876, and died February 28, 1878. They have one little son, Marvin S., born April 20, 1879. John M. and Solomon H. Cross, brothers of Isaac, were soldiers of the civil war, the former in the Federal army, Company K, 11th Virginia Infantry, and the latter in the Confederate service, Company C, 19th Virginia Infantry. He was taken prisoner, sent to Camp Chase for three months, when his brother Isaac obtained his release by a petition signed by Union officers. After returning home, to avoid being again taken prisoner, this time by the Confederates, he entered the Union army, serving in the same company with his brother John. Isaac Cross is a farmer, and his land lies in Grant district, Jackson county, but his post office address is Lone Cedar, Wood county, West Virginia.
Aaron W. DAVIS, M. D. - son of William and Martha (Wood) Davis, was born in Belmont county, Ohio, September 26, 1828. In the State and county of his birth, September 18, 1853, he was joined in wedlock with Hannah, daughter of John and Delila (Moore) Ward. Their oldest child is living in a home of her own at Murraysville, their second-born died while an infant, and four children still gladden their home. These children are: Martha J. (Kendrew), born July 19, 1854; Edwina E., April 24, 1856, died August 12, 1856; Cassius M., September 11, 1859; Anna I., June 1, 1863; Mary L., September 19, 1868; Lillie V., August 17, 1870. The wife of Dr. Davis was a native of Ohio, born in Belmont county, November 1, 1835. During the war of the States, Dr. Davis enlisted as a private in the Union ranks, serving four months in that capacity in the 3rd West Virginia Cavalry, Company H, the date of his enlistment, November, 1862. He was then made first lieutenant, and shortly after assistant surgeon, in which position he was serving at the close of the war. He is now engaged in the professional duties of a practicing physician and surgeon in this and adjoining districts, and his residence and post office address is Murrayswille, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Robert A. DeBUSSEY- was born March 14, 1834, in New York City, but he grew to manhood among the people of Virginia, his parents, Thomas and Sarah (Evans) DeBussey settling with him in Jackson county when he was four years old. In this county he enlisted in 1861, in Company F, 4th Virginia Infantry, serving eighteen months as a private, and the remainder of his three years as a member of the regimental band. In Jackson county, January 26, 1865, he was joined in wedlock with Catherine E. Palmer, who was born in this county, July 24, 1845. Their living children, all residing at home are seven: Alice, born February 27, 1867; Clarica, December 10, 1870; Henrietta V., February 17, 1873; Sarah, May 16, 1875; Annie, August 6, 1877; Ella, September 16, 1879; Herbert R., February 23, 1882; They have lost one son and one daughter: Clarence, born in Illinois, November 13, 1865, and Emma, born March 18, 1869; Clarence died in Jackson county, April 21,1866, and Emma on the 2nd of October, 1881, in this county. Mr. DeBussey's wife is a daughter Herbert R. and Susannah (Neselroad) Palmer. Mr. DeBussey lived for a time in Illinois, leaving here October 16, 1865, and returning April 9, 1866. He is now a prosperous farmer of Grant district, receiving his mail at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Andrew J. FLESHER - engaged in the double avocations of farming and boat-building in Grant district, Jackson county, West Virginia, was born in this county, at Mill Creek, January 2, 1827. Isaac and Elizabeth (Bonnett) Flesher were the parents of Andrew J., and he has been twice married and the father of fourteen children. His first wife was Sarah M., daughter of Daniel and Hannah (Sayres) Weaver. She was born September 15, 1827, and died May 19, 1857. Her marriage with Mr. Flesher was on September 5, 1847, and their children were: Flavius J., born August 27, 1848; Millard F., December 25, 1849; William A., November 13, 1852; Benjamin T., February 15, 1855; Andrew J., February 14, 1857; died September 27, 1857. In Meigs county, Ohio, July 15, 1858, Andrew J. Flesher wedded Sarah M. Barrett, who was born in Jackson county, Ohio, on Christmas Day, 1840, and is a daughter of Davis K. and Emily S. (Moore) Barrett. The children of Andrew J. and Sarah M. (Barrett) Flesher were born: Isaac N., February 2, 1859; Emily S., April 23, 1861; Mary B., June 10, 1863; Davis K., September 4, 1865; Dolly M., November 6, 1867; Dortha T., November 26, 1869; Charles T., June 28, 1872; Jesse L., September 16, 1874; Harry L., January 9, 1880- all living in this district, the younger children at home. The post office address of Andrew J. Flesher is Murraysville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Flavius J. FLESHER - is a son of Andrew J. and Sarah M. (Weaver) Flesher, whose record is in a sketch preceeding this one. He was born in Jackson county, West Virginia, the date of his birth August 27, 1848, and in this county he was wedded, the date of his marriage October 25, 1868. On that day Nancy C. Congrove became his wife, at Murraysville, and she is the mother of his children, who were born: Nettie M., June 19, 1871; William M., October 22, 1873; Edgar C., May 10, 1876; Taylor, October 22, 1878; Freeman B., March 31, 1881- all are living at home. Nancy C. Congrove was born in Jackson county, June 16, 1848, a daughter of Nicholas Congrove, who was born in November, 1817, and Ingebeth (Taylor) Congrove, born November 26, 1822. Flavius J. Flesher follows the occupation of a ship-carpenter, and receives his mail at Murraysville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Isaac N. FLESHER - is a son of Andrew J. and Sarah M. (Barrett) Flesher, whose record is given above. He was born February 2, 1859, while his parents were still residents in Ohio, and he came with them to Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1865. He is well-known in this, the home of his adoption, as a young man of great energy and business ability, and is a river captain and pilot. He is yet unmarried, but means to make some woman a happy wife, when the right time comes. His post office address is Murraysville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Samuel FULTON - son of William and Jane (Mills) FULTON, was born in Belmont county, Ohio, July 6, 1835. During the war between the States, he served as a member of Company A, 77th Ohio Infantry, and was promoted through the successive grades of non-commissioned officer from a private, then received commission as second lieutenant, then as first lieutenant, and after holding this office with credit, he was made captain of Company F, same regiment. The date of his enlistment was October 2, 1861, and he served until the close of the war. He has been twice married, his first wife, Ionia Margaret King, dying November 30,1877. She was born in Belmont county, Ohio, October 8, 1838, and they were married in Monroe county, Ohio, January 19, 1860. Their children were: Elmer E., born December 16, 1861; John C., October 20, 1867; William H., November 19, 1869; Charles D., October 15, 1871, died July 11, 1878; Samuel E., July 16, 1874 - the living children reside with their father. In Jackson county, October 3, 1878, Harriet A. Couplin became the wife of Samuel FULTON, and their children are two: Maggie E., born June 3, 1879, and James G., December 11, 1881. John and Elva (Patterson) Couplin are the parents of Harriet A., wife of Mr. Fulton, and her birth was in Monroe county, Ohio, on the 23rd of September, 1851. Samuel FULTON is an expert at the trade of blacksmith, which he follows, but he also devotes much time to take care of his farm. He has lived in Jackson county since 1873, and should be addressed at Topins Grove, Jackson county, West Virginia.
James V. HALL - is a native of the "Empire State," his birth having occurred in New York, on the 6th of September, 1832, and he was a son of Joseph Y. and Margaret A. (Veley) Hall. In Wirt county, West Virginia, Sarah E. Petty spoke the words which joined in one their future destinies. She was born February 22, 1844, in the county in which her marriage was consummated, and was a daughter of Presley and Drusilla (McKinley) Petty. In 1871, Mr. Hall cast his fortunes in with the people of Jackson county, West Virginia, locating on a good farm in Grant district, and all the children of his marriage who are living reside with him. His children were born: Bertha A., August 6, 1865; Drusilla M., January 6, 1868; Margaret V., March 11, 1870; Effie M., August 21, 1872, died September 12, 1872; Francis E., January 2, 1874; Lilly B., December 27,1876, died August 13, 1879; Jessie E., April 15, 1880, died June 17, 1880; James V., jr., April 1, 1883. James V. Hall may be addressed through the post office at Lone Cedar, Wood county, West Virginia.
William M. HOWELL - son of Pascal W. and Eliza E. (Marpel) Howell, and Elzena Tenant, caughter of Daniel and Martha (Buchanan) Tenant, were united in marriage in Ritchie county, West Virginia, March 22, 1861. Both are natives of what is now West Virginia, his birth having occurred in Barbour county, February 19, 1838, and hers in Monongahela county, March 28, 1844. Their children are eight living and two deceased, who were born: Daniel T., December 4, 1861; Lucy E., May 5, 1863, died August 5, 1865; William T., April 10, 1865, died March 30, 1866; Larkin D., January 29, 1867; John S., May 14, 1869; Marshall W., April 27, 1872; Jasper M., March 1, 1875; Cora A., March 14, 1877; Pascal R., November 20, 1878; Jacob H., September 13, 1880 - all living are in Grant district. William M. Howell enlisted in Company E, 36th Virginia Infantry, Confederate service, in the fall of 1862, and served three years or until the close of the war. In 1880 he became one of the farming residents in Grant district, and his post office address is Murraysville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
John JARRETT, Sr. - became a resident in Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1873, locating upon a fine farm in Grant district, and engaging in agricultural pursuits, largely devoting his time to the successful handling of good stock. He was born in Belmont county, Ohio, December 10, 1818, a son of Isaac and Mary (Alltop) JARRETT. Sarah Buckby, a native of Ireland, born in March, 1818, became his wife in Belmont county, December 7, 1839. Richard and Catharn (McColum) Buckby were her father and mother. The first born of the children of John and Sarah (Buckby) JARRETT, was named James. His birth was on the 28th of January, 1841, and he entered the United States service during the 1861 war, enlisting in Company 1, 179th Ohio Infantry, September 17, 1864. He was taken sick with the measles, and died at Nashville, Tennessee, on the 28th of November following. Their oldest daughter was Hannah, born February 25,1843, married a Mr. Peters, and died April 3, 1881. The living children of Mr. and Mrs. Jarrett are nine: Cyrus, born April 15, 1845; Alfred R., April 14, 1847; John H., May 6, 1849; William, May 6, 1851; Sarah A. (Peters), June 31, 1853; Mary E., (Seaman), February 19, 1855; Catharn (Sefreat), July 3, 1857; Isaiah, March 1, 1860; Emmet E., February 15, 1864. William lives in Wetzel county, this State, Mary E., in Ravenswood district, this county, and the other children in Grant district. John Jarrett's post office address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Dixon R. KING - one of the substantial residents in Grant district, Jackson county, West Virginia, became a resident in this county in 1856. He here owns a farm and is by trade a blacksmith. He is at present in the mercantile business at Belleville, Wood county, West Virginia. He was born in Belmont county, Ohio, November 25, 1833, and was a son of John and Isabell (McHenry) King. His marriage was consummated in Marshall county, West Virginia, August 29, 1857, and his wife, born October 7, 1836, was a daughter of Anthony Logsdon, her name before marriage Susan A. Logsdon. Mr. and Mrs. King are the parents of: William J., born July 5, 1858; Sarah B. (Boso), May 23, 1860; Carrie D. (Lane), October 29, 1861; Lilly M. (Smith), February 29, 1864. Dixon R. King enlisted in the Federal army, Company I, 11th West Virginia Infantry, for three years service. After serving nine days as a private he was commissioned first lieutenant, and six months later was promoted captain. In this rank he served out his term of enlistment. From 1865 to 1877, he filled the office of justice of the peace and he was fifteen years member of the county court. In 1866 he was land appraiser, and in 1876 he received commission as notary public. His post office address is Topins Grove, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Winfield S. KING - born in Monroe County, Ohio, June 29, 1847, was a son of John and Isabell (McHenry) King, who took up their residence in Jackson County in 1856. He grew to manhood in this county, and engaged in the civil strife which was inaugerated in 1861, becoming a member of Company I, 11th Virginia Infantry, November 5, 1861, and serving until honorably discharged in October, 1865. In Jackson County, December 24, 1874, Winfield S. King and Sarah E. Boso were joined in marriage, and their children are four, all living at this time under the parental roof. They were born: Mosel B., September 18, 1875; John N., April 8, 1877; Winfield S. Jr., June 29, 1879; Deborah E., August 23, 1881. John A. and Deborah (Mills) Boso were the parents of the wife of Mr. King, and she was born in this county on the 26th of February, 1857. Winfield S. King owns and carries on a good farm. to which labors he adds the duties of postmaster at Topins Grove, Jackson County, West Virginia.
Jonathan MOORE - son of Josias and Nancy (Sloan) MOORE, is a native of the "Keystone State," born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, April 24, 1831. He was married in Monroe county, Ohio, October 22, 1854, to his present wife, who was Elizabeth Matlack, daughter of Thomas and Lucretia (Mobley) Matlack. She was born while her parents were residents in Monroe county, September 3, 1836. In 1873 they came to Jackson county, West Virginia, and are now residing here. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Moore are ten living and two deceased, born: Lusetta (Wilson), May 18, 1855; Harriet (Habbard), March 7, 1857; Laura E. (Boso), July 15, 1860; Thomas A., July 6, 1862; Wilbert, April 6, 1864, died April 15, 1864; David E., January 24, 1866; Robert L., July 31, 1868; Arminda, December 31, 1870; Samuel W., December 3, 1873; Sarah C., October 24, 1874; George H., Christmas Day, 1876, died September 21, 1875 [sic]; Alexander K., April 26, 1880. Laura E. makes her home in Wood county, and the other living children in Grant district, this county. The first wife of Jonathan MOORE was Rebecca Mercer, born April 3, 1832, and they were married in December, 1850. She died in May, 1854, leaving one son, John W., born January 30, 1852. In 1875, Mr. Moore took up his residence in Jackson county, engaging in farming in Grant district, with his address at Belleville, Wood county, West Virginia.
William NEPTUNE - is one of the farming residents of Ravenswood district, Jackson county, West Virginia, and was born in Maryland, April 3, 1807, settling in this county in 1877. John and Anna (Sigler) NEPTUNE were his parents, and his wife was a daughter of John and Mary (Fogel) Heck. She was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, December 6, 1813, and was named Mary A. Heck. The marriage of William NEPTUNE and Mary A. Heck was consummated in Monroe county, Ohio, June 8, 1832, and the wife died December 1, 1874, having been the mother of thirteen children. They were born, named, and have died or settled in life according to the following record: Emily J. (Moredick), was born February 26, 1833, lives in Lawrence county, Ohio; Anna S. (Moredick), April 29, 1834, died February 29, 1862; John, February 18, 1836, lives in Missouri; Thomas G., January 9, 1838, died in April, 1856; Mary A., December 11, 1840, died June 22, 1862; William H., January 23, 1842, lives in Missouri; Elizabeth G., March 28, 1844, lives in Noble county, Ohio; Sarah, September 21, 1846, lives in Wheeling,. West Virginia; Wesley, October 9, 1848, died October 9, 1850; Alfred O., April 19, 1851, lives in Ravenswood district; Lydia C. (Smith), September 24, 1853, lives in Lawrence county, Ohio; David S., March 29, 1856, lives in this district; Margaret C., May 1, 1859, died February 28, 1869. Those of the family residing at home receive their mail at Wiseburg, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Charles J. RECTOR - born October 20, 1848, in Wirt county, now part of West Virginia, was a son of Steptoe and Elizabeth (Sherman) Rector, who came to Jackson county in 1856. His father was born September 3, 1816, and his mother on the 8th of September, 1833. In Jackson county, October 24, 1869, were spoken the words which united the lives of Charles J. Rector and Nancy Sherman, and in the years that have ensued their children have been born in the following order: Robert B., August 18, 1870; Wallace E., August 6, 1872; Carrie A., February 18, 1875; Olive E., October 15, 1877; Sally P., September 24, 1879; Fannie Alta, August 13, 1882. Abel and Priscilla (Anderson) Sherman are the parents of the wife of Mr. Rector, and her birth was in Jackson county, the date March 20, 1852. Abel Sherman was born March 11, 1824, and Priscilla (Anderson) Sherman, born June 20, 1832. Charles J. Rector owns and carries on a good farm in Grant district, and receives his mail at Sherman, Jackson county , West Virginia.
Leavin L. RECTOR - son of Charles and Sally (Rust) Rector, was born in Fauquier county, Virginia, October 20, 1814, and has been a resident in Jackson county, West Virginia, since 1858. His marriage was consummated in Wirt county, this State, May 5, 1847, and his wife is Sarah B., daughter of Isaac B. and Nancy (DeWitt) Sherman. She was born in Jackson county, in which county her parents settled in 1827, and the date of her birth was August 25, 1831. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Rector are nine living and one deceased. These children were born: William L., March 16, 1848; Catholeen (Robey), March 17, 1850; Mary (Cooper), February 3, 1852; Harriet, February16, 1854; Henry L., August 18, 1856; Susan E., December 23, 1859; Virginia D., March 20, 1861; Kate E., March 18, 1864; John C., June 27, 1867, died November 2, 1868; Blanche, February 19, 1870 - all the living children reside in this district. Grant district has been the home of the married life of Mr. and Mrs. Rector, and his occupation is farming, his post office address is Sherman, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Elihu J. ROBINSON - is a farmer and a justice of the peace in Grant district, Jackson county, West Virginia. He became a resident in this county in 1878, and so far gained the esteem of the people among whom he cast his lot that in 1880 he was elected to the official position he now holds, for the term of four years. He was born in Nobel county, Ohio, October 5, 1850, a son of William and Jane (Morris) Robinson. In the county and State of his birth, December 10, 1873, Nancy D. Devol became his wife. She was born in Noble county, Ohio, September 13, 1850, and her parents, long well-known and highly esteemed residents in that county, were Levi and Elizabeth (Young) Devol. One son and one daughter have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Robinson: Nellie M., May 18, 1876, and Frank M., June 10,1879. Elihu J. Robinson's post office address is Lockhart, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Patrick H. SLAVEN - was born October 29, 1856, when Jackson county, in which his birth occurred, was a part of Old Virginia. He is a son of John W. and Mary (Cline) Slaven, who cast their fortunes in with the people of Jackson county in 1845. In Monroe county, Ohio, July 7, 1860, was born Addie, daughter of Benjamin F. and Mary (Boothe) Johnson. With her parents she came to Jackson county in 1872, and in this county, at Ravenswood, on the 14th of June, 1882, were spoken the words which linked her life with that of Patrick H. Slaven. Although giving some of his time to the pursuits of an agricultural life, Mr. Slaven is devoted to the work of his profession, which is teaching. He entered upon the duties of an instructor in 1874, and since that time has taught eight terms, with five No. 1 certificates. His wife, who began teaching in 1878, has taught four terms, receiving four No. 1 certificates. Patrick H. Slaven may be addressed at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William W. SLAVEN - is a native of Virginia, born in Pocahontas county, March 29, 1829. William and Margaret (Woodell) Slaven, his parents, came with him to Jackson county in 1845. His father is now one of the oldest men in the county, his birth having occurred July 1, 1798. At Ravenswood, in this county, on the 24th of November, 1853, WIlliam W. Slaven became the husband of Fidelia Warth. Their four children were born: Laura E. (Kager), November 5, 1854; Mary A. (McCown), March 7, 1857; Charles S., September 24, 1860; Frances L. (McCown), May 22, 1863. The only son died November 17, 1877, the oldest daughter lives in Roane county, this State, and the other two daughters in homes of their own in this district. Fidelia, wife of Mr. Slaven, was born in Meigs county, Ohio, November 22, 1831. Her father, Robert Warth, was born October 30, 1800, and her mother, whose maiden name was Mary O. Johnson, was born July 11, 1810. Farming is the occupation of William W. Slaven, Grant district his place of residence, and his post office address is Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Noah STAATS - was born October 23, 1804, in what is now Wood county, West Virginia. He was a son of Elijah and Margaret (Atkier) STAATS, long since deceased. In 1810, bringing their six-year old son with them, Elijah and Margaret (Atkier) STAATS became residents in Jackson county, then a part of Virginia. Here the subject of this sketch has passed the larger part of his life, and in Grant district, where he engaged in farming for many years, he is spending the last days of his life. His marriage was consummated in Meigs county, Ohio, Harriet Bradfield becoming his wife there, on the 10th of May, 1832. She was a daughter of Zachariah and Mary (Wells) Bradfield, and was born in Hardy county, now in West Virginia, the date of her birth, April 1, 1809. For two years, 1863-5, Noah STAATS filled the office of justice of the peace in his township. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Staats have the following record: Henrietta (Rardon), born March 13, 1833, and Mary A. E. (Morehouse), born August 16, 1835, live in Grant district; Margaret (Lobdill) , born May 19, 1837, died January 19, 1875; Rowena (Rardon), born June 19, 1839, and Eliza (Smith), born February 25, 1841, live in this district; Sarah A. (Woods), born August 7, 1842, and Rebecca C. (Lee), born August 21, 1844, live in Ravenswood district, this county; Joseph Y., born April 26, 1847, lives in this district; Charles W., born May 4, 1849, lives in Illinois; Harriet M. (Buckley), born August 5, 1853, lives in Grant district. Those of the family living on the homestead receive their mail at Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Joseph SAFREED - was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, January 7, 1820, and came to Jackson county in 1845, with his parents, John L. and Elizabeth (Henicks) Safreed. September 16, 1847, he married Margaret Derenburger, who was born in 1831, and died November 4, 1875. Their children were eleven: Joshua, born May 30, 1849, died April 17, 1879; Hannah, born May 7, 1851; Nathan, deceased; Mary, born January 7, 1850, deceased; William T., July 15, 1857; George W., Christmas Day, 1859; Samuel F., June 4, 1863; Newman, June 3, 1865, died June 9, 1866; Virena B., April 28, 1867; Cornelia V., May 29, 1870; Margaret C., November 21, 1873, died January 14, 1874. At Hockingport, Athens county, Ohio, May 16, 1878, Joseph Safreed was united in marriage with Hannah J. WIlliams, and they have one son, Charles L., born April 11, 1879. Hannah J. Williams was born in Guernsey county, Ohio, October 15, 1842, a daughter of Thomas L. and Catherine (Carpenter) Williams. The occupation of Joseph Safreed is farming his land lying in Grant district, and his post office address being Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia.
George STEELE - was born September 1, 1829, in Wood county, then part of Old Virginia. Jackson county was then a part of Virginia also, as it was in 1852, when George STEELE settled here. In this county, February 15, 1852, he married Amy Lockhart, who was born in Jackson county on the 6th of June, 1834. They have eight children, who were born: Sarah F., June 2, 1853; James H., March 29, 1856, died October 15, 1873; Walter S., August 4, 1858; David B., February 26, 1862, died March 6, 1866; Julia V., September 4, 1865; Dora M., January 20, 1868; Samuel S., April 26, 1872; Calvin L., May 27, 1874. Walter S. has made a home for himself in this district, and the other living children are with their parents. George STEELE was a Union soldier, war of 1861, entering Company I, 11th West Virginia Infantry, in 1862, and serving until the close of the war. In September, 1864, at the battle of Winchester, he was wounded in the right arm, shattering the bone. He is now drawing a pension of $12.00 per month. James and Catherine (Blosser) STEELE were the parents of George STEELE, and his wife was a daughter of Isaac and Sarah (Shepherd) Lockhart, who settled in Jackson county in 1826. The post office address of George STEELE is Wiseburg, Jackson county, West Virginia, and his occupation is farming.
Rev. Jabez SWIGER - son of Jesse and Cassandra (Brown) SWIGER, was born March 8, 1828, in Harrison, now one of the counties of West Virginia. In the same county, on New Years Day, 1829, was born Abigail J. Harbert, daughter of Samuel and Nancy (Rittenhouse) Harbert. The marriage rite joined in one, the lives of Jabez SWIGER and Abigail J. Harbert, on the 9th of November, 1848, this event occurring in the county in which both were born. Joy and sorrow have visited their home in the birth of seven children and the death of three of them. The deceased children were: Sarah A., Hattie A. (Boso), and Martha M. Of the living children, three: Irvin A., Samantha C. (Orum), and Alice L. (Petty) are happily established in homes of their own in this county, and the remaining child, Jennie H., is living at home. With his grandparents also lives Charles W. Boso, son of their deceased daughter Hattie A. Rev. Jabez SWIGER has made his home in Jackson county since 1864, and is here engaged in the work of the ministry and in the cultivation of the homestead on which, with his little family, he is settled in Grant district. He receives his mail at Muses Bottom, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Brice S. VANHORN - born in Baltimore, Maryland, December 28, 1830, came to Jackson county when he was four years of age. His parents were Samuel and Maria L. (Messer) Vanhorn. The former died when Brice S. was but seven months old. Mrs. Vanhorn married Miles Jacoby and settled in this district in 1834 on a tract of land containing 2,019 acres, known as the Isburn Survey. Mrs. Jacoby died in August, 1880, Mr. Jacoby is now living in Bellville, Wood county, West Virginia, where Mrs. Jacoby died. Brice S. Vanhorn's wedded life began January 2, 1851, when Sarah J. Mills became his wife in Wood county, this State. They were married by Rev. Rathborn, preacher in charge of Methodist Episcopal Church (South). She was born in Belmont county, Ohio, January 2, 1828, a daughter of William and Martha E. (Brooks) Mills. The first-born child of Mr. and Mrs. Brice S. Vanhorn, was Louisa F., whose married name is Karr, and who makes her home in this county at Jackson Court-house. They are also parents of four younger daughters, and two sons, namely: Amanda E., (Black), deceased; Martha E., Maria C., Sarah C., deceased; Preston B., and Charles N. The labors of farming occupy the time of Brice S. Vanhorn. He is a blacksmith by trade, and he has served Grant district nine years as constable, and two years as overseer of the poor. He may be addressed at Topins Grove, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William WATKINS - born in Belmont county, Ohio, January 18, 1822, and Mary J. King, born in the same State and county, September 25, 1828, were united in marriage in Monroe county, Ohio, October 30, 1845, and took up their residence in Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1867. Their children have the following record: William T. was born September 7, 1846, died September 7, 1861; Harriet J. (Hale), January 7, 1851, lives in Grant district; Sarah E., August 3, 1854, died September 2, 1861; Margaret R., October, 1856, died September 8, 1861; Mary R. (Burditt), October 13, 1858, lives in this district; Martha T. (Deem), March 6, 1862; John H., December 15, 1866; Flynn D., January 2, 1875 - these three living in this district. Thomas and Harriet (Heed) WATKINS were the parents of William, and his wife was a daughter of John and Isabell (McHenry) King, who became residents in Jackson county in 1855. William WATKINS enlisted in Company C, 92nd Ohio Infantry, in July, 1862, and served until discharged at the close of the war, in 1865. He was a participant in the battles of: Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Buzzards Roost, Kenesaw Mountain, Marietta, Chattahoochie, Peach Tree Creek, Resacca, Bentonville, and in all the battles and marches of Sherman's campaign to the sea. He is by trade a stone mason and is also occupied in agricultural pursuits in Grant district,. His address is Topins Grove, Jackson county, West Virginia.
George W. WISE - was born March 12, 1841, in Marshall county, now in West Virginia. His parents were Isaac and Elizabeth (McCullough) Wise. In 1855, bringing him with them, they took up their residence in Jackson county. During the war between the States, George W. Wise entered the service of the Confederacy, enlisting in August, 1862, in Company C, 19th Virginia Cavalry, and serving until January, 1864. The first wife of George W. Wise was Mary E., daughter of Isaac and Mary Ann (Buckley) Cross. She was born August 12, 1846, married August 20, 1865, and died January 6, 1877. The children of her marriage with Mr. Wise were three: Annie E., born September 30, 1866; Solomon F., October 23, 1870; Mary J. C., July 23, 1873 - all are living with their father. Elizabeth Jackman, born in Carroll county, Ohio, September 9, 1834, became the wife of George W. Wise, in Wood county, West Virginia, September 28, 1878. Her parents were John and Nancy (McConnell) Jackman. Mr. Wise, with his children, makes his home in Grant district, where he is actively engaged in the duties of farming, the conduct of a saw-mill and of a blacksmithing establishment. Belleville, Wood county, West Virginia, is his post office address.
JACOB LORENTZ ARMSTRONG -son of John J. P. and Margaret (Jones) Armstrong, was born near Weston Lewis county, Virginia (now West Virginia), July 24, 1827. In 1844 he accompanied his parents who in that year took up their residence in Jackson county, and in this county he has ever since made his home, serving the public in many important and responsible positions. His parents have been some years dead. In Ripley, this county July 24' 1851, Rev. D. G. Morrill officiating clergyman Jacob L. Armstrong and Eliza Jane Ayres were united in marriage. She was a daughter of William G. and Mary F. (Hamilton) Ayres, and was born at Warm Springs, Bath county, Virginia, January 29, 1834. Her father came to Jackson county in 1848, her mother having died some time before. Mr. and Mrs. Armstrong are the parents of six children, four living with them and two deceased. These children were born: Holly Grigsby, May 12, 1852; Laura Virginia, October 12, 1854; Magpie Merceline, June 18, 1856, died June 8, 1857; Otmer Fleet, May 11, 1858, died July 16, 1869; William Lee, December 9, 1861; Jacob Vaught, February 2, 1870. During the war between the States, Mr. Armstrong had two brothers in the Confederate service, Lenox C., who was a captain, and died in the army, and Mathias B., who held commission as first lieutenant. In addition to his mercantile business, Jacob L. Armstrong has held public office in Jackson county as follows: Deputy sheriff, 1848-9; justice, 1850; deputy clerk, 1858-9-60; clerk circuit court 1863-4, and 1870-1; clerk county court for the last ten years, and still serving in that capacity. From 1875-82, he was a member of the board of directors of the West Virginia Hospital for the insane, and from 1875-83 was president of the board of education. At present he is a member of the board of regents of the West Virginia State University. Address Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
BUENOS AYRES - an attorney-at- law and justice of the peace in Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginia, became a resident in this county in 1859 in which year his parents, Jeremiah and Eleanor M. (Campell) Ayres, came to Jackson county. His birth was in Ritchie county, then part of Virginia, and the date was April 30, 1848. In Roane county West Virginia, June 18, 1874, Buenos Ayres became the husband of Minerva J. Chancey, and the children born of their wedlock are three, all living with them. A. J., the oldest, was born July 14, 1875; Minnie L., December 10, 1876; Nora F., September 18, 1881. Minerva J., wife of Mr. Ayres, was born in Roane county, June 15, 1851, a daughter of Andrew B. and Mary (Stew art) Chancey. During the war between the States, one brother of Mr. Ayres served the cause of the Confederacy as a member of the 17th Virginia Cavalry. Among the public offices filled by Buenos Ayres at the solicitation of his fellow-citizens may be mentioned that of county superintendent of the free schools, which he satisfactorily filled from 1875 to 1877; and member of the board of education, 1877-79 -these offices held in Roane county, this State, during his residence there. Since practicing in Jackson county, he has been elected justice of the peace, also commissioner of circuit court, entering on the duties of this office January 1, 1881. His postoffice address is Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
BENJAMIN FRANKLIN CASTO - a farmer of Ripley district, and one of its most substantial residents, was born in this district, Decembr 23, 1830. His wedded life began in this county, Mary Matilda Craig becoming his wife at Ripley, June 9, 1860. In their home are eight children, and death has taken from them two. Holly was born December 23, 1862; John Charles, March 22, 1864; Fred S., 1866; Frank Hereford, 1868; Georgia, 1870; Mary Louisa, 1872; Bessie Lee, 1879; Adda, 1880. The deceased cildren are: Otmer, born in. March, 1861, died in May, 1863; Ella, died in infancy, in 1874. The birth of Mrs. Casto was in Ripley district, in 1840, and her parents were Christopher and Mary Matilda (Bonnett) Craig. Jonathan and Magdalene (Weatherholt) Casto, parents of Benjamin F., settled in Jackson county about 1816. The Bonnetts and Castos were among the earliest and most eminent families of the pioneer settlers of this county. Jonathan Casto was a soldier of the 1812 war, and his widow, still living in this county at the age of 88 years, is drawing a pension for his services in that war. Isaac J., brother of Benjamin F., was a Confederate soldier, war of 1861, and was wounded in the battle of Lewisburg in 1862, and honorably discharged. He was also a participant in the battle at Cross Lane, Virginia. Benjamin F. Casto has given his service to the district and county in which he lives in the following official capacities: Constable of Ripley district eight years, 1856-62; magistrate, 1862-4; member of the board of education, two years. His address is Fair Plain, Jackson county, West Virginia.
HENRY F. CHASE - son of John H. and Malinda (Kay) Chase, was born in Jackson county, April 15, 1836. His father, who was a native of New York, is now deceased, and his mother is still living in this county. Nancy N. Windon, born in Mason county, this State, in the county of her nativity became the wife of Henry F. Chase, their marriage, consummated November 22, 1865, resulting in the birth of four children namely: John J., born November 9, 1868; James S., May 24, 1873; Susan, November 10, 1876; Linnie B., November 23, 1878. Susan died September 22, 1878, and the other three are living with their parents. Joseph B. and Susan (Mitchell) Windon, the parents of Mrs. Chase, reside in Mason county, West Virginia. Her mother was born in that county, but the birth of her father was in Virginia. During the struggle between the States inaugurated in 1861, Henry F. Chase was a soldier of the Confederate army, serving in the 22d Virginia Infantry. His brother Benjamin, serving in the same army, was killed in action at Lewisburg, Virginia. Henry F. Chase is the owner of the grist mill known as the Chase & Windon Mill, a mill doing good business, and run by steam and water Fower. He also owns and carries on a me farm of 89 acres, and by industry, energy and ability commands all the business to which he can attend. He may be addressed at Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Benton B. ENOCH, M. D. - a druggist of Ripley and a physician of the allopathic school, has been settled among the people of this district since 1879. He was born in Wirt county, West Virginia, August 5, 1857, a son of John T. Enoch, who still lives in Wirt county, and Mary (Stanley) Enoch, who died in New York. Martin and James Enoch, soldiers from Wirt county in the war of 1861, were uncles of Benton B. Enoch, and his grandfather was a prominent man in public affairs in his day, holding many offices of trust, whose duties he discharged to the interest of the county. Elijah B. and Betsey A. (Dilworth) Wright were the parents of Celestine, who became the wife of Dr. Enoch in Jackson county, on the 14th of August, 1879. The Rev. Mr. Locke, of the Methodist Episcopal Church (South), united them in marriage, and they have one son, Earl, born September 8, 1880. Celestine Wright was born in this county, and her father still makes his home here; her mother is no longer living. Dr. Benton B. Enoch's address is Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Henry Camden FLESHER - son of John and Minerva (Camden) FLESHER, was born in 1835, in Weston, Lewis county, Virginia (now West Virginia). Henry C. Flesher and his two brothers, Robert P. and William H., were soldiers of the Federal army during the war of the States. The subject of this sketch was major of the 5th West Virginia Cavalry, Robert P. served in the 1st West Virginia Cavalry, and William H. in the 2nd Cavalry, same State. The last-named had his leg crushed in a cavalry charge at Paintsville, Kentucky. Ephraim S. and Ruami (Wright) Evans are the parents of Miriam F., wife of Henry C. Flesher, and she was born in this county, in 1835, and married at her father's residence, September 9, 1869. The three children of Mr. and Mrs. Flesher are Paul, Pearl and Pauline, born September 16, 1870, May 9, 1873, and January 25, 1879, in the order named. Henry Camden FLESHER is one of the ablest men of his profession, attorney-at-law, in Jackson county, with his residence at Ripley, and post office address at Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Robert B. GRAHAM - was born in Ripley district, Jackson county, April 25, 1844, a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Reader) Graham. His mother is now making her home in Tygart district, Wood county, West Virginia, and his father is deceased. His father was born in County Monahan, Ireland, and after coming to America followed his trade of brick-making for some time at Wheeling, West Virginia. He was one of the earliest pioneers of Jackson county, and universally respected here. He served in the war of 1812, and was in the fellowship of the Methodist Episcopal Church from 1833 until 1873, when he joined the Missionary Baptists. He died in July, 1878, at the age of 96 years, 6 months and 24 days. Margaret, daughter of John and Jane (Brisen) McGinty, was born in Middleport, Meigs county, Ohio, in June, 1854. Her mother died in Middleport, after which her father came to Jackson county. In this county, and in Ripley district, November 9, 1875, the Rev. Mr. Brisco united in marriage Robert B. Graham and Margaret McGinty, and their children are four, born: Francis I., September 10, 1876; Elizabeth, May 18, 1878; Ellen, September 8, 1879; Amber, September 10, 1881. William and James Graham, brothers of Robert B., were Federal soldiers during the 1861 war. William served in the 1st Virginia Cavalry, and gave his life in the service; James was a member of the 11th Virginia Infantry. Robert B. Graham held the office of constable in Tygart district, Wood county, West Virginia, at different times, about twelve years in all, and was at one time employed in the detective service. He is now conducting one of the best appointed stores of general merchandise to be found in Jackson county, and is yearly handling a large and increasing business. A man of integrity and energy, his trade is built up on a solid basis, and he will add to his present competence as the years go by. His store and residence are in Ripley, address Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
William T. GREER - son of William and Martha J. (Monroe) Greer, who are now deceased, was born in Jackson county, in 1837. He married Mary V. Bennett, who was a native of Maryland, a daughter of George and Anna R. (Richardson) Bennett. Her mother now makes her home with her, and her father is no longer living. In Jackson county, April 9, 1869, Rev. W. S. May, of the Methodist Episcopal Church (South), united in marriage William T. Greer and Mary V. Bennett, and their union is blessed with four children: Henry G., William H., Wilmer Curtis, and Gordon B. Mr. Greer, the subject of this sketch, is the leading merchant of Ripley, his place of business is the only brick block in the city, which is a credit to the county seat. He has served Jackson county one term by filling the office of sheriff. The firm of Greer & Armstrong, in which he is a partner, is dealing in general merchandise, principally dry goods. Address, Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Ferdinand R. HASSLER - was born in the city of New York, June 5, 1838, and came to Jackson county in 1848, with his parents, John J. S. and Clarissa J. (Conrad) Hassler. His father was born in Switzerland, in 1799, and died June 28, 1858, at Norfolk, Virginia. His mother was born in New York, February 1, 1818, and died March 9, 1850, at Jackson C.H. Emma G., daughter of William Cromley, was born in Gallipolis, Gallia county, Ohio, and became the wife of Ferdinand R. Hassler in Jackson county, at Ripley. They have two little ones: Estelle, born March 17, 1872, and Ferdinand R., born May 28, 1873. When the war between the States was inaugurated, Ferdinand R. Hassler was an officer in the United States Coast Survey, and was surveying the southern half of Roanoke Island. He was made prisoner and all the government property except the charts, which had been forwarded to New York, was taken possession of by the Confederate authorities. Sent after a few days to Norfolk, Mr. Hassler obtained a pass which took him through the Confederate lines, via Petersburg and Richmond to Alexandria, which he reached a few days before it was occupied by the Federal troops. He received an appointment in the 15th New York Volunteer Engineers, as a second lieutenant, and with his regiment shared the fortunes of the army of the Potomac until the battle of Fredericksburg, being meantime promoted to first lieutenant. Ordered to the department of the Gulf, he was promoted captain of the 4th New York Heavy Artillery, and joined his company, then at Washington. He was several months later commissioned major of the 13th New York Heavy Artillery Volunteers, and spent a portion of his time with the regiment, the remainder as inspector-general and engineer officer on the staff of Gen. Graham, then stationed on the Bermuda Hundred front. Ordered to report in person at the headquarters of Grant, he reported on the evening preceding the battle of Five Forks, and was assigned to engineer duty on the staff of Major-Gen. Barnard, where he continued until the close of the war, being present at the McLean House when the articles of capitulation were signed. Since that time he has received brevet rank as lieutenant-colonel and as colonel from the State of New York and from the general government, for gallant and meritorious services during the war. Col. Hassler has been a member of the State legislature for two sessions, elected in 1869 and re-elected in 1870. He was deputy county surveyor for nearly two years and census-taker in 1870. From the fall of 1858 until the war, he was an officer in the United States Coast Survey, and he was one of the West Virginia electors at the election of R.B. Hayes to the presidency. He is the present sheriff of Jackson county, West Virginia, with headquarters at Jackson C.H.
William T. HUTCHISON, M.D. - was born in Monongalia county, Virginia, December 14, 1843, a son of Joshua W. and Lucy Ellen (Browner) Hutchison, who in 1874 took up their residence in Jackson county. In the summer of 1863 he enlisted in Company B, 4th West Virginia Cavalry, and served eight months. In March, 1865, he again enlisted, this time in Company G, 186th Ohio Infantry and served till the close of the war. In Monroe county, Ohio, May 21, 1874, Dr. Hutchison was united in marriage with Chloe T., daughter of William and Margaret (Delancy) Danford. She was born in Monroe county, Ohio, the date of her birth, July 19, 1851. The two sons of Dr. and Mrs. Hutchison were born: Harry P., June 19, 1875; William H., January 5, 1882. William T. Hutchison read for his profession with Dr. R. B. Taylor, of Noble county Ohio, attended lectures at the Starling Medical College, 1870-1, and has been practicing since 1873 in Ripley and the adjoining country. His post office address is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
David Franklin HYRE - was born July 31, 1849, in Jackson county, in the house where his mother now lives. He is a son of pioneer settlers in this county, his father, Jonathan HYRE, born in Upshur county, Virginia, March 17, 1812, coming to Jackson county with his parents when but three years old, and his mother, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Wright, having spent her life in this county, where she was born, at Cottageville, March 21, 1822. The HYRE family were of German blood, and Jacob HYRE, father of Jonathan, was born January 10, 1784, his parents coming from Germany to America. Daniel and Sarah (Woodruff) Wright, parents of Elizabeth (Wright) HYRE, were of English descent. The brother and sisters of David F. Hyre were: Amanda V., born June 22, 1839; Augustus, born January 6, 1841, served in the civil war, and died at Princeton, Mercer county, West Virginia, December 10, 1861, of typhoid fever; Mary E., October 23, 1842; Sarah R., July 23, 1845. In Jackson county, West Virginia, December 22, 1874, the Rev. Brisco of the Methodist Episcopal Church (South), officiating, the marriage of David F. Hyre and Sarah A. Roush was celebrated. Their daughter, Lelia A., was born September 4, 1876, and their son, George J., was born September 7, 1880. Sarah A. Roush was born in the adjoining county, Mason, March 1, 1847, a daughter of George and Elizabeth (Fife) Roush. Her father , born December 10, 1810, died April 9, 1873, and her mother, born December 18, 1804, died April 24, 1873. Mr. Hyre and his wife have been members of the Methodist Church (South), he joining at the age of seventeen, and she for the last five years. Mr. Hyre has a farm on Mill creek consisting of 431 acres, of which 160 acres are cleared, and the rest in fine timber. His address is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
David KARR - was born October 16, 1845, in Wheeling, Ohio county, then part of Virginia. In 1866 he cast his fortunes in with the people of Jackson county, and on the 1st of April, 1869, he was here united in marriage with Louisa Frances Vanhorn. He is ably conducting a newspaper published in Ripley, and in the home established by his marriage are six children, born: Anna Ellen, March 4, 1870; Sallie Isabell, May 11, 1872; Louisa C., June, 1874; Marietta C., July 28, 1876; William R., December 18, 1878; Charles E.V., October 26, 1882. Brice Selby Vanhorn who came to Jackson county in 1832, and Sarah Vanhorn, born in this county, are the parents of Louisa F., wife of Mr. Karr, and she was born in this county, August 14, 1851. Henry and Anna (Fulton) KARR, the father and mother of David, made their home in Jackson county in 1871. David KARR was justice of the peace in 1876, serving four years. His post office address is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
W.W. KIDD, M.D. - is a son of A. W. Kidd, M.D., and is extensively engaged in the practice of medicine among the people of Ripley and the country roundabout. They came from Ohio, where the subject of this sketch was born. At Ripley, Jackson county, June 29, 1879, the Rev. Mr. Kendall, of the Methodist Episcopal Church (South), solemnized the marriage of W.W. Kidd and Margaret E. Vail, and the only child of their union, Hallie, was born May 24, 1882. The birth of Mrs. Kidd was in this county, the date January 7, 1858. The post office address of Dr. Kidd is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
George S. M. KING - was born in Jackson county, April 21, 1836, a son of Samuel and Mary C. (Riley) King, who came to reside in this county about 1822. His father was born February 14, 1809, and his mother was born 1808, and died August 2, 1851, having been the mother of seven children. Samuel King again married and two children were born of this union with his second wife, who was Nancy Given, born December 16, 1817. George S. M. King wedded Caroline A. Staats in Jackson county, on the 29th of April, 1860, and in the home their marriage established are seven children, while death has taken three from them. The children were born: Rufina M., August 13, 1864; Samuel A., August 15, 1866; Don E., July 15, 1868; Mary H., July 7, 1870; Walter H., December 4, 1872; Nancy M., November 25, 1874; Webster Y., May 3, 1877, died September 9, 1878; Claude H., April 13, 1879. Two died in infancy. Elijah and Ann (Evans) Staats were the parents of Mrs. King, and they were well-known and esteemed residents in this, the county of her nativity, where both are now deceased. The date of her birth was October 3, 1838. From January, 1864, until November, 1868, George S. M. King was sheriff of Jackson county, and he has been a justice of the peace in Ripley district. His parents, as well as the second wife of his father, were consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in that church both George S. M. King and his wife find their spiritual home. They are endeavoring to bring up their children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. Farming is the occupation of Mr. King, stock-raising largely engaging his attention. His address is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Edward MAGUIRE - is a native of Ireland, born in County Farmanaugh in 1822, who became a resident in Jackson county, West Virginia, in the year 1851. He has been twice wedded, and his family record is: In Steubenville, Ohio, in 1849, the Rev. Mr. Moses, of the Episcopal Church, joined in wedlock Edward MAGUIRE and Elizabeth Thompson, and their children were: Jane, born April 24, 1852; John W., November 12, 1853; Elizabeth, December 22, 1854, died October 5, 1855. Elizabeth, wife of Edward MAGUIRE, was born in County Londonderry, Ireland, and she died at her husband's home in Jackson county, June 30, 1857. The second wife of Mr. Maguire was Mary Ann, daughter of George and Ann Conley. The children of this second marriage were: Samuel H., born March 15, 1859; Robert G., May 13, 1860; Mary E., November 1, 1861, died July 31, 1862; Mary M., September 5, 1863; Alice, May 12, 1865, died August 15, 1865; Ella G., August 17, 1873; Edgar S., October 1, 1876. The mother of these children died on the 13th of July, 1879. Samuel MAGUIRE married Lillie, daughter of Nathan and Minerva Parr. They were married November 9, 1880, and have one child, Felix, born August 14, 1881. John MAGUIRE married Etta Noble. Edward MAGUIRE is the owner of perhaps the finest farm in Jackson county, consisting of 170 acres of land, he came to the county with but little capital, but by hard work and honest dealing, has acquired a large business, and a competence. In addition to his farm is his mercantile business, and he is the genial proprietor of the best hotel in Ripley. Address, Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Robert MATE - was born in the north of England, January 14, 1821, a son of James and Mary (Pierson) MATE. His father died in England, and his mother accompanied him to America, and died in Ripley district, Jackson county, West Virginia, April 4, 1870. In New York State, July 4, 1850, Robert MATE and Eliza Harker were joined in wedlock, according to the form of the Episcopalian service, and they came at once to make their home in this county, settling here July 22, 1850. The wife was also a native of the north of England, born February 7, 1832, a daughter of William and Eliza (Pierson) Harker. Her father is now deceased, and her mother is living in St. Louis, Missiouri. Mr. and Mrs. Mate are members of the Episcopal Church at Jackson C.H. He is by trade a blacksmith and is in this business largely employed, as he has followed his trade ever since coming to the county, and given universal satisfaction. His address is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
C. H. PROGLER - has put in operation in Ripley a factory for the manufacture of buggies, wagons, spokes, hubs and bent felloes. He is one of the most enterprising of the business men of Jackson county, and was one of the founders of the first woolen mill built in the county, which is still running and creating business for the community. In his present enterprise he is sure of the success born of ability and energy. He was born in Switzerland, September 30, 1829. His father, John R., died in Switzerland in 1835. C. H. Progler came to New York with his mother, Marie Louise (Aubert) Progler, in 1837. They came together to this county in 1848. His mother died in Ravenswood in 1879. In 1860, C. H. Progler was united in marriage with Elizabeth J. Smith, daughter of Nehemiah and Rachel (Wetzel) Smith, who were among the first settlers of Ripley. To Mr. Progler and wife were born six children: Mary L., Julia C., John R., Henry S., living at home. Their first child was still-born, and the third, Susan M., died when seven months old. C. H. Progler's post office address is Jackson C. H., Jackson county, West Virginiania.
Rev. John Corteous RICHARDSON - born in Spottsylvania county, Virginia, August 10, 1826, was married at Warm Springs, Bath county, Virginia, December 25, 1846. The wife whom he chose was Lois Wright, born in County Kent, England, November 25, 1824, who came to America in her infancy. Her parents were William and Anna (Knowlden) Wright. Mr. Richardson's parents were John M. and Virginia A. (Underwood) RICHARDSON. His mother was a cousin to J. C. Underwood, who presided over the constitutional convention of Virginia in 1866. The children of Rev. J. C. Richardson and wife have the following record: John C., born March 30, 1849, resides in Jackson county; William A., July 22, 1851, deceased; James J., November 10, 1853, deceased; Anna F., December 30, 1855, lives in this county; Sarah E., March 8, 1858, lives at home; Alexander S., September 21, 1860, and Mary S., July 29, 1863, died in infancy. Mr. Richardson entered the service of the Confederacy during the war between the States as chaplain of Company I, 58th Virginia Infantry, but afterward served as lieutenant of the company, and was at the same time a medical attache of the hospital. He became a minister of the Baptist Church in 1854, and for fourteen years preached for Neriah Baptist Church, 1855-1869. He also served as a missionary in the Shenandoah Valley, under the Richmond Board of Missions, and for the last eleven years he has been settled in a pastorate with the people of Ripley district, with his post office address at Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
William W. RILEY - clerk of the circuit court of Jackson county was born in this county, January 19, 1846. He had fair advantages, so far as common school education is concerned, and cherishes the memory of such teachers as Louis Curtis, M. J. Kester, B. D. Williams, H. P. Halbert, Hiram Thomas, Reason Smitherman, M. V. Bowles, Geo. S. M. King, G. D. W. and Jno. H. Riley, James Taylor, Henry Brown, and John Brannon. He attended Marshall College, one of the State normal schools, two years, and was a short time in the State University at Morgantown. He taught school two years. At Ripley, in this county, January 17, 1875, the Rev. Warwick Brisco, of the Methodist Episcopal Church (South), joined in wedlock the hands and lives of William W. Riley and Laura V. Armstrong. The children of their marriage are two living and two deceased, born: Otmer Adelbert, October 24, 1876; Edwin Claude, January 21, 1878, died March 23, 1878; Jacob Robert, May 19, 1880, died June 7, 1880; Winifred Wirt, September 30, 1881. Robert R. and Elizabeth (Cleek) Riley are the parents of William W, and his wife is a daughter of Jacob L. and Eliza J. (Ayres) Armstrong. Her parents became residents in Jackson county in 1844, and the father of Mr. Riley came to the county about 1835, his mother some years before. March 31, 1864, William W. Riley enlisted as a private in Company E, 7th West Virginia Cavalry, and under Gen. Crook fought at Princeton, Cloyd Mountain, Dublin, Newbern, and New River Bridge; then with Gens. Crook and Averill at Lexington, Liberty, New London, Buckhannon, and Lynchburg on the Hunter raid. After that he did scouting duty on the Ohio, from the falls of the Kanawha to the Kentucky line until discharged in August, 1865. James D. W. and Millard F., brothers of William W. Riley, were in the Federal army, both returned home, the former, after serving one term as clerk of the circuit court, dying June 12, 1871. William W. Riley began the study of law in August, 1871, was admitted to the bar March 17, 1873, appointed commissioner of circuit court, March 23, 1874, acting till March, 1881. He was commissioner of county court, 1875-82, and in October, 1878, was elected clerk of the circuit court for the term of six years. In 1874 he was elected a member of the town council of Ripley, and in 1875, '78-9-80, was treasurer of that town; in 1881-2 he was town recorder. He entered upon the duties of his present office January 1, 1879, his term expiring with the close of the year 1884. His headquarters and address are Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Rev. James Grafton RIPLEY - born in Rockbridge county, Virginia, December 24, 1823, was a son of John and Nancy T. Ripley, whose earthly pilgrimages ended in Tennessee some years ago. In Botetourt county, Virginia, were spoken the words joining the lives of James G. Ripley and Sarah J. McClure in matrimonial bands, and in the ensuing years, the birth of four children blessed their union. Mary Margaret, the eldest was born January 16, 1846; Nancy J., January 16, 1848; Jacob A., April 18, 1850; Charlotte Virginia, July 31, 1852. The three eldest live in this district, and the son is engaged in trade as a harness maker; the youngest daughter makes her home in Mason county, this State. Sarah J., wife of Mr. Ripley, was a daughter of Michael and Nancy J. (Davison) McClure, who passed their lives in Botetourt county, and are there deceased. Her father was a veteran of the 1812 war. Jacob A. Ripley married Millie E., daughter of Jackson Hall, November 30, 1873, and their children are: Cloe T., born November 26, 1874; Jesse E., August 23, 1876; Owens D., March 31, 1878; Sarah S., September, 1879; Ledora, May 5, 1881. James G. Ripley has been over thirty years engaged in the preaching of the Gospel according to the tenets of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was ordained in 1869 at Clarksburg, by Bishop Ames and was ordained an elder by Bishop Jesse T. Peck, at Huntington, West Virginia, October 17, 1880. He began his labors among the people of Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1878.
David Little SAYRE - born in Ripley district, Jackson county, April 12, 1840, is descended from two of the best known of the pioneer families of this vicinity. Joel and Amelia (Rice) SAYRE were his parents; his father came to Jackson county in 1801, and his mother in 1812. The first courts of the county sat at his father's house for four years, magistrate's court every month, and circuit court twice a year. Shadrach Rice, his mother's father, served as a scout in the Indian war, under Gen. Anthony Wayne. At Cottageville, Jackson county, August 28, 1862, the words were spoken joining the lives of David L. Sayre and Elizabeth, daughter of Gilbert and Bersheba (Bowers) McKown. She was born in Brooke county, Virginia, in August 1841, came with her parents to Jackson county about 1858, and she died at her home in Ripley district, October 3, 1882. In the home she left are six children, born on the following dates: John Charles, January 5, 1864; Absalom Franklin, November 5, 1865; Edward Greeley and Ida May, March 28, 1872; Leona Lillian, April 4, 1876; Samuel Bishop, March 30, 1878. Charles SAYRE, a brother of David L., enlisted in the Confederate army and served through the last year of the war between the States. Under Breckenridge he was in the battles of New Market and Cold Harbor. The division was engaged almost without cessation from May 20 to June 8, 1865. David L. Sayre successfully combines the avocations of miller and farmer in Ripley district, where he is a proprietor of a saw-mill and owner of a good farm. He was school trustee in his district for four years. He receives his mail at Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Joseph SAYRE - was born in Jackson county, December 28, 1808, a son of Daniel SAYRE, who was born March 22, 1785, and came to Jackson county in its most primitive days, and married Sarah Hall, who was the mother of Joseph SAYRE. David SAYRE, grandfather of Joseph, was a veteran of the war for independence, serving in that war as a scout. August 23, 1838, in the house where he now resides, in Ripley district, Joseph SAYRE was united in marriage with Rachel McGuire, the Rev. P. Hall officiating clergyman. Their children were six: Martha, born August 14, 1839, died March 7, 1879; Virginia, June 26, 1842, lives in Union district, this county; Franklin, October 23, 1844, resides in Union district; Columbus, February 8, 1847, died March 6, 1847; Lafayette, May 17, 1848, lives in Ripley district; Josephus, December 6, 1851, lives in this district. Joseph SAYRE has been twice wedded, and his first wife was Melinda, daughter of Elijah Staats. Mr. Sayre is descended from the early English settlers of America, and many of his name and blood are now making their homes in Massachusetts and Ohio. A hard-working man all his days, Mr. Sayre was in early life subjected to all the frontier dangers and deprivations that make up pioneer life, but energy and good management have achieved for him a fortune on which he can rest in comfort so far as this world is concerned for his remaining days, his estate containing 2,400 acres of good land. For over thirty years he was a member of the Methodist Church, and his wife was a member of the same church for forty years. Then both united with the church of the United Brethren, and among the United Brethren he has been a local preacher for fifteen years. His post office address is Angerona, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Thomas W. SIMMONS, M. D. - born in Surrey county, North Carolina, July 12, 1846, came to Jackson county in 1852, in which year his parents, Samuel and Melinda (Greer) Simmons became residents here. They lived in this county from 1852 until their decease, which was some years since. In Lewis county, West Virginia, March 1, 1852, was born Sarah C. Maddox, who became the wife of Dr. Simmons in Jackson county, West Virginia, on the 22nd of March, 1870. The Rev. Mr. Swigar, of the Missionary Baptist Church, joined them in marriage, and the children of their union are four living, and one deceased. The oldest, Dora B., was born April 9, 1872; Melvin C. was born August 25, 1874; Devergia N., October 30, 1877; Hinton H., February 10, 1880, died February 18, 1882; Parvin Poe, November 18, 1882. Thomas and Martha (Goodwin) Maddox, who came to Jackson county in 1856, are the parents of the wife of Dr. Simmons. They make their residence in this district. Martin Simmons, who served in the 122nd Ohio Infantry, during the 1861 war, was a brother of the subject of this sketch. Thomas W. Simmons was a graduate of the Ohio College of Medicine, Cincinnati, class of 1867-8. Since entering upon practice, he has found all his time occupied with the arduous and noble duties of his calling. His mail is received through the post office at Grass Lick, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Isaiah VAIL - born in Meigs county, Ohio, January 19, 1825, has lived in Jackson county since 1845. In this county, in 1849, he became the husband of Louise C. Graham, who was born in Wood county, now part of West Virginia. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Vail was in January, 1849, and their first child was born December 19, 1849. They named her Viola Virginia, and she died August 6, 1860. Their fourth child was a daughter whom they named Sarah E. She was born September 23, 1855, and died October 5, 1875. Their living children are six, born: Joseph R., April 19, 1851; John T., December 16, 1853; Margaret E., January 7, 1858; Isaiah F., April 30, 1860; George D., April 29, 1865; Mary L. E., September 26, 1870. John T. married Mary A. Carnahan, September 7, 1880. Joseph R. is engaged in the manufacturing of buggies and wagons, and is one of the most enterprising citizens of Jackson county as well as one of the best workmen at his chosen calling. Thomas and Sarah (Richards) VAIL were the parents of Isaiah VAIL, and his wife was the daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Reader) Graham. His mother died in Illinois, his father drowned at Gallipolis, Ohio. His wife's father, who was a soldier of 1812, died in Wood county, this State, and her mother is still living. A sketch of her parents will be found in the record of her brother, Robert Graham, elsewhere given in the Encyclopedia. Isaiah VAIL is a retired farmer and master mechanic, taking his ease upon his well-earned income. He receives his mail at Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Thomas WINDON - son of Joseph and Susan (Mitchell) WINDON, who live in Mason county, West Virginia, was born in that county, May 5, 1839, while it was a part of the State of Virginia. In that county, January 31, 1861, he was united in marriage with Patsey Hogg, the Rev. William Harrison, of the United Brethren Church, pronouncing them one. Their children, all living at home, are Mary E., born July 20, 1863; James P., January 31, 1866; Susan J., March 31, 1868; Thomas W. B., November 24, 1870; Nancy L. M., February 15, 1872. Thomas G. and Lucy (Ball) Hogg, who died in Mason county, were the parents of the wife of Mr. Windon, and she was born in Mason county, May 26, 1842. One of her brothers, Peter Hogg, was a captain in the Confederate army during the war of 1861. She was also a cousin of Lieut.-Col. James R. Hall, of the 13th Virginia Infantry, and of Maj. John T. Hall, of the United States army. No braver men ever fought for what each thought the right. The former was killed in battle in Cedar Creek, October 19, 1864, and the latter received his death wound at the battle of Kennedy Hill, Virginia, August 6, 1862. Thomas WINDON, with his family, settled in Jackson county, May 1, 1870, on a farm of 200 acres in Ripley district. The place was one of the first cleared in the vicinity, and in pioneer times was called "Carney's Farm" by which name it is still known. Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia, is his post office address.
Andrew H. HAMON - one of the farming residents in Washington district, Jackson county, West Virginia, was born in Russell county, Virginia, August 22, 1834. He was a son of John and Margaret (Keiser) Hamon, and his father died in Jackson county, while his mother makes her home here. Paulina, daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Starcher) Rhodes, who live in Roane county, this State, became the wife of Andrew H. Hamon. Their children are twelve: Virginia M., Elizabeth, Margaret, Joseph P., David L., John D., Martha, Leah, Rachel, Nancy Luverne, Cynthia, and Joshua. Mr. Hamon had one brother who was a soldier in the war between the States, and his grandfather, John Hamon, was a captain in the war of 1812. Andrew H. Hamon is an industrious farmer, who is making the best use of his means to give his children the advantage of such an education as was denied to him in an earlier generation. He receives his mail at the post office at New Kentuck, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Charles LANDFRIED - son of Philip and Sarah Ann (Ables) LANDFRIED, is one of the best known and most esteemed among the business men of Jackson county, West Virginia. He was born in this county, December 4, 1857, and in this county was wedded, January 25, 1881. Susan Shafer, a native of Tyler county, this State, on the date just given became his wife, and the Rev. Ripley, of the Methodist Episcopal Church (North), performed for them the wedding ceremony. Charles LANDFRIED is a blacksmith by trade, and is engaged in general blacksmithing and wagon manufacture in Washington district. Mr. Landfried's father was born in Germany, August 8, 1829; came to this country in 1849, and settled in Jackson county. His mother was born in Jackson county, West Virginia, September 7, 1833. To Charles LANDFRIED and wife have been born two children, as follows: Charles, April 9, 1882; Lakie, April 5, 1883. His post office address is Hereford, Jackson county, West Virginia.
John W. PAYNE - is one of the farming residents of Washington district, Jackson county, West Virginia, and has been a resident in this county since 1872. He was born December 16, 1837, in what is now Wetzel county, West Virginia, a son of Levi Payne, now deceased, and Mary (Stansbury) Payne, who came to Jackson county in 1870. In Wetzel county, September 29, 1859, John W. Payne and Mary C. McQuown began their wedded life, and in the years that have since elapsed, their union has been blessed with the birth of nine children, namely: Marie E., Ella F., Ida M., Priscilla C., Maggie F., Mary T., James A., and Iva A. One boy died in infancy. Marie E. lives in Roane county, this State, and the other children in Jackson county. Mary C., wife of John W. Payne, was born at Red Bank, Pennsylvania, and is a daughter of Thomas and Maria (Robinson) McQuown, who became residents in Jackson county in 1870. During the war of 1861, John W. Payne enlisted as a soldier, and served through the last year of that war. He may be addressed through the post office at Frozen camp, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Aaron PRINGLE - son of James PRINGLE, was born in Upshur county, Virginia, but has made his home in Jackson county since 1842. Mary J. Rayburn, born in Mason county, then part of Virginia, in the county of her birth became the wife of Aaron PRINGLE, their marriage consummated September 12, 1845. Their first-born child, whom they named James G., is deceased. Caroline, Ellen, Laura, Martha J., Aaron F., and Margaret E., have made homes for themselves in Jackson county, and the two youngest, George W. and John F., are living at home with their parents. The various avocations of a farming life occupy the time and energies of Aaron PRINGLE and the two sons who are at home, and their post office address is Fair Plain, Jackson county, West Virginia.
James B. RADER - is a son of E. H. and Ruami (Wright) Rader, his father born in Washington district, and his mother in Union district, Jackson county. They now reside in Washington district, this county, and their record will be found in the sketch following this one. The birth of James B. was in this county, the date December 14, 1852, and in this county he combines the farming of a good piece of land with the mercantile business in which he is profitably engaged. His marriage was solemnized in Roane county, West Virginia, September 14, 1881, on which date Rev. H. Cofer, Baptist clergyman, united him in matrimonial bands with Mary F. Sergent. She was born in Roane county, December 27, 1855, and is a daughter of James M. and Ellen J. (Depue) Sergent, who still make their home in the county of her nativity. The post office address of James B. Rader is Hereford, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Edward Hart RADER - one of the substantial residents of Jackson county, West Virginia, was born in this county, April 14, 1819. Here he was married, December 22, 1842, the Rev. Daniel G. Merrill uniting him in wedlock with Ruami Wright, who was born in Jackson county, April 10, 1827. The twelve children of Mr. and Mrs. Rader present the following record: Emma J., born February 25, 1844, lives in Pleasants county, West Virginia; Sarah E., August 30, 1846, died December 3, 1875; Isadore T., April 11, 1849, died January 31, 1869; Mary I., December 27, 1850, died April 14, 1855; James B., December 14, 1852, lives in Washington district; Edward C., September 28, 1854, died October 8, 1860; Cora A., June 12, 1856, lives at Ripley; Dora D., December 20, 1857, died March 30, 1870; Lena A., November 29, 1859, died June 1, 1861; Lida F., August 27, 1861, died October 21, 1876; Ferdinand F., November 19, 1863, died October 15, 1876; William G., April 15, 1867, died October 27, 1876. Sarah E. became the wife of Henry B. Board, and was the mother of four children, of whom three are living and with their grandparents. They were: Erwin M., born September 13, 1868; Ruami F., June 25, 1870; Edward H., February 12, 1873; Sarah S., November 3, 1875, died in June, 1876. Mrs. Board died December 3, 1875. James and Hannah Canady (Allen) RADER were the parents of Edward H. The mother died in Roane county, this State, and the father on the farm where Edward H. now lives. Michael RADER, grandfather of E. H. Rader, born in 1751, was a captain of minutemen in the war of 1812. Benjamin and Miriam (Flowers) Wright, the parents of Ruami (Wright) RADER, are deceased; her father died in this county and her mother in Mason county. Edward H. Rader owns between 1,300 and 1,400 acres of farming land on Elk fork of Mill creek, in Washington district, this county, and about 1,000 acres in Roane county. He was a member of the State legislature, session of 1871, was commissioner of revenue when that office was filled by appointment by the court, and was two years county surveyor. His address is Jackson C.H., Jackson county, West Virginia.
Llewellyn RHODES - son of Alexander and Mahala (Edens) RHODES, was born in Rockbridge county, Virginia, June 14, 1833. His parents are now making their home in Roane county, West Virginia. In Jackson county, March 26, 1854, Llewellyn RHODES and Cynthia J. Lytton were united in marriage, and they are the parents of nine children, all living in this county at the present time, the oldest in Washington district, and the others at home. These children were born: Nicholas, April 3, 1855; Sarah E., January 11, 1857; Marcellus, November 4, 1858; Emily V., February 7, 1861; Isaiah, October 28, 1863; Elbin, October 17, 1865; Alfred, December 25, 1867; Angeline, January 3, 1870; Bennett, July 11, 1872. David and Barbara (RHODES) Lytton, who died in Jackson county, were the parents of Cynthia, wife of Llewellyn RHODES. Mrs. Rhodes is a member of the United Brethren Church. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Rhodes was a soldier of the 1812 war, and a brother of Mr. Rhodes served in the Union army, during the last year of the war between the States. Under the old constitution, Llewellyn RHODES held the office of supervisor at one time in this district. He was recently the proprietor of the well-known and popular RHODES House, at Ripley, but is now engaged in farming in Washington district. Address, New Geneva, Jackson county, West Virginia.
S. L. BARBER, M. D. - born in Lebanon township, Meigs county, Ohio, November 18, 1840, and has made his home in Jackson county since 1859. In this county, April 30, 1861, he wedded Virginia Sayre, who was born in Jackson county, June 26, 1842. The following year he entered the Federal army, enlisting as a private in Company I, 11th West Virginia Infantry, and serving through the successive grades of a non-commissioned officer, until for gallant conduct before Richmond he was made captain of Company I, and commanded the company till the close of the war. He was in all the battles of the Shenandoah campaigns, and was present at the surrender of Lee. He has a piece of the wood of the apple tree under which Lee stood at that eventful moment, which he has had engraved in the shape of a heart, with a Union star on one side, and enclosed in silver, with name and date of battle. The children of Dr. and Mrs. Barber present the following record: Laura Lenora (Stone), born August 23, 1864, lives in a home of her own in this county; Joseph J., July 30, 1866, also makes his home in this county; Rachel Ann, September 30, 1867; Hiley Louis, March 23, 1869; Elvira Ellen, August 8, 1870; Dora Belle, March 6, 1872; Adra Addison, October 25, 1873; Mary E., January 14, 1876, died February 24, 1877; Flora J., September 29, 1879; John L., March 2, 1881 - all the living children except the two oldest are at home. John Scott Barber, father of S. L., was born September 16, 1814; his mother, whose maiden name was Hester Rose, was born December 28, 1817, and with her husband settled in Jackson county in 1865. Joseph Sayre, born December 28, 1808, and Rachel (McGuire) Sayre, born in 1813, and natives of this county, were the parents of Dr. Barber's wife. For six years Dr. Barber has been county physician at the infirmary, and the remainder of his time is given to his professional duties as physician and surgeon among the many patients who rely on him in Cottageville and vicinity.
George W. BATES - is a native of the "Buckeye State," born in Steubenville, Jefferson county, Ohio, May 23, 1837. His father, John C. Bates, was born in Cecil county, Maryland, October 21, 1797, and became a resident of Jefferson county, Ohio, in 1836. He married Mary Martin, who was born in Cecil county, Maryland, July 14, 1797, and they made their home in Jackson county in 1856. He died February 4, 1881, and she preceded him to the unknown land, her death occurring October 17, 1879. In early life George W. Bates worked in a machine shop at Dayton, Ohio, where machinery for woolen mills was manufactured and shipped to all parts of the United States. He has a brother still working at that trade in the same place. In 1858 the subject of this sketch came to the farm his father had settled upon in Union district, Jackson county, and he is now engaged in the cultivation of its acres and in stock-raising. The land lies on what is known as Locust Ridge, on the water of Crooked fork of Sand creek. During the civil war he entered the Federal army, and served three years as a member of Company K, 11th West Virginia Infantry. Before he had received his uniform he was made a prisoner, but was paroled, and afterward with his regiment participated in the battles of Cloyd Mountain, Winchester, Fishers Hill, Cedar Creek, Hatches Run, Petersburg, and many other skirmishes, their campaign closing with the surrender at Appomattox, June 9, 1865. In Jackson county, West Virginia, January 6, 1881, Margaret L. McCoy became the wife of George W. Bates. She was born in Roane county, this State, April 15, 1852, a daughter of John and Nancy (Crislip) McCoy, who came to Jackson county in 1866. Her father was born December 22, 1815, and her mother on the 15th of December 1816. George W. Bates' post office address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Isaac BIBBEE - deceased- was born in Union district, Jackson county, October 25, 1811, and here died after an honorable and busy life as a farmer. William and Deborah (Hughes) BIBBEE, long since deceased, were his parents, and his wife was Jeanette, daughter of Brice and Jeanette (Welch) Mars, who are now deceased. She was born in Scotland, December 8, 1819, and died upon the homestead farm in Union district, May 29, 1868. William, father of Isaac BIBBEE, was the first man to take out a patent for land in what is now Union district, and the stream running through the homestead farm now called Lick run was then named Washington run, in honor of General Washington, to whom the land was first conveyed for his services in surveying. The genealogical record of the children of Isaac and Jeanette (Mars) BIBBEE is: Jonathan, December 26, 1845, died January 30, 1846; Nathaniel, August 15, 1847, makes his home in Pomeroy, Meigs county, Ohio; Rachel, March 23, 1848, died July 12, 1849; John M., December 18, 1849, lives in Union district; Brice, November 27, 1851, died July 30, 1862; Albert, March 17, 1854, died August 4, 1862; Isaac, December 9, 1856, died August 29, 1862; Welch, March 16, 1859. This youngest son, Welch BIBBEE, engaged in the drug business at Cottageville, August 22, 1879, and is still commanding an increasing business by his attention to business, and his knowledge of its requirements, as well as by the personal esteem in which he is held. He also carries a fine line of cigars, tobaccos, and the fancy articles of a well stocked drug store. Welch BIBBEE, Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Josiah BLACKBURN - is a native of the "Keystone State," born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, December 18, 1831. He became a resident in Jackson county in October, 1849, and in this county, February 25, 1858, was united in marriage with Margaret Alcorn, who was born in Indiana county, Pennsylvania, October 2, 1834. Their marriage has been blessed with eight children, born: James A., December 16, 1858; Martha J. (Davis), April 7, 1861; Euphamy, April 6, 1863; John H., April 16, 1866; William O., December 5, 1868; Charles E., April 12, 1871; Alice, June 5, 1875, died June 25, 1875; Elizabeth A., February 11, 1879 - the living children are all at home. James and Euphamy (Gibson) Alcorn, who were the parents of Margaret, wife of Mr. Blackburn, came to Jackson county in 1849, and here died. Her father died December 30, 1869, and her mother's death was on the 2nd of December, 1862. Joseph and Rebecca (Brisbrine) BLACKBURN, parents of Josiah, were born in Pennsylvania, and came to Jackson county in 1849. His father was born November 21, 1790, and died April 9, 1857, and his mother, born April 22, 1794, died March 23, 1868. Josiah BLACKBURN enlisted August 14, 1862, in Company K, 11th West Virginia Infantry, and faithfully performed the duties of a soldier, participating in the following battles: Cloyd Mountain, May 9, 1864; Winchester, Virginia, September 19, 1864; Fishers Hill, September 22, 1864; Cedar Creek, October 13-19, 1864; Hatches Run, March 30-31, 1865; Petersburg, April 2, 1865; Appomattox Court House, April 9, 1865. In the same regiment, a member of Company B, was James G. Alcorn, his wife's brother, who was wounded while fighting near him in the battle of Winchester. Farming and stock-raising engage the time of Josiah BLACKBURN, and his post office address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Ephraim BLAKE - was born near Ravenswood, Jackson county, November 9, 1845, and at Willow Grove, this county, September 14, 1871, he became the husband of Sinah McKay. She was born in Meigs county, Ohio, April 14, 1855, and the children of her union with Mr. Blake were born: William H., March 4, 1873, and Ella G., March 6, 1879. She is a daughter of William and Elizabeth (Hayman) McKay, whose lives are touched upon in the sketch of Z. T. McKay, elsewhere printed in this book. James and Maria (Jackson) BLAKE were the father and mother of Ephraim BLAKE. Both are now deceased, his mother dying in 1858, and his father, born in 1813, dying March 18, 1872. James BLAKE, brother of Ephraim, enlisted in 1861, served with honor through the civil strife that followed, and now resides in South America. Mr. Blake's father was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, and his mother was a Virginian by birth. Farming and stock raising fill the time of Ephraim BLAKE, his land lying in Union district, and his post office address being Willow Grove, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Nelson O. BOWKER - is a prominent farmer and stock-raiser in Union district, Jackson county, West Virginia, and has made his home in this county since 1869. His birth was in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, the date March 7, 1845, and his parents, William M. and Betsey (Beers) Bowker. His mother is no longer living, and his father continues to reside in Pennsylvania. The wedded life of Nelson O. Bowker began in Jackson county, West Virginia, June 15, 1871, when Mary S. Fleming joined her life with his, and their son, Albert O., now making his home with them, was born June 22, 1872. Mary S. Fleming was born in Monroe county, Ohio, on the 30th of April, 1844, and has lived in Jackson county since she was twelve years old, her parents, David and Jane (Blain) Fleming, coming to this county in 1856. Nelson O. Bowker's post office address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Joseph T. BURNS - became a resident in Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1868, settling upon a farm in Union district, where stock-raising and the cultivation of the soil occupy his time and energies. He was born in Jefferson county, Pennsylvania, November 25, 1842, a son of Liberty and Ellen (Knox) Burns, who are now deceased. He is a direct descendant from the family of the great poet of Scotland, "Bobby Burns," as his countrymen still love to call him. In Jackson county, West Virginia, October 9, 1870, Joseph T. Burns wedded Deborah Hughes, who was born in this county, March 5, 1849. Robert and Mary (Rhodes) Hughes were her parents, and Job Hughes, who was one of the pioneers of Union district, was her great uncle. Her father is deceased, her mother living in Roane county, this State. In the war between the States Joseph T. Burns enlisted in the Union army, Company I, 62nd Pennsylvania Infantry, and served from July, 1861, to November, 1862, when he was discharged on account of a gunshot wound received in the right arm in the seven days fight before Richmond. Liberty Burns, father of Joseph T., served in Company B, 105th Pennsylvania Infantry, and was killed at the battle of Antietam, his right leg torn off by a ball. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph T. Burns were born: Mary L., December 16, 1872; a daughter, August 26, 1874, died same day; Burwell and Berkley, December 18, 1875; Cora May, February 26, 1878; Bertha, March 1, 1880; Nellie Isabella, January 27, 1882. All the living children are at home, and the family post office address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
William CARR - son of John and Sarah (Wilton) CARR, and Isabella M. Burns, daughter of Robert and Sarah (Turner) Burns, were united in wedlock in Clarion county, Pennsylvania, September 10, 1839. Their children present the following record: Sarah, born July 17, 1840, died April 3, 1844; John W., November 16, 1841, died March 29, 1844; Harriet, March 16, 1843, died November 13, 1852; Sarah A., May 6, 1844, died August 14, 1850; Mary E., October 11, 1847, died August 9, 1850; James J., May 9, 1849, died September 3, 1849; William L., twin of James J., died August 14, 1850; Lavina (Rand), May 29, 1850, lives at home; Susan J. I. (Bibbee), April 27, 1854, lives in this district; Joseph D., November 3, 1855, lives at home, was married to Hattie A. Jones, September 13, 1882, Mary M. (Hartley), March 22, 1862, lives in Jackson county; Lincoln, March 31, 1861, died August 15, 1861. Of these children, eight are buried in Jefferson county, Pennsylvania, and the homes of the four living children are near where their father is spending his old age. The parents of William CARR came to this country in 1810, two years before the outbreak of the second war with England, settling in Pennsylvania. In that State, William CARR was born, in Lycoming county, on the 14th of November, 1814. His parents died in Pennsylvania, as did his wife's parents. In that State his wife was born, in Mifland county, March 23, 1821, and she died in this county, June 14, 1877, the family having made their home in Jackson county in May, 1868. Mrs. Carr was related to the poet Burns, and on her mother's side was a second cousin to President Polk. Farming and stock-raising is the business of William CARR, and his address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Miller CHALFANT - was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, March 17, 1817. Some time after his birth his parents, Robert and Elizabeth (Orin) CHALFANT, removed to Jefferson county, Ohio, and in that State and county both are deceased. At Smithfield, Jefferson county, Ohio, March 22, 1843, Miller CHALFANT wedded Mildred R. Ong, Rev. Charles Barnes pronouncing them man and wife. Their children have the following record: Finley D., born March 2, 1844, lives at Portsmouth, Ohio; Ann M. (Priddy), September 20, 1849, resides in Union district, this county; Mary A. (Miller), June 7, 1851, lives at Cottageville; Orlinda M. (Tresize), August 9, 1855, lives at Cottageville; Charles M., September 18, 1857, lives at Syracuse, Ohio; Flora M. (Harpold), July 16, 1861, lives in Cottageville. Finley D. was three years a member of the 4th Virginia Infantry, and then re-enlisted, after which he was wounded in an engagement at Snickers Ford, and had his leg amputated below the knee. He now holds the position of wharfmaster at Portsmouth, Scioto county, Ohio. Orlinda M. married, November 10, 1878, Charles Elmer Tresize, who is an extensive saddler and harness dealer at Cottageville. He is a son of Thomas and Eliza (King) Tresize, and was born in Athens county, Ohio, December 20, 1855. The one child of Charles E. and Orlinda M. Tresize was Charles R., born February 23, 1880, died August 13, 1881. Miller CHALFANT is a successful and prominent merchant of Cottageville. He was two years the postmaster at Angerona, and for four years has discharged the duties of the like office in Cottageville, and continues to fill the position. His wife was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, May 15, 1824, daughter of Jacob and Hannah (Davis) Ong, who came to Jackson county in 1846, and here died.
James A. CRAWFORD - was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, November 11, 1830, and in early life he worked in an iron foundry in Salinesville, Ohio. In 1852 he came to Jackson county, and he is now one of the most prosperous of the farmers and stock-raisers of Union district. His first wife was Jane Dudgeon, born April 5, 1830, died May 10, 1874, and she was the mother of his children, who were born on the following dates: Charles A., December 10, 1856, lives in Marshall county, Kansas, as does Virgil D., who was born July 10, 1858; Mary J., born February 7, 1861, died October 4, 1876; Rosetta, born December 16, 1863; Matthew L., September 5, 1865; David A., August 31, 1867; Sarah A., August 12, 1869 - these four living at home. John and Elizabeth (McConnell) Dudgeon, now deceased, were the parents of the first wife of Mr. Crawford. His second wife, whom he wedded in Jackson county, September 27, 1874, was Margaret J., daughter of John A. and Susan (Bibbee) Coe. She was born December 27, 1834, in Wood county, this State, and by a former marriage is the mother of Lewis P. Fleming, who was born July 15, 1867, and now resides in Ravenswood district, this county. Her marriage with Mr. Crawford has resulted in the birth of three children, as follows: James W., born July 11, 1877; Maggie S., February 8, 1879; John A., September 5, 1880 - all living at home. Mrs Crawford's mother was born in 1814, in Meigs county, Ohio; her father was born in Alexandria, Virginia, in 1805. Her father's mother was a Perry, and related to Commodore Perry, and her grandmother Bibbee was a sister to Joseph Parsons, one of the first settlers in Union district. Armour and Jane (Alexander) Crawford, parents of James A., were born in the parish of Ardstraw, County Tyrone, Ireland, the former in 1800 and the latter in 1806. THe father died August 6, 1874, and the mother, August 3, 1851. She was a niece of Jacob Alexander, who founded the place called West Alexander, near Wheeling, West Virginia, which is prominent in Virginian history as having witnessed a severe engagement between the settlers and Indians in frontier days. James A. Crawford served with the State Guards during the Morgan raid, war of 1861. His address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Jacob S. CUMPSTON - son of James and Hester (Soap) Cumpston, who are now deceased, was born in Ravenswood, Jackson county, December 8, 1822. When he was five years old, his father moved to Greenup county, Kentucky, where he lived three years, and then he went to Lawrence county, Ohio, where he resided until his death, which occurred in Ironton, Ohio, in 1863. March 13, 1849, at Mouth of Mill creek, Jackson county, Jacob S. Cumpston became the husband of Hannah Warth, who was a Kentuckian by birth, born March 6, 1824. Her father, Alexander Warth, was born in Winchester, Virginia, in 1779, and her mother, whose maiden name was Sarah Divinney, was born in Rockbridge county, Virginia, in 1777. Her parents were married in Kanawha county, this State, March 30, 1811, and became residents in this locality at about that time. They had a family of three sons and six daughters, one of the daughters now making her home with Mrs. Cumpston. Mr. Warth died October 8, 1847, and his widow died March 31, 1852, and both were buried at Letart Falls, Ohio. Jacob S. Cumpston has been an extensive traveler, taking several journeys as far south as the Isthmus of Panama and as far west as San Francisco. July 3, 1861, he enlisted in the 5th Virginia Cavalry, Confederate service, and received his discharge a year later for disability, having disease settle in his ankle joint. All the members of his family who served in the civil war were Union soldiers, but his conscience taking the States right view of the question, he served, as he thought right, the cause of the Confederacy. He was in all the engagements of his regiment during his term of service. He now resides on the old Warth farm, 98 acres of rich Ohio bottom land. His address is Ripley Landing, Jackson county, West Virginia.
GEORGE M. CUSTAR - was born in Burgettstown, Washington county, Pennsylvania, January 15, 1827. In Ross township, Jefferson county, Ohio, April 2, 1851, he was united in marriage with Sarah J. Graham, whose marriage was in the place of her nativity, and her birth was on the 27th of February, 1834. The nine children of Mr. and Mrs. Custar were born and reside as follows: Nancy J. (Dudgeon), January 7, 1852, lives in this district; John J., July 5, 1853, lives in Volcano, Ritchie county, West Virginia; Alice R. (Doman), October 18, 1854, lives in Wellsville, Columbiana county, Ohio; Clara A. (Blackburn), November 16, 1856, lives in Gilmer district, this county; George M. September 26, 1858, lives in Volcano, Wood county; Richard D., October 1, 1860, lives at home; Abe L., September 8, 1863, lives in Cattaraugus county, New York; Edwin E., born in Jefferson county, Ohio, March 22, 1865, and Walter W., February 1, 1874, live at home. Richard, while working in the oil wells at Volcano, Ritchie county, met with an accidet which necessitated the amputation of his right arm. He bore the operation bravely, and is now living at home. John S. Graham, father of Mrs. Custar, was born in 1801, and died in 1875. Her mother, whose maiden name was Nancy Kerr, was born in 1819, and died August 22, 1853. John O. and Rebecca (McCready) Custar, the parents of George M., came to Jackson county in 1847. His father was born in 1792, was a soldier in 1812, and died May 8, 1864. His mother was born in 1791, and died June 12, 1855. George M. Custar worked at wagonmaking in Moretown, Jefferson county, Ohio, until, in 1851, he settled on his farm in Union district, Jackson county, West Virginia. To the duties of farming and stock-raising he now adds the labors of a wagon-maker and blacksmith. Ravenswood, Jackson county, West Virginia, is his postoffice address.
LEVI DOUGLASS -was born in Union district, Jackson county, October 29, 1815, a son of John and Elizabeth (Richmond) Douglass, long since deceased. His father was among the most venturesome of the pioneer settlers in this county, coming to the then wilderness in 1794. The life of Levi Douglass has been passed in this county, where he is engaged in the healthy and independent labors of a farmer and stock-raiser, his farm consisting of 350 acres of rich bottom land on the Ohio. In this district his wedded life began, Sarah Smith, born in Union district, March 19, 1822, becoming his wife on the 11th of November, 1841, the Rev. Moses Michael officiating at the marriage rite. The children were eleven, with the following record: Elizabeth, born November 11, 1842, lives in Union district; Julia A. (King), January 11, 1844, lives one mile from Ripley, this county; John W., April 4, 1846, died January 9, 1847; Harriet, December 13, 1848, lives at home; Nathaniel, February 20, 1851, lives at Cottageville, this county; Lucinda E., March 13, 1854 and Mary, December 27, 1856, live at home; Alice J., July 12, 1859, died February 7, 1861; Owen, November 26, 1862, died August 23, 1863; George, July 11, 1855, and Nancy, September 1, 1865, live at home. John and Julia (Cummings) Smith were the parents of Sarah, wife of Mr. Douglass. Her father was born April 11, 1789, came to Jackson county in 1794, and died here July 1, 1878. Her mother, born December 2, 1800, died July 1, 1855. She had many brothers and sisters, but the family is scattered, some in Oregon, some in Missouri, and she has only two sisters left with whom she can visit. The postoffice address of the members of the Douglass family living at home is Ripley Landing, Jackson county, West Virginia.
J. H. DUNLAP, M. D. - born August 6, 1845, in Hardy county, now part of West Virginia, became a resident in Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1866, entering upon the duties f his profession as a physician and surgeon in Cottageville, Union district, and the adjacent country, and commanding the esteem and confidence of the people whom he serves. In Union district, this county, June 20, 1872, Rev. B. . Armstrong officiating clergyman, Dr. J. H. Dunlap and Arilla E. Wedge were joined in wedlock, and the children born of their marriage are: Rosa E., whose birth was on the 22d of April, 1874, and Charles E., born July 11, 1879. The wife of Dr. Dunlap was born in Claysville, Wood county, this State, March 22, 1855, and her parents, Ira and Catherine (Crawford) Wedge, became residents in Jackson county in 1856. Her father was born August 29, 1824, and her mother, born December 7, 1835, died April 29, 1864. William M., father of Dr. Dunlap, was born February 28, 1816, in Pennsylvania, made the home of his married life for many years in Hardy county, after which he removed to Rockingham county, Virginia, and came to Jackson county in March, 1866, and here died February 24, 1880. Dr. Dunlap's mother, whose maiden name was Martha A. McDonnell, was born in Hardy county, Virginia, under the spurs of the Allegheny, November 16, 1812. She is now residing with her son. Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia, is Dr. Dunlap's postoffice address.
JACOB C. HUSSELL -born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, September 14, 1853, accompanied his parents, John J. and Mary E. (Hartman) Hussell to Jackson county, when they settled here in 1858. Annie M. Euler was born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, April 8, 1854, and is a daughter of John and Catherine (Goodermod) Euler. Her mother died in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in the year 1856. He married his second wife, Lena Wolf, in 1858, and came to Jackson county, Virginia, in 1861. At Ripley, this county, July 23, 1876, Jacob C. Hussell became the husband of Annie M. Euler, and the children of their wedlock are two living and one deceased, who were born: Lydia C., February 18, 1878; Harman E., July 18, 1879, died June 17, 1880; Alfred Emile, December 26, 1880. The father and mother of Jacob C. Hussell were both born in Germany, the former in 1813, and the latter in 1818. His father was a machinist, and was engaged in the making of locomotives, at Baden, Germany; the papers awarded him by the Department in Germany are now in the possession of his son. After coming to this country he worked in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, for a fire and burglar proof safe company, until he came to Jackson county in 1858. He had $1,000 when he came to Virginia, to which he added until, at his death, he had a farm of 140 acres, well-stocked and under cultivation. His death occurred October 25, 1875. Jacob C. Hussell is a blacksmith and wagon manufacturer, and dealer in general hardware. He is an expert in making edge tools, and the best mattock maker in West Virginia. Honest and industrious, he has accumulated a comfortable competence, which includes a well-stocked farm of 100 acres in Union district, Jackson county. He receives his mail at Willow Tree, Mason county, West Virginia.
LEROY C. JACOX- is a farmer and stock-raiser of Union district, Jackson county, West Virginia, and has made his home in this county since June 10, 1878. He was born in McKean county, Pennsylvania, March 10, 1833, and married in Eldred township, Jefferson county, Pennsylvania, January 5, 1854. On that date Dolly Webster became his life's companion, and their children are recorded as follows: Laura C. (Duff), born August 28, 1854, resides at New Bethlehem, Pennsvlvania; Emma A., November 28, 1855, died January 13, 1864; Clara C. (Allbach), May 10, 1858, lives in New Bethlehem; George E., June 19, 1860, died December 1, 1877; Willie O., July 13, 1864, died February 18, 1878; John W., October 20, 1866, died April 16, 1869; Calvin L., July 10, 1868, died March 31, 1869; Martha A., December 29, 1869, and Annetta L., November 24, 1871, live at home; Charles N., April 30, 1874, died February 25, 1878. The wife of Mr. Jacox was born in Livingston county, New York, April 1, 1835, a daughter of George and Lydia (Rodgers) Webster, who some time after her birth made their home in Pennsylvania. Her father was born in 1808, and died in 1855, and her mother was also born in 1808. Her mother was one of the descendants of that John Rogers who was burned at the stake for being a Quaker. Hazzard and Polly (Wolcott) Jacox, parents of Leroy C., passed their lives in Pennsylvania. He was born July 8, 1796, and died in 1878 and she was born April 10, 1796, and died in September, 1847. Leroy C. Jacox enlisted in Company C, 2d United States Infantry, and two of his brothers were soldiers of the Federal army during the war between the States, and were faithful in the discharge of their duty. The subject of this sketch was made first sergeant. He was in the battles of Cedar Mountain, Sulphur Springs and second Bull Run, and Antietem, Maryland, Fredericksburg, Virginia. He receives his mail at the postoffice at Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
HARRISON P. LEE - was born in Harrison county, Ohio, October 21, 1835, a son of Jesse and Emily B. (Lawrey) Lee, who now live in Kansas. During the war between the States he enlisted in Company H, 18th Ohio Infantry, for three months, and then re- enlisted in Company I, 2d West Virginia Cavalry, for three years. He served until June 27, 1863, when he was made prisoner and paroled. In February, 1864, he was exchanged, and then served with his regiment until honorably discharged, November 28, 1864. In 1864 he took up his residence in Jackson county, West Virginia, and in this county, Union district, February 27, 1867, he became the husband of Sarah D., daughter of Daniel and Mary (German) Durst. They have five children: Jesse D., born May 19, 1868; Emily V., August 16, 1869; Nora B., December 8, 1871; Walter O., March 9, 1873; Burton E., February 18, 1876 - all living in Union district. By a former marriage, Mrs. Lee is the mother of three daughters, Harriet E., Margaret J., and Mary Virena Ankrum. The oldest was born June 6, 1858, the second June 6 1859, and the youngest January 28, 1862. Harrison P. Lee is a farmer and sewing machine agent, his residence in Union district, and his postoffice address at Cttageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
HENRY McBRIEN - was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, February 3, 1829, but has lived in Jackson county since he was nine years old. In this county his wedded life began, March 11, 1852, when Ann E. Mahan became his life's companion. She was born in Maryland, March 22, 1832, a daughter of Henry S. and Fannie S. (Gray) Mahan, who became residents in Jackson county in 1839. Her parents are now both deceased, her father's death occurring August 6, 1872. Henry and Jane (Ray) McBrien were the father and mother of the subject of this sketch. His father is no longer living, and his mother now resides in Huntington, West Virginia Henry McBrien enlisted in Company K, 11th West Virginia Infantry, in August, 1862, was wounded in the battle of Hatches Run, in 1865, and received honorable discharge, June 24, 1865. The children of Mr. and Mrs. McBrien were born: Evangeline (Dunlap), January 24, 1853; Isabell (Wyant), October 6, 1855; Henrietta, April 20, 1857; William, November 16, 1861; Frank E., November 27, 1862; James H., May 11, 1868; Catherine, October 22, 1870. Henrietta died October 15, 1858, the two oldest children have made homes for themselves in this county and district, and the other children are living with their father. Henry McBrien is farming and raising stock in Union district, and may be addressed at Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
ABRAHAM McCOY -son of Abraham and Isabella (McKay) McCoy, was born July 20, 1825, in Tyler county, now part of West Virginia. Abraham McCoy, sr., was born in 1791 died August 26, 1839. Isabella (McKay) McCoy was born August 23, 1799, died January 28, 1862. Anna W. Wells was born in Brooke county, then part of Virginia, July 8, 1838, a daughter of asil and Nancy (McIntyre) Wells. Her father, born in 1798, died November 5, 1874, age 76 years, and her mother, born in 1799, died May 3, 1871, aged 72 years. Abraham McCoy has made his home in Jackson county since he was nine years old, but he married in Brooke county, December 29, 1859, Anna W. Wells, and brought her to this county, making their home in Cottageville. Their children are: Clara M., born May 12, 1872; William B., June 28 1874; Nannie B., September 23, 1877-all living at home. Their first child was a daughter, born March 12, 1862 died same dy. John and David McCoy, brothers of Abraham, were Confederate soldiers in te war between the States. David was lieutenant in the 22d Virginia Infantry; John served through the war as a cavalryman. Before the war he was captain on the Baltimore, a steamer running from Portsmouth to Wheeling, and in Kentucky he had served as deputy sheriff. Mrs. McCoy had two brothers in the Federal army, Milton and William Wells. The first-named raised a company for the 27th Ohio Infantry and went out as their captain. He was promoted through successive ranks until he held, at his discharge, the rank of brigadier-general. William served as commissary clerk. Abraham McCoy was four years commissioner of revenue for Jackson county, 1856-60. He was so unfortunate as to have his right leg broken on the 24th day of September, 1882, while attempting to mount his horse, the fracture being so serious that amputation was necessary. He is a farmer and stock-raiser, and a member of the firm of general merchandize McCoy & McKay, Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
Z.T. McKAY -member of the firm of McCoy & McKay, merchants of Cottageville, has been a resident of Jackson county since he was eleven years of age. He was born in Portland, Meigs county, Ohio, January 6, 1848, a son of William and Elizabeth (Hayman) McKay, now both deceased. In 1859 William McKay came with his family to make their home in Jackson county and his capital then consisting of $6,000, by judicious handling in twenty-three years increased to $45,000. While thus prospered in the world's wealth, he gathered about him many friends won and retained by his honesty and charity. His equal could not be found, and his death was a loss to the community in which he had lived. His wealth is shared among his eight children. At Pleasant View, Jackson county, October 19, 1871, Z. T. McKay and Amanda Thorn were united in marriage, and one child, born July 13, 1873, and named Bertie, birghtens their home. Amanda, daughter of Alexander and Melinda (Jackson) Thorn, was born in Meigs county, Ohio, November 23, 1853. Her father was born May 8, 1811, and her mother on the 4th of April, 1814. They have lived some years in Jackson county. Edgar Thorn, brother of Mrs. McKay, was three years a member of the 9th Virginia Infantry, faithfully performing a soldier's duty. He is now a resident in this county. Z. T. McKay has been a number of years president of the board of education, and for several terms he held the office and discharged the duties of constable. In addition to his mercantile business, where, with Abraham McCoy he deals in dry goods, groceries, hardware, and all that goes to stock a well-kept store of miscellany, he also deals in lumber extensively, staves and railroad ties, and in grain. McCoy & McKay, Cottageville, West Virginia.
LEWIS M. MITCHELL - devotes his time and business capital to tanning leather for the markets of Ohio, West Virginia and Pennsylvania. He was born in Franklin county, Virginia, March 30, 1850, a son of William V. and Ellen (Underwood) Mitchell. He took up his residence in Jackson county in 1877, and now owns six acres of land near Angerona. His parents, who were Virginians by birth, now reside in Roane county, this State. In Wirt county, West Virginia, September 13, 1877, Lewis M. Mitchell wedded Nannie R. Conrad, and their children are three: Esther B., born August 4, 1878; Orland K., born May 7, 1880; Hoyt, January 23, 1883. Mr. Mitchell's wife was born in Wirt county, a daughter of Jacob and Abigail (McCutcheon) Conrad, who still reside in the county where she was born on the 27th of February, 1856. They were both born in that part of Virginia which by the civil strife was rent from the mother State, and became West Virginia. The grandfather of Lewis M. Mitchell was a veteran of the war of 1812, and he had two uncles who were soldiers in the war between the States. The postoffice address of Lewis M. Mitchell is Angeron, Jackson county, West Virginia.
TOBIAS S. NYE - born in Beaver county, Pennsylvania, November 8, 1839, became a resident in Jackson county, West Virginia, in 1867. He was a soldier of the Union army, in the first year of the civil war, a member of Company H., 9th Pennsylvania Reserves. He enlisted in 1861, was wounded in the seven days' fight at Glendale, and made prisoner, June 30, 1862 and released from prison July 30, 1862, and received his discharge at Philadelphia, November 6, 1862. He served under McClellan, and when released from prison that general shook his hand and thanked him for faithful services. He had three brothers in the Federal army, Jacob G., who served three years as a member of the 39th Ohio Infantry, and two younger brothers who entered the service after his return home. Samson S. and Ruth (Peirsol) Nye were the parents of these patriotic sons. The father was born November 4, 1810, and died March 4, 1859, and the mother, born November 4, 1816, continues to reside in Beaver county, Pennsylvania. At Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia, November 8, 1872, the marriage vows of Tobias S. Nye and Henrietta S. Turner were recorded. In their home are four children: Samson S., born August 1, 1873; Susan T., March 4, 1875; Blanche, April 26, 1877; William O., September 13, 1879. Henrietta S. Turner was born in Gilmer county, this State, June 24, 1854, a daughter of Robert R. and Susan (Topscott) Turner. Her father removed to Newcastle, Henry county, Kentucky. Her mother died in Gilmer county. While residing in Franklin township, Beaver county, Pennsylvania, Tobias S. Nye served two terms as constable. In Jackson county he is engaged in the profession of teaching, for which, both by nature and study, he is eminently qualified. His address is Cottageville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
REV. W. S. OWENS -son of George and Margaret E. (Coe) Owens, who are now deceased, was born in Wirt county, now part of West Virginia the date of his birth, August 15, 1836. He was wedded in Meigs county, Ohio, April 12, 1860, Hannah L. Donaldson on that date becoming his wife. She was born in Meigs county, October 28, 1844, a daughter of Luther and Margaret (Hull) Donaldson. Her father is now deceased, her mother still makes her home in Meigs county, Ohio. Rev. and Mrs. Owens have been the parents of five children, namely: Margaret L. (H s), born May 9, 1861, makes theme of her married life in Mason county, West Virginia; Harrison L., born March 10, 1865, died March 7, 1867; Laoma, May 7, 1866; Charles H., July 22, 1872, died March 23, 1880; Oakey J., September 15, 1875 - Laoma and Oakey J. are living at home. Alfred Owens, brother of the subject of this sketch, was a soldier in the war between the States, serving under Col. William Jackson, and was killed in his first battle, at Beverly, Virginia. The father of W. S. Owens was born in Loudoun county, Virginia, and was one of the first settlers on the Little Kanawha, locating in what is now Wirt county, West Virginia, at a time when land there could be bought for 25 cents per acre. His farm consisted of 700 acres, and on it was located a water sawmill. He was a noted hunter, at one time killing two deer with one shot, and he was also a soldier of the 1812 war. Rev. W. S. Owens cast his fortunes in with the people of Jackson county in 1876, and is the pastor of the Baptist Church in Union district, with his postoffice address at Letart, Mason county, West Virginia.
DANIEL DEMING RHODES - was born in Warren county, New York, February 21, 1818. When he was a child, his father was drowned in Lake George, and the care of his mother and four sisters fell opon him and an older brother. After struggling through childhood under these circumstances, at the age of 18 years he was renting, with his brother John, a sawmill on the Allegheny. Soon after on a raft of their own making he started fro Cincinnati, but stopped at Portsmouth, Ohio, profitably disposed of his lumber, made his home about 1837, and in a short time was owner of a planing mill and lumber yard. In 1857 he moved to Cottageville, this county, where he lived until his death In his residence at Portsmouth he was justice of the peace, member of city council, and an enthusiastic- -supporter of te best interests of the place. In Cottageville he engaged in milling and farming, and lived a life, as husband, father, neighbor and citizen, worthy of all praise and emulation. In 1844 he married Mary Leonard, of Portsmouth, Ohio, who survives him. She was born September 22, 1825. Their children were: Alvin, born May 17, 1847, died October 1, 1850; George L., June 25, 1849, died October 10, 1852; James S., August 14, 1851, died October 14, 1852; Lilly, August 14, 1853; D. W., November 9, 1860; Lon, April 9, 1863. Mr. Rhodes was of genial nature, always happy, and striving to make others so; a believer in the doctrine of universal salvation, as such a loving nature could not comprehend'a Father inflicting eternal punishment on any of his children. He opposed corporal punishment, and trained his own children through love; he was hospitable, with doors ever open to the needy and deserving. He was in all things one who has few equals, and whose loss cannot be replaced to the community for a long time, nor ever to his family. He passed away on Tuesday, December 12, 1882, aged 64 years, 9 months and 21 days. In the church on the lot he had donated, his funeral services were held, and sorrowing friends laid him to rest to await the coming of his Master.
ISAIAH RUBLE -son of Jacob and Mary (Masters) Ruble, was born in 1824, in Wood county, now . part of West Virginia. His father is deceased, and his mother still living, in her 86th year. In 1846, in Reedy Ripple, Wirt county, this State, Isaiah uble married Louisa V. Moorehead, who was born at Charleston, Kanawha county, this Statei Herfather, James D. Moorehead, was born in 1791, and died in 1859. Her mother, whose maiden name was Priscilla Boyles, was born in 1793, and died in 1851. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Isaiah Ruble were: Tennessee B. (Crow), born December 18, 1846, lives in Jackson county; Flora A., October, 1849, died October, 1860; Willie H., February, 1850, died July, 1856; Alice P., (Reynolds), September, 1854, lives in Wirt county; Edgar F., May 7, 1859, lives in Angerona, Jackson county; Olive A., May 27, 1861; James E., March 25, 1864; Ernest H., February 14, 1866; Clara B., June 14, 1870-the four last, with their parents, reside in Elizabeth district, Wirt county, West Virginia, where Isaiah Ruble is engaged in farming and stock-raising. Edgar F. is a prosperous hardware merchant, and also carries on blacksmithing in all its branches, and a wagon and carriage manufactory. He is a young man, but has gained a wide reputation as an industrious and efficient workman, and commands work from all the surrounding country. He has traveled over nearly all of the Western States since his boyhood. He was married to Clara McKown, November 28, 1882. She is the daughter of James and Samantha (Smith) McKown, who reside on Mill creek, Jackson county, West Virginia. To do as he would be done by is Mr. Ruble's motto, and all who desire work done in his line should give him a call at Angerona, Jackson county, West Virginia.
DAVID SAYRE - son of Daniel Sayre and Sarah (Hall) Sayre, born in 1783, who are now deceased, was born October 20, 1810, in Jackson county, then part of Virginia. He has been four times wedded, and the father of ten children, the first five the offspring of his first marriage, and the second five the children of his second marriage. These children are: George W., born June 26, 1839, a farmer in this county; Lucy Ann (Wheeler), October 20, 1842, died February 17, 1869; Daniel, April 21, 1845, is a farmer and miller in Mason county, West Virginia; Caroline (Jones), February 23, 1848, also lives in Mason county; Reuben D., May 1, 1850, was a minister in the `United Brethren Church, and died April 12, 1877; Lucian, November 9, 1853, died in Arizona Territory, March 18, 1881; Oscar, May 5, 1856, lives in Jackson county; Minerva J. (Dunlap), February 26, 1859, lives in Jackson county, this State; David W., April 12, 1864, lives in Jackson county; Ira Virgil, August 6, 1867, died July 11, 1882. Minerva Stone, first wife of David Sayre, died Apil 13, 1851; his second wife, Marthena Hill, died March 10, 1872. He was married to his third wife, who was Mary J. Stephenson, July 18, 1875, she died August 7, 1875. In Mason county, West Virginia, July 27, 1876, David Sayre was united in wedlock with his present wife, who was Nancy, daughter of John and Nancy (Taylor) Scantling. She was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, January 6, 1836, and came with her parents to Jackson county in 1855. Her mother is still living, and was born in County Antrim, Ireland, in 1809. Daniel Sayre, father of David, was born March 22, 1785, was one of the earliest settlers in Union district, coming here in 1801, and he died in 1878. Neither David Sayre nor any of his family touch tobacco in any shape, and never use liquor except for medicinal purposes. For six or eight years previous to the 1861 war, Mr. Sayre ryas a captain in the State militia, and he has served one term of four years as justice of the peace. He is the fortunate owner of a farm of 1,500 acres of choice land for farming and the raising of stock, after giving his married children each a good farm. He has a tannery on his land. His farm lies in Jackson and Mason counties, and he receives his mail at Huntsville, Jackson county, West Virginia.
ISAAC SAYRE - born in Jackson county, December 10, 1846, is of the pioneer families, Sayre-Stephenson, who have done so much for the country of this vicinity. His grandfather, Daniel Sayre, was one of the pioneer settlers of Union district, coming from Greene county, Pennsylvania, and lived here to the good old age of 93 years. James Stephenson, his maternal grandfather, was born in Kanawha county, Virginia, served in the 1812 war, lived many years in Mason county, this State, where he held positions of trust and honor, and died at the age of 97 years, in September, 1880. Daniel B. Sayre, father of Isaac, was born July 29, 1823, and died June 14, 1874. Isaac's mother, who was Mary E. Stephenson, was born September 28, 1828, and died July 15, 1848. In Angerona, Jackson county, May 2, 1867, Isaac Sayre married Sarah M., daughter of Thomas and Lydia (McKown) Love. She was born in Marion county, Missouri, November 6, 1849. The six children of Mr. and Mrs. Sayre were: John T., born October 31, 1867; George B., March 8, 1869, died September 9, 1869; Harmonie, March )4, 1871; Samuel S., June 29, 1873, died November 23, 1874; Lydia, October 23, 1875; Mary M., June 14, 1882 - all the living children are at ho e. Mrs. Sayre's mother's mother lived to the age of 104, and died in the hope of life eternal. Isaac Sayre served the last year of the civil strife as a member of Company F, 4th West Virginia Infantry. He was fifteen months in service, and participated in all the engagements of that regiment during that time. He is now serving his second term of four years as justice of the peace. He is both farmer and merchant, and his store is filled with everything to meet the wants of the surrounding country, in addition to which he deals in lumber, staves, railroad ties, and grain. Angerona, Jackson county, West Virginia
JUDGE ROBERT S. BROWN - is descended from distinguished pioneer stock. His grandfather, William Brown, a native of Maryland, married Patience Marvel, of Delaware, and settled in the Ohio valley in 1773. He served in the Continental army, war of 1776, and in 1785 settled in what is now Brooke county, West Virginia. Hen: Joseph Brown, father of Robert S. was born. He married Rachel Hood, born in Baltimore county, Maryland, chose the calling of a farmer, lived a long and honorable life, dying in July, 1882, having passed his 90th year. Robert S. Brown was born April 6, 1828; was raised on a farm, and inured to the arduous labors of this honorable vocation; was educated by such schools as the country then afforded, and by the help of his father's well-stocked library until, in 1845, he entered Bethany College, Brooke county. He chose the profession of law, and entered upon practice at Wirt C. H., in April, 1849 He obtained a lucrative practice, and was elected prosecuting attorney of Wirt and Roane counties, and re-elected to the office until he went to the bench. In 1864 he was presidential elector for his Congressional district, and cast his vote for Lincoln; in 1868 he was again a delegate, and was on the committee of resolutions which prepared the party platform on which Grant was nominated and elected, and, as elector at large, he canvassed and helped to carry his State on the Republican ticket. January 1, .1869, he took his seat at judge of the Tenth Judicial C i r c u i t o f W e s t Virginia, composed of Jackson, Roane, Calhoun and Gilmer counties, to which office he had been elected for six years. In 1878 by an overwhelming majority he was elected to the State senate, and served therein four years. He is a member of the Wheeling Encampment No. 11, I. 0. 0. F., and strongly attached to the Order, in connection with which he has held several offices, and endeared himself to the body by his works of charity and benevolence. His home farm is in Ravenswood, one of the largest and finest farms on the Ohio river.
ABSALOM H. CASTO - physician and farmer of Ravenswood district, Jackson county, West Virginia, was born in Ripley district, this county, February 9, 1843. His father was Levi Casto, who came to this county, in 1813, and his mother was Hannah (Carney) Casto, who was raised in this county. His father had two brothers, Jonathan and James, who were veterans of the war of 1812. Two brothers of Absalom H., George and James, were soldiers of the Confederate army, George enlisting in 1861 and James in 1862. Both were made prisoners in 1864, and held until close of the war. Absalom H. Canto was also a soldier of the Confederacy, and lost a foot at Cedar creek, Virginia, by the accidental discharge of a gun. In Ravenswood district, Jackson county, October 1, 1871, Absalom H. Casto and Frances Permelia Dawkins were united in marriage, and of their union the children born are:Forest Lee, July 15, 1872; Clarence Hereford, November 27, 1873; Willia Estelle, June 5, 1875; Ada Gertrude, February 15, 1880. Clarence H. died July 13, 1874, the other children are at home. The wife of Mr. Canto was born in Ravenswood district, February 28, 1851, and her parents are Thomas Jefferson Dawkins and Florella Hervey (Hawkins) Dawkins , who made their home in Jackson county in 1850. Absalom H. Canto's postoffice address is Sandy P. O., Jackson county, West Virginia.
C. GEORGE EVANS -son of Jonathan and Lydia L. (Dovener) Evans, is a minister of the Gospel and a doctor of dental surgery at Newark, and has made his residence in Wirt county, West Virginia, since the 20th of October, 1881. John E. and Fannie Hays are the parents of Julia M., born in Gilmer county, West Virginia, who in the State and county of her nativity, on the 17th of September, 1876, became the wife of C. George Evans. The birth of Mr. Evans was on the 19th of April, 1852, in what is now Wood county, West Virginia, and his two little ones, Maury L. and Clida E., were born; the former, May 31, 1877, and the latter, Novemer 3, 1881. Mr. Evans at one time was marshal of Tucker county, West Virginia, and he has acted in the role of a detective. He receives his mail at Leroy P. 0., Jackson County, West Virginia.
Les Shockey and Betty Briggs, Co-Coordinators of the Jackson County WVGenWeb page.Contact us