(Click to Enlarge)
Typed and submitted by Crystal Hart Allen
Written ca late 1920s by
Miss Florence A. Wright
Marshall County WVGenWeb.
Educational Committee of Women’s Club
Mrs. C. W. Riggs
Mrs. H. M. Plantz
Mrs. Frank P. Ross
CIVIL WAR VETERANS
this volume is respectfully
Typed and submitted by Crystal Hart Allen
Written ca late 1920s by
Miss Florence A. Wright
In this history of Cameron, it has been the endeavor of the Educational Committee to give a faithful narrative of facts concerning the founding and growth of our city. The attempt is here made to present them in as interesting a manner as possible.
The Authoresses heartily extend their thanks to all those who have contributed in any way to make this volume a success.
SURNAMES IN THIS BOOK
TABLE OF CONTENTS
|Chapter I: INTRODUCTION|
Chapter II: ESTABLISHMENT OF PUBLIC UTILITIES
Chapter III: INDUSTRIAL EXPANSION
Chapter IV: TERRITORIAL EXPANSION
Chapter V: INSTITUTIONAL HISTORY
Chapter VI: PROBLEMS OF COMMUNITY INTEREST
Chapter VII: NEW COMMERCIAL BODIES
Chapter VIII: WAR VETERANS
Chapter IX: SUMMARY OF BUSINESS & PROFESSIONS
|Photos of Cameron, c 1920|
|Main St., Cameron - (Diane M. DeMore.)|
|B. & O. Railroad Building - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|City Building & Library - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|Cameron District High School - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|The Bank of Cameron - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|First National Bank - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|Cameron Methodist Episcopal Church - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|City Building & Library - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|The First Baptist Church - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|The Presbyterian Church - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|First Christian Church of Cameron - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|Aftermath of Cameron Fire, Moundsville Echo, Aug. 30, 1935 - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
|Cameron Flood, July 15, 1948(?) - (Crystal Hart Allen.)|
According to Bernheim, “History is the Science of the development of men in their activity as social beings.” The old saying, “The roots of the present lie deep in the past,” is indeed, true, and for that reason, we cannot obtain the full meaning of that which lies about us-our religion, our laws, and our institutions, unless we have a thorough understanding of that which has gone before.
As many of you well know, Cameron has been very unfortunate in having had all of its early records destroyed in the disastrous fires which, from time to time, have visited the town, and therefore, for our early history we must depend, to a great extent, upon the memories of those who have lived here many years.
These older inhabitants are rapidly passing away, and soon we will be unable to obtain authentic information. It is for this reason that we have written this history of Cameron, and we hope that future generations may profit by the research work which we have done.
The first settler near Cameron was a Mr. Himes, who settled on the property now owned by Mr. Samuel McConaughey, in 1788. The following anecdotes have been related concerning the Himes families. About the year 1788 a bushel of apples was procured by one of the family in Washington, Pennsylvania. Because they were a luxury at this time, they were sparingly distributed among the members of the family. One of the little lads accidently choked on a core. After some time he was relieved, and through curiosity a member of the family procured the heart seed and planted it. It grew to be a large tree, which still stands on the farm of Mr. David McConaughey.
The Himes brothers, Joseph, Christopher and John, built a block house as a defense against the Indian depredations. Near it at one time they had a nice lot of hogs fattening. A band of savages suddenly coming upon them took a fancy to them and asked permission of the Himes brothers to kill one. Permission was granted and the Indians assisted by the family, soon killed and dressed the hog. The circumstances afterwards proved to be of a material benefit to the Himes family. It was the means of sustaining relations between them and the savages.
The following is related of Christopher: On one occasion, he climbed a poplar tree for the purpose of procuring bees. He ventured too far out on the limb; it swung down, and he was unable to reach the body of the tree. With great presence of mind, he asked his companions to clear away the stones and give him a soft place to light. His companions, fearing results, admonished him to pray. “Clear away the stones and logs, and never mind the prayers,” said he. The logs and stones were finally cleared away. Christopher, releasing, dropped and reached the ground safely. “Now,” said he, “if I had waited to pray, there would have been a dead man about here. We must do something as well as pray.”
Later a Mr. Chambers, of Ohio, settled in Green Valley, on the farm now owned by Mr. McCracken, where he was afterwards joined by a man, also from Ohio, whose name was Sears. Then came from Virginia, the Howards, James and Samuel, who located on the property which is still in the possession of the Howard family. Afterward, Jacob Lewis, from Ohio built his cabin close to that of Mr. Himes.
Robert Rush, who was the first settler within the present corporation limits, had a blacksmith shop at “Rush’s Forks of the Road.” He is said to have held religious meetings at his house until the beginning of the church of Clouston. The blacksmith shop was built about 1800 and stood where the Bank of Cameron is now located.
While there were some settlers in the locality prior to the building of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, it was the building of this railway which gave birth to Cameron, as a town of importance. Until this time the settlement had been unnamed. The Irish have always played an important role in the development and upbuilding of America and it was an Irishman who gave Cameron its name. David McConaughey, who was born in Ireland, who had later been connected with the Exchange Bank in Wheeling, and who was a merchant at Haneytown, bought a tract of land upon which the principal part of Cameron is now located. He erected the first building on Grave Creek, east of the Moundsville locality. He married Anna Davis, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Davis, of Ohio, in 1876 and they at once took up their residence in the new home and were among the first settlers of the locality. However, the first changes of importance came with the finishing of the railway in 1852. At this time the honor of naming the town was conferred upon the elder David McConaughey, who christened it Cameron, in honor of his friend, Samuel Cameron, railroad official of prominence, who in 1853 took cholera at Moundsville, died, and was taken to Charles Town, Jefferson County, Virginia, for burial.
Unhampered by unfavorable environment or by settlers of undesirable character, this enterprising little village, which lies in a narrow valley, along either side of Grave Creek on the line of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, seventeen miles east of Moundsville, the county seat of Marshall County, twenty-seven miles east of Wheeling and three hundred fifty miles west of Baltimore, grew very rapidly. On both sides of this town arise very steep hills. To the south, up against the base of which the town is built, is a hill one hundred fifty in altitude and almost perpendicular; to the north appears a steep bluff, somewhat debarring the town’s expansion in either of these directions. In fact, the town now covers all land readily eligible for village property. Its trade, which reaches Wetzel County on the south and Pennsylvania on the east, is extensive, since the town logically is the most accessible shipping point for either Greene or Wetzel County. It is acknowledged to be the best business center between Wheeling and Fairmont.
The town was not regularly laid out in streets and alleys at first. Lots were sold by David McConaughey, the original owner of the land, in parcels and localities to suit the purchasers. In 1858 Oliver and Marshall Jackson with Dr. S. B. Stidger bought and laid out in streets and alleys, one hundred and eleven acres on the south side of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, an addition known as Jackson’s and Stidger’s. Subsequently, William McConaughey laid out and numbered a row of lots on the north of the county road and railroad.
The early settlers found many proofs which indicated Indian occupancy besides the mere presence of wandering parties. The most striking proofs were pictures of moccasins and scalps cut on trees. Numerous arrows and flints were unearthed when the fields were plowed. Like all pioneers in the Allegheny plateau region, the men farmed and hunted for their living. At the time Marshall County offered a bounty on the scalps of wild animals, that on wolves and foxes being one dollar per head. The men cut hoop poles and made potash from burnt ashes. The women wove a cloth called “linsey-woolsey” from which they made clothing for both men and women. They spun flax also. The household furniture was made at home but these early settlers bought their harness and tools in Wheeling where they were obliged to travel that distance, twenty-seven miles, on horseback for their mail or for a newspaper, the Argosy, which was published during the first half of the nineteenth century.
We must not think that these early settlers led lives utterly devoid of merry-making and social intercourse. They had many gatherings, such as: “corn-huskings,” “log-rollings,” “House-raisings,” and “wood-choppings,” on which occasions all the neighbors from far and near would gather for the purpose of having a good time as well as getting an extra amount of work accomplished. An interesting part of the cornhusking was the race for which two captains were selected. After the members of each side where chosen, they were given a certain number of ears of corn to husk and the side husking the largest number of ears won the race. Often the race was settled by two captains having a wrestling match and sometimes this ended in a fight.
The first buildings, homes and business houses, in Cameron were erected just before the opening of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. Mr. William McConaughey opened the first grocery store, in 1851, near what is now the Cameron Cemetery. Mr. Martin Dunlap was the contractor for the erection of this building, in which goods were sold until the store was moved to the railroad company’s warehouse which had been built by Mr. Cameron, the right-of-way agent for the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. This was the second building erected and it was built near the present location of the Rexall Drug Store. Dr. S. B. Stidger built the third, which was used as an office as well as a home. Later this was torn down and Sinsel’s Hardware Store was built on its site. Although McConaughey owned the first store within the corporation, William Clouston had, previous to this time, a store about four hundred yards down the creek from where the Clouston Church now stands. A Mr. Hosack opened a general merchandise store in Cameron soon after Mr. McConaughey opened the grocery. Later, Alexander Black of Waynesburg, Andrew Clark, and William Woodburn engaged in the mercantile business. Mr. Black soon began to buy and ship grain. Mr. Clark in the meantime had sold to John Miller (1864). In 1872 Hicks and McDonald opened a store. Jacob Rit and John Marshall succeeded Robert Rush as blacksmiths.
The first grist-mill located within easy reach of the settlers was at Glen Easton. It was built about 1843 by a man named Potter. A few years later a mill was built at what is now Loudenville, by John Messicker. The first flour mill built in Cameron was the present one of Isleman and Hagan’s. It was built by Marion Jackson, about the year 1857.
The first factory, a stave factory, was established in 1869 and was run by Miller and Boerner. At one time they manufactured staves enough for one thousand kegs per day. The site of this factory was where George W. Taylor’s grocery now stands.
Although the schools and methods were primitive, as were those in all early settlements, the settlers of Cameron, a century ago, did not lack means of obtaining an education. The first school near Cameron was opened in a log house on what is now the McCracken farm, at Green Valley. The house contained one room. The seats were made of saplings, split in two, to which legs were attached.
The seats had no backs. The first school teacher was William Teagarden. The pupils used the United States spelling book, and the Western Calculator for arithmetic. After the Methodist Episcopal Church was completed on what is now North Avenue, or “Stringtown,” in 1853, it was used as a school-house, and in it was opened the first school within the present corporation limits.
Among the first teachers were a Mrs. Roberts and F. L. Parkinson. The pupils studied the United States speller, primary grammar, Ray’s first part of arithmetic, and McCuffy’s readers.
The first church services were held by the Methodist denomination about 1825 by itinerant ministers who would come by way of Robert’s Ridge from the Ohio River and the great Western Circuit, or by way of Silver Hill from the mouth of Fish Creek at New Martinsville, enroute to Washington and Pittsburgh. A small class was organized shortly after the class of the Clouston Church came into existence, and it is said that Bishop Asbury, Bishop Coke and others assisted in a camp-meeting on the level ground where now is located the High School Athletic Field. In the late forties the home of Mr. Rush, who owned a blacksmith shop, was located on the level ground where now is the present site of the present Bank of Cameron, was the headquarters of these itinerants who came early this way from East or West. Mr. Rush’s house often served for meetings. Methodism came into the Grave Creek Valley in an organized form with the settlers. (Records show that the Clouston Methodist Church was organized by the Rev. Moses Tichenell, assisted by a local preacher, Edward Dowler, in 1836, but, as above stated, previous to this, preaching by the circuit-riders was common before 1825.)
The first Methodist meetings at Clouston were held at the home of William Clouston, but a log church was built and dedicated in 1841, and the little class which had been served for several years at “Rush’s Forks of the Road” was merged with the Clouston Church and continued for almost thirty years. This church survived the divisions of the Civil War, and became, during the “fifties,” a part of the Grave Creek Circuit, the preacher traveling out of Moundsville. (Cameron Church was again organized and became a part of the Grave Creek Circuit in 1854, the year after the coming of the railroad, and a small chapel was built, Rev. A. A. Reager being the first minister.)
The greatest revival in the history of the Clouston Church was held in 1875, during the ministry of Rev. T. B. Hughes, who was the father of the son who became a bishop in the Methodist Church. Fork Ridge Baptist Church and Rock Lick Presbyterian Church were organized as an outcome of this revival.
In a short while the First Methodist Church at Cameron built a small chapel on the site of the present commodious building and continued to be a part of the Grave Creek Circuit until made a part of the Moundsville Circuit, becoming in the late “seventies” the Cameron Circuit, with the parsonage in Cameron. Clouston was then made a part of the Cameron charge. This relation was continued until 1897-1900, when Cameron became a flourishing church and serving a large community and has for upwards of a hundred years.
Although physicians were few in the early settlements, the people of Cameron were able to secure those who could minister to their physical needs as early as, probably, 1840. The first physicians who practiced near here were Dr. Baldwin, of Rock Lick, who lived there about 1840, and Dr. Walker, who practiced near Rock Lick also, but later in Cameron. Dr. S. B. Stidger was of the early physicians also. He was located near Jacob Burley’s farm, at Rock Lick, in 1851, but after the closing of the B. & O. tracks in 1852 moved to the present site of Cameron and built one of the first frame houses here.
In the “History of the Upper Panhandle,” we are told that the first hotel was opened by Joshua A. Frye, in the McConaughey building, in 1852. According to Samuel Howard, whose recollection of Cameron in those early days was very clear, Mr. J. Fitzgerald opened the first hotel, although Mr. Frye had a boarding house previous to the time at which Mr. Fitzgerald’s hotel was opened. The Parriott Hotel was among the oldest hotels in the county, and in its time was known far and near as an excellent inn.
In the old days, before Cameron was under city government, the justice of peace was the chief officer. He was elected by the people. The first two justices of peace, Jacob Burley and Samuel Howard, with Benjamin McMechen, Samuel Parriott, a man named Zodoc, and another Masters, constituted the first county court, according to the law which governed Marshall County, May 1, 1835.
A fair was an annual event of the town for many years. The first fair held in Cameron was in the fall of 1871, on what is now Senator Yoho’s farm. It was styled “The Western Pennsylvania, Eastern Ohio and West Virginia Agriculture Society.” Dr. Stidger and Criswell originated the fair and it was run by them for two years, with very flattering results, clearing one thousand two hundred dollars the first year after paying liberal premiums.
In 1873, Dr. Stidger sold his farm upon which the grounds were situated, and then a company of twenty persons took it in hands and one fair was held under this association. Later, Squire Keyser held two fairs. The first exhibition paid for the inclosure, the grounds and the erection of necessary buildings which cost two thousand one hundred dollars. Other improvements were added to the amount of seven hundred dollars, making the total cost of the fair grounds two thousand eight hundred dollars. About the year 1888 the fair passed out of existence.
Cameron was incorporated under the laws of West Virginia about the time of the breaking out of the rebellion, but its charter was permitted to lapse; however, the town was again incorporated by the Circuit Court of Marshall County at the March term of Court, 1879, under the provisions of Chapter 47 of the Code of West Virginia, which laws still abides.
The first election was held on May 22, 1879. The inspectors in charge were: A. J. Booher, F. M. Reynolds, and R. H. L. Wells. The survey of the town was made by C. E. McCray, J. J. Chaddock and F. M. Wayman. The certificate of the survey gave the following boundaries: A line extending from the J. B. Hicks farm, now the Moose farm, west of town, east to the Howard and Murphy farms, now occupied by Messrs. Dallison and Reed, thence up on Murphy’s Hill, to a white oak tree; west, to a chestnut tree. It is needless to say that these boundaries would be indefinite today, as Cameron has outlived both the oak and the chestnut tree. The tract of land first incorporated contained about three hundred and thirty-six acres.
The first mayor of Cameron was Obadiah Moore. Some of the older prominent men that have served in that capacity are: James Dunlevy, William McDonald, M. B. Helms, Rev. Yoho, P. E. Richardson and others.
In 1875, the latter part of December, the first number of a five column quarto styled the Free Press made its appearance in Cameron, which was the primitive and only newspaper printed in the village. It was printed by J. R. Faulker but was short lived. Mr. Faulker issued the Free Press for about a year and a half at the subscription price of $1.50. For want of proper support he was obliged to discontinue this little journal which it is said was a spicy paper during its lifetime.
David McConaughey was the first postmaster of Cameron village, having received the appointment under President Pierce. He held the office for several years. In March, 1857, J. B. Bell received the post office under Buchanan’s administration and held it until 1861. E. Whitmire was then commissioned postmaster, retaining the office well until 1865. In January of the year 1867, M. C. Todd was appointed by President Johnson, and filled the office until March 4, 1867, when John W. Davis, under the same administration was placed in his stead.
As a shipping point for stock, Cameron surpassed many towns along the line of the B. & O. R. R. with more than double its population. In 1878 over one hundred and seventy car loads of stock, principally hogs, were shipped from Cameron. The passenger and freight receipts averaged one thousand two hundred per month. The station agent reported for the month of February, 1878, the shipping from Cameron alone was forty cars of stock, grain, etc. A great deal of grain and stock was taken by wagons to this station from Greene County, Pennsylvania, for the eastern markets and often too, from a portion of Wetzel County, shipments were made at this place.
ESTABLISHMENT OF PUBLIC UTILITY
INTRODUCTION-The town made slow progress until the early nineties when natural gas was found in great quantities near the town and a new era was inaugurated. Since that date Cameron has not only grown in population but in all lines of progress, and today there are not many towns of its size that possess so many and so varied manufacturing establishments and business enterprises.
It is perhaps the best favored town in the state in the way of cheap gas for fuel and lights, the rate for domestic use being only 27c per 1,000 cu. ft. and still cheaper rates are given for manufacturing purposes. The gas is furnished in this vicinity by the Cameron Heat and Light and Manufacturing Gas and Electric Light Company.
THE CAMERON HEAT AND LIGHT COMPANY-This Company was incorporated December 27, 1904.
The capital stock of $25,000.00 is represented by 1,000 shares at $25.00 each. The organization meeting was held in the mayor’s office, December 12, 1904, when Mr. William Kincaid was elected temporary chairman and Mr. H. W. Sinsel was elected temporary secretary.
At this time Messrs. William Kincaid, T. C. Pipes and G. E. Hoffman were appointed as a committee to draft the constitution and by-laws.
The object of the organization was to secure cheaper natural gas for the citizens of Cameron and vicinity.
At a meeting held on December 20, 1904, the charter having been secured, the corporation was organized and the following board of directors were elected: Mr. J. W. Dunlevy, President; Mr. William Nowell, Treasurer; Mr. W. H. Loper, Secretary; Mr. William Kincaid, Dr. C. E. Hutchinson, Mr. George Hoffman, Mr. S. B. Hinerman, Mr. John Hagerman, Mr. S. E. Leach, Mr. J. N. Howard and Mr. C. G. Fish, Directors.
It is probably appropriate at this time to note that although more than twenty-one years have passed and the board of directors now consists of five men only, three of these five were members of the original board of directors, two-wit: Messrs. Dr. C. E. Hutchinson, J. N. Howard and C. G. Fish.
In 1907 Dr. C. E. Hutchinson was elected president and has held that office continually for the past thirty years.
Mr. W. H. Loper, the first secretary, held office continually for twenty years except during the 1918-20 and 21 years, during time Harvey Hicks served as secretary. Mr. Loper resigned this office on November 1, 1925, when Mr. R. L. Straub was appointed by the board to fill the unexpired term until the next stockholders’ meeting in January, 1926, at which time he was elected to the position of secretary-treasurer and re-elected in January, 1927.
The officers for 1928 are as follows: Dr. C. E. Hutchinson, President; Mr. William Davis, Vice-President; C. G. Fish, J. N. Howard, C. H. Carpenter and R. L. Straub, Directors.
The corporation operates eight producing gas wells in West Virginia and two gas wells in Greene County, Pennsylvania.
It has approximately fifteen miles of pipe lines, and the annual production of natural gas is 170,753,00 cu. ft.
The company furnishes gas to about 500 domestic consumers and industrial consumers.
Through the operation of this company, which is operated and owned by local capital, the citizens of Cameron community have enjoyed a saving of about 50% on the cost of fuel for more than twenty years.
The first superintendent was Mr. G. E. Hoffman, who was succeeded October 1, 1905, by Mr. L. O. Bonar, who has had charge of the property continually and is still active.
THE MANUFACTURERS GAS & ELECTRIC LIGHT COMPANY-This corporation was organized in 1911 for the purpose of furnishing natural gas to Cameron, West Virginia, and vicinity, for domestic and industrial purposes. The capital stock authorized and the outstanding stock is $15,000.00.
This company controls and operates several leases in and near Cameron, West Virginia, and has nine wells in operation.
In 1918 Eljer Company purchased approximately 60% of the stock of this company, its intention being to be more aggressive in securing a gas supply for the city of Cameron, but with special reference to securing an adequate supply for its pottery, which has been one of the principal industries of this community.
The present officers of the company are: R. E. Crane, President; H. M. Fisher, Vice-President and General Manager; H. W. Sinsel, Treasurer; and O. W. Rush, Secretary.
THE BALTIMORE AND OHIO RAILROAD-Of all things that make for a civilization and the general improvement and upbuilding of a community, the railroad has been and probably always will be the most active agent through which it is possible to obtain the greatest degree of success. In this respect, Cameron has been most fortunate, the B. & O. Railroad being completed through the town in December, 1852, connecting this city with Baltimore and other cities in the east and Wheeling and Pittsburgh in the west.
THE ELECTRIC LIGHT AND POWER PLANT-The long hoped for public light and power system for Cameron was made evident when preliminary work of making estimates pertaining to cost of construction and to materials needed was started by Mr. R. M. Stern, general manager of the Wheeling Public Service Company, and Mr. J. A. Foster, construction engineer of the Southern City’s Power Company, of Chattanooga, Tennessee, May 12, 1924.
All estimates and information on the subject were completed June 28, 1924, and application for franchise was placed before the council of the city of Cameron. This was granted July 2, 1924.
The project of electrifying the city was brought before the people of Cameron by a canvas to ascertain the number of possible consumers of electric current. This work was accomplished by H. D. Pearly, July 12, 1924.
Survey of the pole began July 20, 1924, and was completed August 18, 1924, construction work on the lines immediately following completion of the survey. Owing to reverse weather conditions this work was not completed until late March, 1925.
A site for the power plant was leased from the Cameron Glass and Manufacturing Company, and ground broken for building and everything arranged for November 21, 1924. The concrete work on foundation for building and machinery was completed by Engstrom and Company, of Wheeling, West Virginia, December 17, 1924. Steel construction work on plant building was completed by the Moss Iron Works of Wheeling.
Since it has been in operation the entire plant has been closed but a very few times, the service being very favorable to most and far superior to some rendered in the larger cities.
Since continuous electric service was made available to the public, the number of consumers of current have steadily grown until the West Virginia Utilities Company has been enabled to reduce their rates for the city of Cameron from twelve and one-half to ten cents per kilowatt per hour. At the present time all public buildings are connected to the company’s lines, with the exception of the city building, the Central school and the high school building. It is but a matter of time until they too will become users of public utility light and power.
Having completed the construction work, and all equipment tested, his work being found satisfactory, Mr. Foster was transferred to another job, and the plant turned over to a local crew for operation, June 1, 1925. Members of the operating crew are: Howard Buzzard, Superintendent; Milford Richmond, Stidger Chambers and John Burley, Engineers.
THE CHESAPEAKE AND POTOMAC-The Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone Company, which was formerly the Bell Telephone Company, was organized in this city in January, 1901, the first operator being Miss Alta Parriott. This company does not have any local subscribers but takes care of all long distance messages. The present operators are: Misses Opal Poorman, Roxie Cramer and Elsa Reed.
CAMERON TELEPHONE COMPANY-The Bell Telephone Company had the first phone service in Cameron, which was long distance only. This was some time prior to 1915. Some telephone service was attempted about 1896 but the company got into debt, and things did not go well, and on February 24, 1898, the town council granted a franchise to the Keystone Telephone Company, operating under that name until 1902, when it became The Cameron Telephone Company, with J. H. Wise and others interested in it. Local service was probably started about 1898. Despite the fact that there never was a National phone in Cameron, this is the designation by which the system of the Cameron Telephone Company is often identified. The name “National” came about because of the National Telephone Company of Wheeling having a toll line in the exchange of the Cameron Telephone Company for long distance service out of Cameron.
J. H. Wise was actively engaged in the telephone business until 1920, when he disposed of his holdings to the present owners. Mr. Melvin White is President; Mr. A. F. Wise, Manager; Mrs. Myrtle White, Secretary; and Mrs. Vina B. Wise, Treasurer. These officers are also the owners of the company. In addition to local service, the Cameron Telephone Company gives its subscribers free long distance service to Waynesburg, Pa., Garrison, Pa., Deep Valley, Pa., Wadestown, W. Va., Hundred, W. Va., Littleton, W. Va., Denver, W. Va., as well as all surrounding country which is reached direct from their own exchange at Cameron. This service to subscribers is made possible by agreements with other companies whereby an exchange of message is made possible. Other long distance service to all points is handled through the local office of the Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Company (Bell System). The property of the Cameron Telephone Company has been improved within the past two years, and during 1927 the last of the old grounded circuits will have taken their places, even to the far outlying country districts. Within the corporation a considerable amount of telephone cable has been installed. Further improvements will follow within the near future and Cameron may soon have a telephone system comparable to those in our larger cities. The present operators are: Virginia Smitley, Mrs. Ida Mae Hipsley and Fern Greye.
UNITED FARMERS TELEHONE COMPANY-On March 16, 1906, a number of farmers from Greene County, Pennsylvania, and Marshall County, West Virginia, met at Cameron, West Virginia, and by mutual consent united under the name of the United Farmers Telephone Company of West Virginia and agreed to form a general organization.
After adopting a constitution they elected the following directors: P. R. Chapman, George Houston, John Lough, George Leichter, John Hagerman, and A. B. Chapman, President; A. B. Barnett, Secretary; and John Lough, Treasurer. The directors proceeded at once through their attorney to obtain a franchise from the town of Cameron to do a general telephone business within the limits of said corporation.
They also made application to the state of West Virginia for a charter, which they received May 8, 1906.
There were fifty farmers who became organized stockholders. They formed three local lines. From that day to this the company has made great progress. The fifty subscribers have increased to approximately four hundred, and the three local lines to sixteen local lines reaching out into sixteen different neighborhoods. These sixteen lines are connected to the switchboard in Cameron, which is the company’s headquarters. The following farmers have served as presidents: P. R. Chapman, John Lough, Jacob Bowers, Frank Mackey and Aaron Porter.
This company has mutual and free connections with the Farmers Mutual Telephone Company of West Virginia, the Silver Hill Telephone Company of West Virginia and others, which enables them to call approximately two thousand homes in the country, besides the business places and many private homes in this city, which makes it one of the best telephone companies in Marshall County. The present operators are: Mrs. Judson Haun, Sr., and Miss Gladys Baker.
TELEGRAPH-The Western Union Telegraph office was opened in Cameron about the year 1852. The present operators are: Messrs. Carl Hicks, Garl McCracken and Frank Jones.
Mr. Harry Zinnerman, now retired, held this office for over fifty-five years.
WATER SYSTEM-The city has a fine water system which was begun in 1901.
Mr. C. E. Lancaster was appointed the first superintendent and had charge of laying all the lines at that time.
The first pump station is the present one located in the west end of the city. At the present time it pumps six wells of water to the city reservoir, which has a capacity of 160,000 gallons.
In 1905 this station was not able to meet the demands of the city and another station was built on Grave Creek, about two miles from the corporation limits.
The Grave Creek station pumps the water from seven wells, having a purifying capacity of 5,767 gallons per hour.
The city owns at the present time over six miles of cast iron water lines, more than three miles of which was replaced with a new line during the past two years.
There are two miles of six-inch pipe; one-half mile of eight-inch pipe which carries the water from the main line to the reservoir on Crawford Hill; and there are three and one-half miles of four-inch Pyers pipe which carries the water from the Grave Creek Station reservoir, which has a capacity of 5,800 gallons, to the city reservoir.
The recent state chemical test showed the water supplied from the Grave Creek Station was soft and perfect. The water from the city station was hard and pure.
There are over four hundred consumers. The rate is 62 1/2c per 1000 gallons or 50c a spigot on the flat rate.
The entire system is in charge of a Water Committee composed of three council members. The present committee is Mr. George King, Chairman; Mr. R. G. Stewart, and Mr. Frank Dillaman.
Mr. W. V. Smith is pumper at the city station and Mr. Henry Isleman is pumper at the Grave Creek station.
The citizens of Cameron are indeed fortunate in having such a fine water supply, as no case of typhoid fever has resulted from the use of city water.
Cameron’s Industrial Expansion dates back to 1869, when the first factory, a stave factory, was established and run by Miller and Boerner. At one time they manufactured staves enough for one thousand kegs a day. The site of the factory was where George W. Taylor’s grocery store now stands.
MILLS-Hagans & Isleman Flour Mill. The first grist mill located within the reach of the settlers was at Glen Easton. It was built about 1843 by a man named Potter. A few years later a mill was built at what is now Loudensville by John Messiger. The first flour mill built in Cameron is the present New Roller Flour Mill, owned and operated by Hagans and Isleman. This was originally a building forty feet square, four stories high, with a one-story engine house on each side. It contained two sets of buhrs for flour and one set for feed and meal, with other necessary machinery. W. H. Reese was the original buhr miller and was employed until the roller process was put in by Reese and Dunlevy, in 1874. Jackson sold it to John Lydick in 1868, who ran it a number of years and sold it to William Woodburn, J. B. Hicks and J. M. Pipes, who sold it, January 9, 1874, to W. H. Reese and J. W. Dunlevy. They retained one pair of buhrs for feed and meal. The motive power was a seventy-five horse-power steam engine with a boiler fourteen feet long and five feet high, containing forty-six four-inch flues. Coal was used for fuel until natural gas was struck, when they changed to that fuel. They built a two-story addition, forty by fifteen feet, on west end, with storage capacity of 10,000 bushels of wheat. They were in partnership for twenty-one years. H. W. Byrnes was the miller during that time. January 16, 1895, Mr. Dunlevy bought the interest of Mr. Reese and continued with Mr. Byrnes as miller until April 1, 1896, when J. H. Isleman was employed and is still filling the position. At the death of Mr. Dunlevy, June 14, 1906, it was sold at an administrator’s sale, April 1, 1907, to W. H. Hagans, forming the firm name of Hagans and Isleman. The firm continued in business until the death of Mr. Hagans in 1927, when the company ceased operations.
WATSON BROTHERS & COMPANY-In the year 1900 F. J. Watson and George R. Watson, comprising the firm of Watson Brothers, engaged in the flour milling and grain business at Proctor, West Virginia. This business was carried on successfully until 1902, when their interests at Proctor were disposed of and the flour mill at Loudensville, West Virginia, was purchased by them from J. S. Rogers. At this time the father, R. B. Watson, came into the firm and the name was changed to Watson Brothers & Company. In 1904 the flour and feed business, conducted by Harrison Hicks, located on Waynesburg Avenue, Cameron, West Virginia, was purchased by the company. At the death of R. B. Watson, January, 1915, the business was taken over by George B. and F. M. Watson, the former managing the Cameron branch of the business and the latter operating the mill at Loudensville until 1920, at which time the property was disposed of and a new flour mill, with a capacity of fifty barrels of flour per day, was installed in their building at Cameron which is still being successfully operated.
PATTERSON GLASS AND MANUFACTURING COMPANY-One of the oldest window glass factories in West Virginia, started in 1901 by Guy B. Patterson and others from Barnesville, Ohio. The company was located in Cameron because of the abundance of cheap natural gas, as well as the proximity to find glass sand and raw limestone, sand being used from Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, and limestone from Martinsburg, West Virginia.
The factory was originally a pot furnace, but a continuous tank was built in 1907. This was called a twenty-four blower tank, and the plant employed but one hundred and fifty men, adult labor, no boys being used. This hand-blown method of making glass is being gradually superceded by machine methods, both cylindrical and sheet form of operation. The plant has now been in operation for several years. The present owner is Mr. Guy B. Patterson, who is also secretary and manager of the plant.
THE CAMERON GLASS COMPANY-The Cameron Glass Company, a partnership organized in 1914 by Mr. John F. Whelan, Mr. James A. Whelan, Mr. George Ludolph and Mr. James F. Donahue, all formerly employed in the Bridgeport Lamp Chimney Company, in Bridgeport, West Virginia.
The plant started operations in the fall of 1914 with six lamp chimney shops, employing twenty persons.
This company continued until the summer of 1916, when a further enlargement being found desirable, Mr. R. L. Straub was admitted to the partnership, the plant enlarged to twenty-four shop operation, employing ninety person.
In the meantime, Mr. James A. Frank, who had formerly been connected with the Industrial Glass Company, organized and started operations of a small Lantern Globe Company, employing fifteen persons. This plant was adjoining with and connected to the plant of the Cameron Glass Company and a close cooperative spirit grew up between the two companies. Later the Cameron Glass Company acquired controlling interest in the Diamond Flint Glass Company, and the two plants grew still closer together, resulting, in the year 1921, of a consolidation and incorporation of the present company, the Cameron Glass and Manufacturing Company, which corporation took over the Glass Company and the Diamond Flint Glass Company with the following officers: Mr. James A. Donahue, President; Mr. James A. Whelan, Vice-President; Mr. James A. Frank, Treasurer; and Mr. R. L. Straub, Secretary.
The corporation has continued operations under the same officers as were elected in 1921.
The annual production is approximately three million pieces of glass ware.
The wages paid since the organization began amounts to nearly one million dollars.
It may be interesting to recall that our treasurer, Mr. James A. Frank, was the original organizer of the East End Industrial Development.
Coming to Cameron in 1912, Mr. Frank interested Mr. Clell Nichols in the possible industrial development of Cameron and Mr. Nichols donated to the community about eight acres of bottom land in the east end of Cameron for industrial sites, deeding it to Mr. Lloyd Strope and Dr. C. E. Hutchinson as trustees.
The next step in the east development was the construction of a railroad siding to a site donated by Mr. Nichols.
Under the leadership of Mr. Lloyd Strope an organization was formed to solicit funds and approximately $3000.00 was raised by public subscription to finance the building of the siding.
Mr. Frank, with the assistance of local capital, built and operated the Industrial Glass Company, now known as the Perfect Glass Company.
The facilities afforded by the construction of this siding was, no doubt, responsible for the organization of the large field force of the Manufacturer’s Light & Heat Company in Cameron.
In writing the history of the industrial development of Cameron, too much credit cannot be given to Mr. Frank for his courage and foresight in starting the movement. This company was later incorporated, as stated above.
The present products being manufactured consists of stemware, footed tumblers and pressed novelties in crystal, amber, green and rose-colored.
THE ELJER POTTERY COMPANY-The first pottery in Cameron was promoted by Mr. Mike Benedum and others, in the late nineties. They also built a plant at Mannington about the same time. Both of these plants manufactured table ware. The first few years operations were not a financial success and the plant laid idle for a few years.
On January 29, 1907, Mr. O. J. Backus and R. E. Crane purchased the plant under the business name of the Eljer Company of New Jersey.
Shortly after this time Mr. D. F. Merritt joined the company and the years of 1907 to 1912 were used in the endeavor to get the plant on a paying basis and with the help of certain inventions, such as the round tank and round lavatory, they finally got a good start and by the year 1913 had built a substantial business which could not be taken care of in the West Virginia plant.
A very large table-ware plant was acquired at Ford City, Pennsylvania, in 1918. This has been turned into a sanitary plant and has been completely modernized with complete equipment of clay-making machinery, tunnel kilns, etc.
This company is still operating and when working full time employs about two hundred men.
THE CAMERON TOOL COMPANY-The Cameron Tool Company was incorporated in March, 1903, having succeeded Hoch and Altenburg, a partnership firm, who had previously carried on the business as an oil country tool shop. Among the first officers elected to guide the destiny of the new corporation were: Mr. Harry Berkely, Sr., General Manager, and Mr. Verne Monroe as Secretary and Treasurer. These two men were skilled in their respective branches of this business, and with the closest co-operation there resulted a prosperous business which continued through many years.
With these two men, who took such an active part in the affairs of this concern, were associated several drilling contractors and others who were more or less connected with the development of the prolific oil and gas fields in this immediate vicinity. Some of these men were represented on the board of directors.
With the heavy curtailment of drilling operations in this vicinity during the years of 1906-1907, many of the contractors who were stockholders moved to other fields of greater activity.
Messrs. Monroe and Berkely, having faith in the future of the oil and gas industry, even in the face of these local discouraging conditions, bought up the majority of outstanding stock which was offered for sale, and which netted the original stockholders a satisfactory return on their investment.
With the resumption of drilling activity which came later, the company launched a program of expansion which included the enlargement of the original plant-the installation of modern equipment, and the erection of several buildings and warehouses in order to accommodate the department of oil well supplies added about that time.
This continued until the year 1919, when a consolidation was effected with Spang and Company of Butler, Pennsylvania, who were then doing business in this state under the corporate name of Spang and Company of West Virginia, with branch shops at Clarksburg, West Virginia. Mr. Monroe was named Treasurer and General Manager of the West Virginia interests, and also Vice-President of the parent company at Butler, Pennsylvania, Mr. Berkely having retired about two years previous to enjoy the fruits of his labor.
The business had now grown to such proportions that the need of a new and larger plant was apparent. Accordingly, a new site was selected in the eastern part of the city, and in July, 1919, ground was broken for a new plant, requiring over one year to build, and as completed is conceded to be one of the finest of its kind in the United States.
On January 1, 1924, a company was formed by Mr. Monroe and associates who took over this splendid plant, Spang and Company of West Virginia retiring. A company was incorporated and a charter granted to the Cameron Tool and Supply Company with a paid-up capitalization of $150,000.00, with Mr. Monroe as its President, who is now continuing in that capacity.
Thus, with only slight interruption, through nearly a quarter of a century, the Cameron Tool Company served the industry wherever oil and gas is found, both in this country and foreign countries, and is recognized as one of the stable industries of our city.
The employees, some having been working with Mr. Monroe for many years, are among Cameron’s best citizens, being almost without exception home owners, church goers, and taking an active interest generally in affairs which go to make up an ideal community life.
THE PERFECT GLASS COMPANY-The Perfect Glass Company, a corporation organized under the laws of the State of West Virginia in January, 1926. Mr. Edward Johns of Wheeling, West Virginia, is President; Robert M. Johns of Wheeling, Vice-President; Edward Johns of Martins Ferry, Ohio, Secretary and Treasurer.
The plant now occupied by the Perfect Glass company was built and completed in September, 1912, by a corporation known as the Industrial Glass Company, James A. Frank, President and General Superintendent; Lloyd Strope, Secretary and Treasurer. The directors and stockholders of this corporation were Lloyd Strope, James A. Frank, John Elbin, Samuel King, Charles Lancaster, William Nowell and D. T. Burton.
The products produced by the Industrial Glass Company comprised bottles for E. C. Flaccus Company of Wheeling, West Virginia, fruit jars for the Hazel-Atlas Glass Company of Wheeling, West Virginia, lantern globes and glass globes for the trade in general.
In January, 1917, a re-organization of The Industrial Glass Company was made, at which time the name was changed to Industrial Glass Manufacturing Company. At this time Mr. W. J. Wambaugh, Louis Kaufield and M. A. Scherr of Morgantown, West Virginia, became interested. Mr. Wambaugh was elected President and M. A. Scherr Secretary. The products were changed to bar tumblers and table tumblers.
In October, 1923, the plant was sold, due to bankruptcy proceedings, at which time Mr. H. L. Robinson of Uniontown, Pennsylvania, purchased the plant. A new company was immediately organized under the name of the Eureka Tumbler Company. Mr. H. L. Robinson was elected President and John L. Robinson Secretary. This company continued in possession of the plant until June, 1925, at which time the property was leased to The Perfect Glass Company, at that time unorganized. The products of The Perfect Glass Company are table tumblers and stemware.
THE MOUNDSVILLE LUMBER COMPANY-Messrs. Roy Allen, William Batson and Frank Ferrell started the planing mill business in Cameron in the early eighties. In 1892 Warren Wilson bought Roy Allen’s interest. In 1908 Mr. Wilson bought the other two interests of Batson and Ferrell.
Mr. Wilson sold the entire business to the Moundsville Lumber Company on October 25, 1919. Mr. Thomas S. Wilson was then made manager of the company.
ANTILL LUMBER COMPANY-Lewis Antill and Son began the lumber business in Cameron in February, 1922. Since that date the business has grown until it is now one of the leading industries in the city. A fine three-story brick building was erected in 1927 by this company. Part of the main floor is used for an office and the rest of this floor, as well as the other two floors, are used for the display of the large stock which the company carries.
SMILE BOTTLING WORKS-This company began business in 1922 in the bottling of carbonated beverages. Later in the year a jobbing department of near beer, ice and Imperial Ice Cream was added.
The company from the start has always kept in mind a policy of high-grade beverages, nicely flavored.
The word “Smile” is derived from the pure fruit that is the leading beverage bottled at the plant. For a time only a few different flavors were bottled but today the company bottles thirteen different flavors. From a small beginning, this company has grown from a few hundred cases a year to almost 10,000 cases a year.
This company was organized by Mr. Aaron Porter and his son Aaron Porter. On July 26, 1925, Mr. John J. O’Neill joined the company and in November of the same year a jobbing department of confections, paper bags, and a general line of sundries was added.
The company now has a fleet of four trucks, employing regularly from four to twelve people, according to the season’s requirements. Mr. Aaron Porter is President; Arnold Porter, General Manager; Mr. John J. O’Neill, General Sales Manager, and Miss Clementine V. Porter, Secretary. The slogan of this company is “Service With A Smile.”
CITY BOUNDARIES-Cameron, so we are told, was first incorporated and received its charter under the law of Virginia. This occurred before the breaking out of the Civil War.
It was later incorporated by the Circuit Court of Marshall County at the March term of Court, 1879, under the Code of West Virginia, which law still abides.
The survey of the town was made by C. C. McCray, J. J. Chaddock, and F. M. Wayman. The certificates of the survey gave the following boundaries: A line extending from the J. B. Hicks, now the Moose farm, west of town, east to the Howard and Murphy farms, now occupied by Messrs. Dallison and Reid, thence up on Murphy’s Hill to a white oak tree; thence west to a chestnut tree. It is needless to say that these boundaries would be indefinite today, as Cameron has outlived both the oak and the chestnut. This tract of land incorporated contained about three hundred and thirty-six acres.
The present city boundaries, according to Senate Bill Number 383, introduced April 13, 1927, section two, are as follows: Beginning at the northeast corner of the county bridge over Grave Creek, southwest of site of Baltimore and Ohio railroad shops; thence down said creek eighty-seven degrees, thirty-five minutes west one hundred sixty feet to a stake; thence continuing down said creek forty-one degrees west, two hundred forty-two feet to a stake; thence leaving the creek and continuing up a drain north twenty-three degrees, twenty-five minutes east one thousand two hundred feet to a stake, north forty-five degrees, west forty-three from a sycamore; thence leaving said drain, continuing through the lands of George Gump, West Lawn Addition, and E. Hall south sixty-six degrees, twenty minutes two thousand two hundred feet to a stake, an original corner to the present corporation line of the town of Cameron; thence following the said present corporation the following ten courses and distances, south eighty-five degrees, east two hundred forty feet, north five degrees east nine hundred eighty-five feet; north three degrees east six hundred eighty-five feet; thence crossing north of Patterson Glass Company’s plant south thirty-nine degrees, ten minutes east, two hundred forty-nine feet; then south ten degrees, fifteen minutes west four hundred thirty-one feet; south one degree, forty-five minutes east two hundred sixty-four feet; south four degrees fifteen minutes west three hundred seventy-nine feet, south seventeen degrees east three hundred sixty feet; south twenty-four degrees south, east forty-one feet to corner of John Crawford’s land; thence leaving the present corporation line and continuing with line of lands of John Crawford and Lizzie McConaughey. Then north seventy-two feet, fifty minutes east one thousand twelve feet to an iron pin, corner to lands of John Crawford and George N. Yoho, and passing between said Yoho house and farm, north eighty-three feet to a stake in Yoho’s line, thirteen feet south of A. McCracken and Allen Kinsey’s lot, thence with George N. Yoho’s line north seventy-three degrees fifteen minutes east four hundred ninety-two feet to a stake, corner to lands of George N. Yoho; thence with his land north five degrees, twenty minutes east, five hundred forty-eight feet to a post in Yoho’s line and a corner to lands of Jerry A. Fitzgerald and McCracken and Simmons, south eighty-nine degrees fifteen minutes east, crossing the Cameron and Clouston pike six hundred feet to a stake on a flat in a field of S. D. McConaughey and D. W. McConaughey, south nineteen degrees west two thousand six hundred sixty feet to a locust stump; thence continuing through lands of D. W. McConaughey and J. M. Nichols, south eighty-three degrees, fifty minutes east two thousand three hundred twenty-four feet to a locust tree; thence south sixty-nine degrees east twelve hundred feet to the most northernly of three large white oaks on the east side of a drain; thence south seventeen degrees thirty minutes west seventy-one degrees to the twenty-eight mile post on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad; thence continuing through the lands of L. L. Howard, S. B. Dallison and J. A. Hicks’ heirs, south sixty-seven degrees, twenty minutes west twenty-seven hundred feet to a locust tree; thence south sixteen degrees forty-five minutes east forty-seven feet to a locust tree in J. A. Hicks’ heirs and S. B. Dallison line, thence south forty-seven degrees, fifteen minutes east five hundred degrees five minutes west to one hundred eighty feet to a stake one hundred seventy-five feet east of a drain; thence south forty-two degrees thirty-one west passing thirty feet east to residence of Nancy Barnett, crossing Ramp Hollow six hundred feet to a stake in Henry Wendt’s field; thence sixty-three degrees fifty minutes west one thousand nine to a corner of J. C. Reid and Dr. W.Teagarden; thence through said Teagarden’s land; north thirty-seven degrees west five hundred sixty feet to a dead white oak in Teagarden’s line; thence seventy-eight degrees north, west one thousand seventy-three feet to a locust tree; thence north seventy-three west eight hundred sixteen feet to a white oak on the west side of drain in W. Chambers’ lot; thence through the land of said Chambers and Harry Moose, passing barn and house of said Harry Moose, north seventy-three degrees west one thousand two hundred eighty feet, to a stake; thence through the lands of Harry Moose, Eljer Company, Mrs. Anderson, G. W. McCracken and David Gump, north sixty-two degrees west one thousand seven hundred ninety feet to a stake at the top of a bank in David Gump’s field; thence north twenty-nine degrees fifteen minutes west one hundred fifty-nine feet to the beginning, containing approximately five hundred A. according to survey made by R. C. Yoho, county surveyor, January fifth and sixth, one thousand nine hundred and fifteen.
CITY WARDS-The territory of the city was divided into wards in the year 1923. There are at present three wards, as follows: All that part of the city lying south of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad shall constitute the first ward; that part lying east of Bridge Street and North Avenue and north of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad shall constitute the second ward, and all that part lying west of Bridge Street and North Avenue and north of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad shall constitute the third ward.
INCREASE IN POPULATION-The first enumeration of Cameron was taken in 1880 and showed a population of four hundred and ninety-eight. Since that date there has been a steady increase in the population as is shown by the following enumeration: 1900, there were nine hundred sixty-four; 1910, there were 1600; January 1, 1914, there were about two thousand two hundred, and the present population is about three thousand.
BALTIMORE AND OHIO RAILROAD-The Baltimore and Ohio was the first railroad built in the United States. It soon extended its original line across the northern section of West Virginia. The Wheeling and Grafton lines were joined at Rosby’s Rock, nine miles west of Cameron, on Christmas Eve, 1852.
As soon as this line was opened for business the community entered upon a new era of growth and development. It was but natural that the stimulus to business would be far reaching in its effect, but the expectation of the most sanguine tradesmen were exceeded and Cameron became the chief shipping point for Marshall County, West Virginia, and Greene County, Pennsylvania.
STATE ROAD-The Wheeling-Fairmont State Highway as it is related to Marshall County and Cameron District, had its beginning in a Road Bond Issue in Cameron District when a bond issue of $234,000 was voted November 4, 1910. Out of these funds the road was built to Poplar Springs within the next two years.
In November, 1920, a Bond Issue of $50,000,000 was voted by the citizens of West Virginia. The Legislature in the spring of 1921 enacted the McClintic Road Bill which provided for the administration of the funds in the construction of roads to be designated by the State Road Commission as State Highways connecting up the various County Seats of the State.
As soon as the State Road Commission had been appointed by the Governor, as provided for in the McClintic Bill, a delegation was organized consisting of representatives from the various cities and towns between Wheeling and Fairmont and a conference with the State Road Commission on July 26, 1921, resulted in the designation of the Wheeling Branch and Fairmont Road as Route No. 6 of the State Highway System, and therefore set out as one of the roads to be built out of the State Bond Funds.
Rev. W. E. Pierce of this city was very active in the work which led to the hard-surfacing of these roads. He served as chairman of County Road Commission. He made several trips to Charleston in behalf of this work and his efforts were instrumental in securing these good roads.
In the meantime, however, the section of this road between Cameron and Poplar Springs having been contracted for out of the District Bond Fund, a conference was held with the State Road Commission on November 22, 1921, in which an agreement was effected which provided for the grading of the remaining section of this road to the Webster District line out of the Cameron District Bond Fund and the hard-surfacing out of the State Bond Fund.
In May, 1922, an agreement was made with the State Road Commission that provided for the building of the State Highway through Liberty District jointly by the State and District. Accordingly a bond issue was carried in Liberty District in August, 1922, for $175,000, which provided that $75,000 of this fund should be devoted to the grading of the State Highway through the district on condition that the State would then hard-surface the road. And on this basis this section of the road was completed in October, 1922.
A Bond Issue was carried in Webster District in October, 1923, to the State Road Commission the sum of $25,000 to be used in grading the State Highway through the District on condition that the State would then hard-surface the same. On this basis this section was completed in the fall of 1922.
A Bond Issue was carried in Washington District for $50,000 which was given entirely to the State for the purpose of grading the State Highway through that district on condition that the State would then put on the hard-surface and thus the whole section of the State Highway across the County of Marshall was built jointly by the State, too, and the Districts it penetrates.
The completion of State Route No. 6 was celebrated at Cameron Wednesday, October 20, 1926, although the road was opened for traffic before this time. This was the largest celebration ever held in this section, as over thirty thousand people were in attendance. The Wheeling representation was the largest, with over eight thousand present. Moundsville came next. Fairmont, Mannington, Littleton and Hundred were also well represented.
Reverend W. E. Pierce, pastor of the First Christian Church of this city, had charge of the commissary and a quantity of food that staggers the imagination was served to the hungry throng. There were many big things at the barbecue, but the biggest thing was the “Coffee Pot,’ which held fifteen thousand gallons of coffee and rested on a brick furnace five feet in diameter. This pot furnished thirty-five thousand cups of coffee. Quarters of steers furnished the meat for sandwiches and over forty thousand doughnuts and four hundred and fifty bushels of apples were handed out. Bands, namely, Wheeling, Morgantown, Fairmont, Cameron, Hundred and Littleton, furnished appropriate music for the celebration. There was music at all times, and when the day was nearly done the five groups, comprising over a hundred instruments, joined in a triumphal blast of melody that fairly made the hills quiver for miles around. The celebration lasted all day. Moving pictures were taken of the celebration and were shown at the Almo Theatre, of this city, about two weeks later.
CAMERON-The first cemetery within the present corporation limits is the Cameron Cemetery, located on Main Street in the west end of the city.
This ground was purchased from Robert Crawford and contained two acres. This company was incorporated on May 11, 1868, with the following officers: William Franklin, Sr., Josiah Lydick, B. Parkinson, J. B. Kilpatrick, William Hossicks, Sr., J. H. Pipes, W. B. Williams, Sr., and C. A. Howard. The first addition was made in July, 1906, when 191 by 200 feet were added. The second addition was made in August, 1915, when over seven acres were added. The present officers are: Herman H. Pipes, President; Archie N. Cook, Secretary; Earl W. Nowell, Treasurer; George H. Watson, Frank L. Todd, Will F. Frye, Harvey A. Hicks, Herman H. Pipes, Earl W. Nowell, Archie N. Cook, Directors; and John R. Anderson, Sexton.
CATHOLIC CEMETERY-The grounds for this cemetery were purchased from Robert Crawford in 1868. Reverend Bishop Whalen of the Wheeling Diocese had full charge of this cemetery. Mr. Martin Cogley was the first sexton. The present pastor in charge is Reverend Father Kluzer and Mr. B. J. Finnegan is secretary, with Messrs. Charles Howard and M. G. Cummings, members of the church, as the committee. Mr. C. McCardle is now serving as caretaker.
HIGHLAND CEMETERY-The grounds for this cemetery were purchased from S. B. Dallison in 1906 and contained twenty-six acres. This cemetery is located on Waynesburg Avenue, which is on State Route No. 6.
The company was incorporated March 23 of the same year. The incorporators were as follows: J. L. Phillips, C. E. Hutchinson, J. N. Howard, Geo. B. Elbert, M. A. Walton, William Jones, W. H. Loper, S. B. Dallison and G. W. Pipes.
The present officers are: C. G. Fish, President; William Jones, Secretary and Treasurer. The present directors are: Dr. C. E. Hutchinson, C. G. Fish, William Jones, J. N. Howard, L. S. Howard, S. B. Dallison and George Dallison. The present sexton is James Murphy.
SCHOOLS-The opening of the first schools in Cameron date back to 1863, when Governor Arthur I. Boreman in his laconic message to the first legislature of the State at Wheeling, among other things, said: “I trust you will take such action as will result in the organization of a thorough and efficient system.”
Marshall County began early to comply with the provisions of the law of this State as drafted by Thomas H. Trainer and six other men.
At a meeting of the citizens at Cameron District on August 11, 1866, with W. R. McDonald, Clerk, and J. B. Lydick, Supervisor, a tax of five mills was levied on all taxable property for the purpose of carrying on of free schools; and a tax of ten cents on the hundred dollars as a contingent fund. The school commissioners were allowed $2.00 per day for attending free school business.
The following were appointed trustees of Cameron District and took the oath of office December 1, 1866: District No.1, John Pipes, John Miller and J. L. Parkinson; District No. 2, Z. G. White, Daniel Buzzard and John Burley; District No. 3, John Parkinson, John Laughin and Adam Erlewine; District No. 4, John Hagerman. Michael Williams and Thomas Allen; District No. 5, William Lydick; District No. 6, John Wayman, Uriah Harris and J. R. Dickson; District No. 7, John C. Parker, Sample Parker and E. Porten.
On February 26, 1866, Miss Jennie Teagarden was appointed teacher of District No. 7, Miss Mary Nyswauger of District No. 6, D. M. Burley and William J. Conklin of District No. 1, John Wayt of District No. 4, and Miss Mary Parkinson of District No. 3. These schools were in session about four months and the teachers’ salaries ranged from $20.00 to $40.00 per month. The trustees looked after all repairs, secured someone to sweep the buildings and build the fires. They, too, bought the wood, coal and chalk and secured someone to take the school enumeration. All bills were turned in to the Board of Education which allowed the trustees in turn to be paid.
ESTABLISHMENT OF GRADED SCHOOLS-On July 5, 1887, on motion of John Richey it was ordered by the Board of Education of Cameron District, that Cameron school in Sub-District No. 1, town of Cameron, be declared and ordered a graded school from this date as the law directs in regard to graded schools. It was further ordered that the principle teacher of Cameron graded school be paid a salary of $50.00 per month during the school term, and that the term continue six months. The salaries for the teachers were arranged according to grade of certificate. For grade No. 1, $33.00; for grade No. 2, $27.00, and for grade No. 3, $20.00. At this time William Nowell was President of the Board of Education and M. C. Todd was Secretary.
THE ERECTION OF THE FIRST GRADED SCHOOL BUILDING-At a meeting held February 24, 1891, with the above named board in office, the purchase of an acre of ground from David McConaughey for $500.00 was authorized. On July 25, 1891, at a meeting of the newly elected Board of Education, composed of G. W. McGlumphy, president; J. W. Richey and Samuel Stewart, commissioners; and Martin C. Todd, secretary, bids for the erection of a school building on the new site were received from Batson Alum and Company, Andrew Howard, and Hasking Brothers. The Batson Alum and Company of Marietta, Ohio, was given the contract for $5,197.50. It was a four-roomed building. School opened on January 4, 1892, in this building with A. B. Basnet, Principal, and Nellie Allemong assistant, with salaries of $50.00 and $35.00 respectively for six months. A contract for an additional two rooms to this building was let June 30, 1900, to C. M. Johnson and Company for $2,095.00 and the work was completed the same year. When school opened October 1, with a view of a District School in mind, the Board of Education added to the Common School branches, Physical Geography and Elementary Algebra. In 1903, Rhetoric, Geometry, and Higher English were also added to the course However, it was not made a first-class High School unto 1908.
CENTRAL SCHOOL BUILDING-On February 25, 1907, the contract was let for the erection of the Central School building to C. W. Dowling for the sum of $35,456.20. This structure contained sixteen classrooms and an auditorium, with seating capacity for four hundred sixty people. It was to have been completed by September 1, but was not opened for school until December 9. The Board of Education at this time consisted of P. E. Willard, president; J. A. Bane and M. F. Hubbs, commissioners, with Charles N. Skinner, secretary.
For a time the Central Building was used for the High and Graded Schools, jointly. Some dissatisfaction arose and the High School was moved back on the hill, leaving the building for the Graded School alone. At the time of the opening of the fall term of 1924, The Freshmen of the High School were quartered in the basement of the Central Building because of the congestion on the hill.
GYMNASIUM-Early in 1923 sentiment began to crystallize in favor of a long needed gymnasium. In June of this year Bruce Crowe was hired by the day by a building committee to complete this building, which was to serve a dual purpose. The playing floor occupies the middle portion of the building and two classrooms are in each end of the building. The basket-ball court is 65 x 31 feet. This gives Cameron one of the finest courts in this section of the State. The Board of Education is to be given credit for getting his needed civic improvement. The Kiwanis Club sponsored and really saw it finished. Guy B. Patterson was made trustee of the building committee and money was borrowed from the First National Bank and the Bank of Cameron. On the notes were the signatures of Kiwanians and other public spirited citizens.
The new building was opened in January, 1924. It cost $21,337.84, after shower and other fixtures were added. The building was being paid for by the Board of Education by direct levy. In five years full payment will have been made to the building association and the property will come into full possession of the district.
The Board of Education during this period was Walter H. Loper, president; Dr. Geo. R. Wells and Frank E. Wilhelm, commissioners; Chas. H. Carpenter, secretary. This building takes care of the immediate needs only. The next move that will be made will be the erection of a new High School. Already there is found to be a growing sentiment for this.
CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL BUILDING-The consolidation of schools is an outgrowth of good roads. As old methods and implements of farming have given way to modern ones, so old equipment is giving way to new. State educators have agreed that consolidated schools, when possible, are the solution to the rural problem., and it is a state aim that there be no more one-room schools on good roads. The building at Clouston is fulfilling this aim in Cameron District. This consolidated school building was erected during the year 1927 at a cost of $17,000. The structure is of tile and white stucco and contains three large classrooms and a spacious hall. Two of these rooms are separated by folding doors so by throwing the rooms together space is provided for a large assemblage. In the basement is the heating plant, dressing room for the athletics and a recreation room. The heating system is complete and electric lights have been installed. A stage with two dressing rooms makes adequate space for amateur performances. The cornerstone of this building was laid on August 4, 1927, with the I. O. O. F. Lodge No. 36 of Cameron in charge of the ceremonies.
The building was used for the first time January 3, 1928. The Board of Education making possible the building of this school were: Charles Simmons, President; Guy B. Patterson and George R. Wells, Members; and Charles Carpenter, Secretary. The principal of the school is Mr. Okey Stewart and Miss Opal Phillips is teacher.
CAMERON DISTRICT ENROLLMENT, EQUIPMENT, ETC.-Cameron District has a school enumeration of above 1,000 children. In the city the enumeration is in the neighborhood of 700. At the present time the district employs thirty-six teachers. Of these, twenty-five are employed in the city and eleven in the country. The High School employs eight teachers for two hundred and thirty-eight pupils. In the grades there are seventeen teachers for four hundred and sixty pupils. Rural schools are at Glen Easton, Loudenville, Lower Bane, Terrell, Lowe, Coe, Hicks, Rock Lick and Green Valley-the first two are double roomed buildings. The Glen Easton building was erected by W. M Hicks at a cost of $5,370 in the summer of 1915. Some of the rural schools are standardized. Each school is equipped with a dictionary and a creditable library.
In the city, likewise, each room has considerable equipment consisting of blocks, charts and busy work for the primary pupils and supplementary readers, maps, globes, reference books, encyclopedias, etc., for the intermediate and upper grades. The High School has an up-to-date, carefully catalogued library of over 1200 volumes. The History teacher has maps, etc., for instruction in that field. The laboratory for Physics and Chemistry meets the requirements of a first-class high of this state as well as meeting the requirements of the Southern Association of High Schools.
The school levy is one of the lowest in the state. The rate of levy for 1924 was .96 cents on the hundred dollars valuation. The city of Sutton for this year pays $2.07 on the hundred dollars. This shows Cameron is still $1.11 below the highest rate in the state. The cost for running the schools this year is $54,355.47 in Cameron District.
The following is a list of the Superintendents and Principals of Cameron:
Class--No. of Graduates--Principals--Superintendents
1909--1--George E. Hubbs--George E. Hubbs
1910--2--H. W. McDowell--H. W. McDowell
1911--10--Bruce Borror--H. W. McDowell
1912--7--B. G. Moore--J. F. Jameson
1913--5--Ada Moon--J. F. Jameson
1914--14--J. W. Cole--J. S. Bonar
1915--15--J. W. Cole--J. S. Bonar
1916--20--J. W. Cole--J. S. Bonar
1917--8--J. W. Cole--J. S. Bonar
1918--14--A. H. Clyde--J. S. Bonar
1919--9--Elsie Norman--Elsie Norman
1920--19--Elsie Norman--Elsie Norman
1921--21--H. E. McKelvey--David A. Ward
1922--33--Florence A. Wright--G. W. Craig
1923--15--Florence A. Wright--G. W. Craig
1924--35--Florence A. Wright--M. P. Boyles
1925--38--Florence A. Wright--M. P. Boyles
1926--24--Florence A. Wright--M. P. Boyles
1927--46--Florence A. Wright--M. P. Boyles
1928--40--Harry A. Slawter--Florence A. Wright
METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH-The present organization of the Methodist Episcopal Church dates back to the year 1868, when Cameron became a Circuit, and the following ministers served the church to the present:
1867-1870 F. M. Hughes
1872-1872 Rev. M. Dowler
1872-1875 Rev. H. C. Sanford
1875-1876 Rev. T. B. Hughes, D. D.
During this year outstanding revivals were held, and the first parsonage was built which served the charge until the fall of 1924, when the present beautiful one was started. During this year the Conference was changed from spring to fall.
1876-1878 Rev. L. J. Cook
1878-1880 Rev. A. Hall
1880-1882 Rev. Spencer King
1882-1884 Rev. D. Cool
1884-1886 Rev. Benjamin Ison
1886-1889 Rev. Frank L. Lynch, D. D.
1889-1892 Rev. C. S. Alimong
1892-1895 Rev. C. W. Upton, D. D.
During this pastorate the present church was erected at great sacrifice, but has stood as one of the finer churches of West Virginia ever since. It might be interesting here to give an account of the manner in which the building fund was started for the erection of the present Methodist Church.
A meeting of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union was held at the home of Mrs. James Chambers and plans were made for the starting of this fund. Mrs. Chambers was the mother of George Chambers, Cameron’s well known news boy. Mr. Chambers is now serving his thirty-ninth year in this capacity.
t this meeting, Mrs. W. B. Mathews suggested to Mrs. Sarah Jones Harter that each member contribute ten cents. This was cheerfully done by all present. A building society was then organized with Mrs. M. B. Helms as president. This organization gave suppers, embroidered, crocheted and sewed quilts until they raised $1,000.00 in a year and a half. The official board took up the work and in 1893 the present church was completed and dedicated. Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Mathews, who are still residents of this city, were members of the building fund committee.
During this ministry Clouston was taken away from Cameron and placed with Rosby Rock Circuit.
1895-1896 Rev. G. W. Kepler
1896-1897 Rev. J. A. Fullerton, D. D.
1897-1900 Rev. John Beddow, D. D.
1900-1903 Rev. R. B. Ward, D. D.
1903-1906 Rev. J. L. B. Jones
1906-1908 Rev. Thomas B. Meredith
1908-1909 Rev. W. D. Reed
1909-1910 Rev. R. B. Ward, D. D., (Second Pastorate)
1910-1915 Rev. C. Fred Anderson, D. D.
1915-1918 Rev. A. D. Craig
1918-1921 Rev. C. C. Lanham
1921-1924 Rev. J. Elbert Wells, D. D.
1924-1926 Rev. Samuel Charles Jones, D. D.
During the ministry of Dr. Jones the present beautiful parsonage was erected at a cost of almost twenty thousand dollars.
At present the church is experiencing a very helpful and delightful record. Splendid harmony prevails. Its membership is almost seven hundred and there are large congregations attending services each Sunday. The church school has an enrollment of four hundred sixty-nine, the Epworth League has one hundred fifteen members, the Junior Epworth League eighty members and the Intermediate League thirty members. The Ladies’ Aid Society has a membership of almost two hundred. Two women’s missionary societies contribute more than a thousand dollars a year for missions. Five Bible workers and missionaries in other countries are supported by the adult Bible classes of the church school. Dr. Jones was called while serving this church to be the General Superintendent of the West Virginia Council of Religious Education but continued his charge until the Conference met at Buckhannon in October, 1926, when Rev. F. L. Dawson was appointed to fill his place. The constituency in Cameron is fifteen hundred Methodists, and everything indicates a very prosperous future for this great church.
THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH-For several years previous to organization, Baptists had felt a need of a church, and in September, 1913, Rev. G. E. Bartlett, one of the West Virginia Baptist Missionary Evangelists at this time, came to Cameron in the interest of the work of the Master for Baptists in this city. Rev. J. C. Cox (a Baptist minister then residing in Cameron) in company with Rev. Bartlett made a thorough canvas of the town, taking a religious denominational census of all the families. Bartlett reported to the West Virginia General Association which met at Clarksburg, West Virginia, in October, 1915. At once they deemed it expedient to give Cameron some attention as a missionary project.
The State Mission Board, through correspondence with Rev. J. C. Cox, advised that a Baptist Sunday School be organized first. The Presbyterian brethren kindly offered the use of their Sunday school room and arrangements were made for a meeting of the Baptists of Cameron on March 2, 1914, at 7:30 P. M. Twelve Baptists were present. The object of the meeting was to consider the propriety of starting a Baptist Sunday school in the city of Cameron. After discussion, it was unanimously decided to organize a Baptist Sunday school. T. H. Neal was elected Superintendent; Mrs. Minnie Horan, Secretary-Treasurer, and the committee named with power to act to secure a room or hall in which to hold the meetings were T. H. Neal, W. S. Sinsel, and Francis Baldwin. Those present at the first meeting: Rev. J. C. Cox, T. H. Neal, Elizabeth Grim, Nannie Cox, Olive Neal, Minnie Horan, Ruby Cox, Mollie McVay, Frances Baldwin, Belma Cox, Della Drake, W. S. Sinsel, Sidney Bane.
The organization of the first Baptist Sunday school of Cameron was completed on March 29, 1914, when a meeting was held in the Woodman Hall at 9:30 A. M. Not only was there a session of the Sunday school, but Rev. J. C. Cox preached both morning and evening and kindly offered his services on Sunday evenings of the second and fourth Sundays of each month and all day on fifth Sundays. This was a very acceptable service and continued until May of the same year, when Dr. A. S. Kelley, a state evangelist, met with the members to aid in making a permanent organization of the Baptist Church. At this meeting the church elected Julia Drake, Church Clerk, and T. H. Neal, Treasurer. Articles of Faith and Church Covenant were adopted.
The following were the charter members of the First Baptist Church:
Rev. J. Cox, Mrs. Lucy Powers, Mrs. Nannie Cox, Mrs. Malisse Howard, Miss Ruby Cox, Mrs. Blanch Jenkins, T. H. Neal, Mrs. Minnie Horan, Mrs. Olive Neal, Mrs. Elizabeth Grim, Mrs. Mollie McVay, Mrs. Ottie Guthrie, W. C. Drake, Mrs. Margaret Webster, Mrs. Della Drake, Harry Zinnerman, Miss Julia Drake, Winfield S. Sinsel, Mrs. Bertha Taylor, Mrs. Julia Sinsel, Mrs. Pleasant Eddy, Mrs. Nattie Zinnerman
The organization of the church was officially recognized when, on September 8, 1914, a council of ministers and brethren from neighboring Baptist churches were called to a meeting. The sermon was delivered by Rev. J. S. Bennett of Sistersville, West Virginia. Charge to the church was made by Rev. J. F. Cost. Charge to pastor, by Rev. A. B. Miller. During this month the church was received into the Panhandle Association.
VARIOUS CHURCH ORGANIZATIONS: LADIES’ AID-Through the encouragement and persistent efforts of Mrs. Minnie Horan, on February 17, 1915, the ladies of the church met at the home of Mrs. Harry Zimmerman and organized a Ladies’Aid Society in which to work and earn money to be used in such financial assistance to the church as they might see fit. The first officers were: Mrs. Malissa Howard, President; Mrs. Minnie Horan, Vice-President; Mrs. Lucy Powers, Secretary; and Mrs. Bertha Taylor, Treasurer. This organization, with its mere handful of women, sewed and held bake sales so that when the lot was purchased and the building erected, they contributed about one thousand dollars toward the project.
BAPTIST YOUNG PEOPLE’S UNION-The B. Y. P. U. of the church was organized early in the year of 1917. This is an organization for the young people of the church. It engages in general Kingdom work and is inspirational as well as educational. The B. Y. P. U. has taken part in the various activities of the Young People’s City Union of Cameron.
SUNDAY SCHOOL-While the church really began its history in the organization of the Sunday school, yet the latter has a history of its own. The Sunday school has shown a growth throughout the years. Following are the names of those who have served as Superintendent: T. H. Neal, J. B. Riddle, Okay H. Stewart and Walter F. Metz.
CHURCH BUILDING-On September 25, 1918, a committee began work in securing money and pledges for a lot on which to build a church house. Three trustees were elected, namely: J. B. Riddle, W. C. Drake, and Fred I. Wilson. On their report the church decided to purchase the lot on Main Street owned by Mrs. Lizzie McConaughey. In December, 1921, a building committee, composed of W. C. Drake, J. B. Riddle and Harry Zimmerman, were appointed. And it was during the same year that the present church was erected. The first service was held in the new building on Easter Sunday, April 16, 1922. The dedication service took place on May 21, 1922. Dr. S. A. Kelley delivered the morning sermon. Rev. G. E. Bartlett delivered the dedication sermon. The music was furnished by musicians from the Wadestown Baptist Church, and Rev. D. L. Whitener, an evangelist, who continued after the dedication with a series of meetings for a period of two weeks.
EVANGELISTIC SERVICES SINCE DEDICATION-
May 1922 Evangelist, Rev. D. L. Whitner
January 1925 Evangelist, Rev. T. B. Lawler
January 1925 Evangelist, Rev. Paul Brown
April 1926 Evangelist, Rev. W. C. Harold
MISSIONS-In 1919-20 the Northern Baptist Convention adopted a five-year missionary program. Cameron accepted the quota suggested by the State Mission Board, and has each year since the expiration of the five-year period paid equally as much toward all the various missionary endeavors of the denomination. The name of the Cameron Baptist Church repeatedly appears among these churches named on the Honor Roll of giving in a report of the State Secretary as given in the Baptist Banner.
Rev. J. C. Cox, Oct. 1, 1914 - July 31, 1915
Rev. C. F. Ransbottom, Nov. 1, 1916 - August 31, 1920
Rev. S. G. Fisher, June 1, 1918 - March 1, 1920
Rev. J. W. Ayers, Mar. 1, 1921 - March 1, 1922
Rev. D. H. Haught, Mar. 1, 1923 - September 19, 1926
Rev. Gordon L. Withers, - Dec. 1, 1926, and is still serving
W. S. Sinsel, Mar. 31, 1915 - Died April 19, 1926
W. C. Drake, Mar. 31, 1915 -_____
George W. Taylor, Apr. 25, 1926 - _____
J. R. Riddle, Apr. 25, 1926 - ____
THE FIRST CHRISTIAN CHURCH OF CAMERON-The present organization was formed March 15, 1895, with twenty-eight members; eight of whom are now living and actively engaged in the work of the church. The surviving members are: Mrs. W. D. Mathews, Mrs. Lucy Lough, Mrs. Mary E. Durbin, Mrs. Millie Hubbs Howard, Miss Blanche Durbin, Mrs. Mary E. Lemmons, Mr. and Mrs. L. F. Wilhelm.
In the thirty-one years of this church’s history it has had three pastors, and has erected three buildings. J. A. Canby served seven years, U. E. Hootman, one year, and W. E. Pierce, the present pastor, has served twenty-four years.
The first building was erected in 1898. It was a brick building at the foot of North Avenue, and is now being used as a dwelling house. The first unit of the present building was erected in 1896, which was supplemented by the new educational and recreational annex in 1925. This church now has property valued at $100,000, and is accepted generally as one of the most up-to-date plants in the upper Ohio Valley.
The present Christian Church organization was first started in a missionary society meeting which was held in 1894. The following members were present: Mrs. and Mrs. Ingram Lough, Mesdames Elizabeth Durbin, Elizabeth Turner, Mary Reid, W. D. Mathews, Margaret Gillispie, Caroline Lemmons, and Miss Alma Wayman. The First Christian Church services were held in this city in 1870. These services were finally discontinued.
The first foreign missionary offering was taken in this church March 7, 1898, and amounted to $6.41. For the last eighteen years it has been supporting a Living Link Missionary on the foreign fields; and last year the missionary offerings totaled more than $2,000.00. It is recognized as one of the leading churches of the Disciples of Christ. For a number of years the Bible school has been a member of the One Thousand Dollar Club; its missionary offering having even exceeded one thousand dollars, the requirements for membership. Mrs. Charles P. Hedges of Monieka, Africa, has been the Living Link Missionary for a number of years, and as a result of her efforts a great church is growing up on the Congo River in Africa.
The membership of the First Christian Church has grown in thirty-one years from twenty-eight to five hundred fifty-nine. It has a Bible school with an enrollment of six hundred thirty and an average attendance of three hundred fifty.
THE ST. MARTIN’S CATHOLIC CHURCH-The St. Martin’s Catholic Church was built in 1870, and is now the oldest church standing in this city. From 1862 to 1869 Rev. Edward Delahunte held services at the homes of Michael Barrett and Michael Flynn at what is now known as Milligantown and at the home of Martin Cogley in the old B. & O. house, which is still standing near the present stock yards. It was during the pastorate of Rev. Father Delahunte that the St. Martin’s Cemetery was bought and laid out. An infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Cogley was the first to be buried in this cemetery.
In 1869-1870 Rev. Dan V. Collins succeeded Father Delahunte to the charge, and at this time the present church was built at an approximate cost of $10,000.00.
Among the first members were Martin Cogley, father of Mrs. Thomas Hopkins, the Hemricks, the Flynns, the Murphys, Michael Barrett, the Corcorans, the Finnegans and the Fergusons, who now reside at Glen Easton. Mrs. Bridget Corcoran, who was one of the charter members of the church, is still living and resides on North Avenue.
In 1920 the church was remodeled at a cost of $1,000.00.
The present membership is about one hundred fifty. The church services are held every Sunday and on all Feast Days by Rev. Father C. T. Kluser, who serves both the Cameron and Littleton Churches. The Altar Society is one of the outstanding societies of the church and is composed of the women of the church.
The following is the list of all the pastors since the organization of the church:
1868-1872 Rev. Dan V. Collins
1872-1874 Rev. James Muller of the Moundsville Mission
1874-1875 Rev. McHerman
1875-1876 Rev. Robert Keleher
1876-1878 Rev. Hugh McManamy
1878-1880 Rev. John McElligott
1880-1881 Rev. John Murray
1881-1884 Rev. P. Daly
1885- Rev. A. Boulton
1895- Rev. O’Kane
1896- Rev. C. T. Kluser
1896- Rev. C. G. Flamondon
.....Rev. John McBride
.....Rev. P. J. Brady
.....Rev. C. T. Kluser
PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH-The Presbyterian Church of Cameron was organized September 23, 1867, by Rev. Messrs. J. S. Pomeroy, J. W. Alexander, D. D., and Samuel Graham, acting under authority of the Presbytery of Washington.
The following persons presented certificates of church membership and were enrolled: Wm. Hosack, Sr., Mrs. Nancy Hosack, Mrs. Mary Martin, Mrs. Sarah Grey, Gustavius Bowers, Mrs. Mary E. Bowers, Mrs. Minerva E. Davis, Mrs. Rebecca Fisher, Martin B. Cummins, Mrs. Clarinda Cummins, Milton McCuskey, John B. Kilapatrick, Mrs. Mary Kilapatrick, John Fyre , Mrs. Rebecca Frye, George McCuskey, Miss Mattie McConaughey, Mrs. Anna McCuskey, Mrs. Eleanor Grey, Mrs. Samuel Wallace, Mrs. Marie Burley, Mrs. Susan Murphey, and J. H. Toshorn.
Of these Wm. Hosack, Sr., Gustavius Bowers, and Geo. McCuskey were ordained elders.
The meetings were continued for a week, and twenty-three were added to the church on profession of faith.
A church building was commenced in the spring of 1868 and was completed and dedicated in the fall of the same year. Mrs. Geo. McCuskey, member of session, was removed by death. John B. Kilpatrick and Milton McCuskey were ordained ruling elders.
The building was destroyed by fire October 26, 1879. It was rebuilt in 1888, and was used for church Sabbath school, but was not dedicated until February 6, 1889. The dedication sermon was preached by George D. Buckhannon. Since that date the following ministers have served as pastors of this church:
1868 William F. Stockton, S. S.
1869 Elijah R. Donahue, S. S.
1870 (no name), Synod of Pittsburgh Presbytery of Washington
1873 Joseph S. Pomeroy, S. S.
1876 Robert B. Farrer, S. S.
1880 Robert B. Farrer. S. S.
1881 (no name) Synod of Pittsburgh Presbytery of Washington
1878 Joseph S. Pomeroy, S. S.
1890 Rev. Fair, S. S.
1893 Rev. Fair, S. S.
1894 S. T. Montgomery, P. E.
1898 S. T. Montgomery, P. E.
1899 (no name)
1900 Robert F. Getty, P.
1906 Robert F. Getty, P.
1906 J. I. Gregory, P.
1916 J. I. Gregory, P.
1916 James M. Fisher, P.
1921 James M. Fisher, P.
1921 James M. Thompson, P.
1925 James M. Thompson, P.
1925 C. E. Woodward, P.
The period from May 1, 1926 to July 1, 1927 was one of marked activity and achievement on the part of the church. During that time a goodly number was added to the roll, a pipe organ, valued at $3,500 was installed and more than $2,000 was given for missions and benevolence and a total budget of $10,775 was fully met, the pastor’s salary was raised, extensive repairs were made on the manse including the installing of a modern electric lighting system, all past indebtedness was practically cancelled and the church brought to a sound financial basis.
When it is considered that the total resident membership is only two hundred, and that many of this number are children and youth, the record is a most gratifying one.
The Church is well organized. Special mention should be made of the very large Young People’s Society and of the enthusiastic Sunday School Ladies’ Class known as “The Daughters of Ruth.” The church owes its pipe organ to them and their many friends.
The church brought to the city in April, 1927, the noted lecturer on Christian Evidences, Rev. John B. Koehne, whose series of thirteen discussions on great religious themes made them a distinctive contribution to the spiritual thought and life of the community.
CITY LIBRARY-The public library of the city of Cameron is located on the second floor of the City Building. It is under the management of the Women’s Club and was first opened in September in 1910 with seven hundred ninety-nine books on the shelves. Mrs. D. F. Merritt gave more than one hundred books from her own library. Each year the club has added more books until at present the number totals one thousand five hundred sixty-eight.
The first library committee appointed was on May 24, 1910, and consisted of the following persons: Mrs. D. F. Merritt, Mrs. H. Reicheter, and Mrs. C. E. Hutchinson. A canvass was made of the town by a committee from the club and $267.45 was raised as the first fund toward establishing the library.
The library is taken care of by a library committee, appointed each year from the club; each member of the club acting as librarian.
CLOTHING STORES-THE L. GOODMAN STORE-About thirty-two years ago the L. Goodman Store had its beginning when Mr. Goodman himself began to sell clothing in Cameron and vicinity by making house to house canvas. From this small beginning, the business has grown until today it is one of Cameron’s leading clothing stores.
HINERMAN’S-THE JUST RIGHT STORE-This store, located in the Crawford Hotel, was purchased from John Wolfe, September 2, 1914, by S. B. Hinerman. This store carries a full line of gent’s furnishings and ladies’ ready to wear, and is one of the city’s leading stores.
CHARLES HOWARD-LADIES AND GENT’S SHOES AND CLOTHING STORE-Mr. Charles Howard opened a clothing store in his own building on Main Street, April 7, 1928. This store promises to be one of Cameron’s leading business establishments in the future.
LANDO’S CLOTHING STORE-This store was organized by Blankensop and Stevenson in 1898 and was known as the “Beehive.” In 1903 the above owners sold to A. L. Frances and James Derry. In 1904 it again changed hands, Floyd Francis becoming the owner. In 1905 Minor Grossman purchased the store. At this time the trade name the “Beehive” was dropped. Mr. Grossman continued as its proprietor for twenty years. In 1925 Mr. Louis Lando, the present owner, took charge.
CONFECTIONERY-The Dew Drop Inn Confectionery, which was formerly known as the Cameron Confectionery, was opened about fifteen years ago by Mr. J. B. Hipsley. After several years in this business Mr. Hipsley sold out to Mr. Roy Mix, who owned the confectionery but a few years until it was sold to Mr. R. C. Pierce. Seven years ago it was bought by Mr. D. D. McCardle, who is the present proprietor. The store is located in the Odd Fellow Building on Main Street. The confectionery makes a specialty of serving lunches and handles a full line of candy, soft drinks, ice cream, cigars and tobacco. Service and courtesy is extended to all.
DRY GOODS AND NOTIONS-HUGHES & CARNEY-The Hughes & Carney Dry Goods and Notion Store is located in the J. I. Spragg building on Main Street. This building was built in 1896 by Hicks and Helms and was occupied by this firm.
Later it was occupied for two years by George B. Rossler’s 5 and 10 Cent Store. Following in business in this location was J. I. Spragg, who sold his stock in 1908 to Charles H. Carpenter. In 1918 Charles H. Carpenter sold his stock to Mrs. Margaret Hughes and Mrs. Maud Carney, both natives of this city. The Hughes & Carney store is one of Cameron’s leading stores and at present is doing a prosperous business.
THE WOMAN’S STORE-The Woman’s Store, formerly called “The Corner Store,” was established about the year 1875 by Mr. W. B. Hicks for the sale of general merchandise, produce and grain. Mr. Hicks continued in business for about twenty years, then selling to Crawford Brothers, who in turn sold to Stewart, Phillips and Walton. After about a year the building was burned to the ground and then rebuilt by Mr. W. B. Hicks. Mr. Walton and Mr. McDonald put in a stock of merchandise but in a short time sold out to Mr. D. H. Peoples and Silas Woodruff. About one year later, Mr. Woodruff sold to Mr. D. H. Peoples, who kept the store about eleven years. Mr. Peoples then sold to Mr. S. B. Hinerman. Mr. Hinerman later sold to Mr. D. H. Peoples, who kept it for a number of years and sold to Mr. Aull. The next owner was Mr. Fleahman, who sold to Mr. J. I. Spragg. In 1915 Mr. Spragg sold his interest to Jot G. Howard and E. S. Spragg, Mr. J. I. Spragg later going into partnership with Mr. Howard. After a short time, Mr. Spragg sold his interest to Mr. Howard, after whose death the present owner, Mrs. R. A. Startzman, took possession and renamed the store “The Woman’s Store” carrying a line of general dry goods, ladies’ and children’s ready-to-wear, wallpaper and millinery. In 1927 Mrs. Startzman moved to Charleston and sold a half interest in the store to Mr. F. L. Wilhelm. This store is now run under the trade name of “Wilhelm and Startzman.”
DRUG STORES-The Cameron Drug Store was established in 1897 by Doctor Dawson and Doctor Watier. In 1900 Doctor Dawson sold his interest to Doctor Watier. Several years later, Doctor Watier sold out to Doctor Dickson of Wheeling, who moved the stock to the present location on Bridge Street. A year later Doctor Dickson sold to Mr. S. B. Hinerman who later sold to Dinsmore Brothers of Wheeling. In 1917 Mr. John E. Dinsmore bought his brother’s interest and is now the present owner.
THE MCNABB PHARMACY-The beginning of this pharmacy dates back to the early eighties when Mr. A. H. Burley opened the drug store in his own building, the site of which is now the Charles H. Howard building occupied by the clothing store of Mr. Howard. In 1894 Mr. J. N. Howard and Mr. George Hill purchased the business and continued until the fire in 1895.
After the fire Mr. Hill and Mr. Howard purchased a lot and built the building where McNabb’s Pharmacy is now located.
The above firm continued in business until 1912 when Mr. Howard bought Mr. Hill’s interest. Next year, 1913, Mr. Hill became sole owner, later selling a one-half interest to E. R. McNabb. This partnership continued until 1922 when Mr. McNabb, the present owner, purchased the entire business.
REXALL STORE-Owned by Harry H. Howard, was opened in 1905 in the Crawford Hotel building which is the present location.
FURNITURE STORES-William Antil & Son. The firm of William Antil & Son was established in October 1915, and located in the building now occupied by the Antler Hotel. They began business as morticians only, purchasing the business from McClain Phillips. In the spring of 1919 the furniture business of P. E. Willard was added and the firm moved to a room in the Fleahman building, which is now owned and occupied by C. G. Fish & Company, remaining in said building for five years.
During this time the business grew and prospered so that in 1921 a motor funeral car was added to the equipment. Also an up-to-date ambulance car, the use of which is free to all.
In 1924 William Antil & Son purchased the large brick building on the corner known as the Peoples Building, and moved their entire stock into it and occupy said building at the present time on the second and third floors.
C. G. FISH & COMPANY-In October, 1895, Mr. C. G. Fish, head of the C. G. Fish & Company Furniture Store and Morticians, purchased a half interest from his uncle, Mr. M. M. Helms, and continued in this partnership for twelve years. After Mr. Helms’ death, Mrs. C. G. Fish became the partner and the firm made the C. G. Fish & Company. Later Mr. Fish’s two sons, Raymond and Carlton, were made members of the company. This is among one of the oldest undertaking establishments in the state, having been in business more than thirty-one years.
THE VARIETY STORE-Finlayson Brothers Variety Store had its beginning in 1910, when E. M. Smith opened a variety store on the Crawford lot. This business continued until 1912, when Mrs. Mary J. Ross and Robert H. Ross purchased the same after the death of E. M. Smith.
In 1924 the Ross and Ross Variety Store was moved to the Doane Booher building on Main Street. On November 1, 1926, the stock of merchandise was sold to Finlayson Brothers from Shinnston, West Virginia, and in February, 1927, they moved to the present location, the Creed Hotel building on Main Street.
GROCERY STORES-Cameron is well supplied with grocery stores. The oldest established and leading grocery stores existing at the present time are G. W. Huffner and F. Hayes Fish. A complete list of grocery stores of more recent date will be found in the summary, Chapter VIII.
BAKERY-The Cameron Bakery had its beginning in 1905, when Walter Schumaker started a bakery in the Kinney property on Railroad Street. In 1908 Aaron Porter purchased the equipment and remained in business there for several years. Later he built the oven now occupied by the present bakery. Since then the bakery has changed hands repeatedly. On December 13, 1926, J. I. Elbin, the present owner, purchased it from Raymond Pierce. New machinery has been added and a new oven installed along with the other equipment that makes a more sanitary and up-to-date bakery. Cleanliness and service is the motto. The Staff of Life is their product.
BANKS-THE BANK OF CAMERON-The Bank of Cameron was incorporated March 2, 1896, by the following men: J. W. Dunlevy, William Nowell, W. M. Kincaid, W. A. Boerner, M. B Helms, U. B. Williams and W. Morgan.
The bank started business April 12, 1926, with the following officers and directors: J. W. Dunlevy, President; T. C. Pipes, Vice-President; William Nowell, Cashier; W. H. Loper, Assistant Cashier; and J. W. Dunlevy, T. C. Pipes, William Nowell, J. A. Hicks, U. B. Williams and Harrison Hicks, Directors.
The bank started business April 12, 1896, in what is known as the Flat Iron building, now occupied by Fry’s Barber Shop, and remained there until the present building in which the bank is now located was purchased.
The bank was incorporated with an authorized capital of $25,000.00, of which only $12,000.00 was paid in. This has been increased, however, and at the present time the capital is $100,000.00.
The bank does a general banking business and has a well equipped savings department where 4% compound interest is paid on savings. The bank also has in its vault a number of safety boxes for the convenience of its customers. The bank takes great care in protecting valuables left in the safety boxes and in the safe keeping files by carrying at all times over $300,000.00 insurance on the vault, of which over $100,000.00 is to protect papers left for safe keeping.
It is interesting to note that Dr. C. E. Hutchinson and U. B. Williams have been connected with this bank since its organization. Mr. W. H. Loper and Mr. Harvey A. Hicks were both associated with this bank for about twenty-five years. Mr. Loper was cashier for fifteen years and was succeeded by Mr. Hicks, who served in that capacity for five years. Mr. William Nowell was cashier for ten years and his son, Earl Nowell, is now assistant cashier, and has been connected with the bank for over seven years.
The bank has paid out since its organization over $195,000.00 in cash dividends besides stock dividends of over $85,000.00, making a total of over $280,000.00 that has gone out to the stockholders besides having built up a surplus of over $25,000.00. The present dividend rate is 10%.
The Bank of Cameron has always been conservatively managed and has always tried to accommodate people in Cameron and vicinity, and has done much to help build up the community.
The present Board of Directors is composed of men who have made a success in life and in business for themselves and are interested in the welfare of the community.
The present officers are: Guy B. Patterson, President; Geo. R. Watson, Vice-President; J. L. Reed, Cashier; Earl Nowell, Assistant Cashier. Charles Chambers and Miss Natalie Martin are Tellers.
THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK-The financial institutions of a community are exceedingly important in revealing the life and progress of the people. The records of the First National Bank reveal a steady and unbroken line of prosperity and thrift. A look in retrospect over the history of this banking institution must be a source of satisfaction to the citizens of Cameron and the territory round-about.
Twenty-six years ago the need of a National Bank was seen by many Cameron business men, and, after months of planning, a group of them decided. They came together and on September 14, 1901, they organized the First National Bank of Cameron. Two months later, November 13, the United States Government granted a charter, the capitalization being set at $50,000.00.
The first officers were the financial leaders of Cameron. Clell Nichols was selected for the office of president; J. C. Crawford was made vice-president; H. A. Jackson, cashier, and D. W. McConaughey, assistant cashier. On the seventeenth of the following month of March, Mr. McConaughey succeeded Mr. Jackson as cashier and Harry E. Stewart was elected assistant cashier.
Occasional changes in personnel marked the next four years. Charles H. Carpenter succeeded Harry E. Stewart as assistant cashier April 1, 1904. The first change in the Board of Directors was made by the annual meeting of stockholders, January 9, 1906. S. E. Leach was elected president and W. W. Perry was made vice-president. The same year, on the twenty-third of June, Mr. McConaughey resigned from the office of cashier and the assistant cashier, Mr. Carpenter, was selected for the position.
July second, 1907, marks the end of the first period in the history of the First National Bank. At that time the board was entirely re-organized and new men were placed behind the counters to serve the public. W. M. Nowell was made president; J. M. Nichols, vice-president, and Harry Elbin, cashier; J. I. Elbin, assistant. The next January fourteenth, Lloyd Strope succeeded Mr. Nichols as vice-president. These officers continued to serve the bank for more than half the period of its history. Harry Elbin has served continuously in the office of cashier for nearly twenty-one years. Mr. Strope, who succeeded Mr. Nowell as president, August 5, 1919, has been in continuous connection with the bank for nearly as long. J. I. Elbin remained as assistant cashier sixteen years, resigning to take care of his personal business, and being succeeded by R. A. Startzman, March 20, 1923.
The resources of the First National Bank of Cameron when chartered present a steady upward trend. In fact, every yearly statement since organization of the bank has shown a good increase, with the exception of the year of national depression, 1922, when a slight decrease was noted. But the fact of the astounding growth of this institution may most vividly be state in terms of percentage. When the new officers took their positions in 1907 the resources of the bank were approximately $225,000.00. Now they total nearly $1,900,000.00. In other words, this bank has increased its resources nearly 800% in less than thirty years.
People sometimes ask about the period of greatest growth. The fact is that there are no periods of phenomenal increase, no jagged peaks in our chart. From the beginning of the organization, the bank has made increases in proportion to its size. Naturally, then, the largest increases have come in the most recent years. For instance, in the year ending June 30, 1926, the growth alone more than equaled two-thirds the total resources of the bank in 1908.
The record of the First National Bank of Cameron during the World War served materially to increase the confidence and esteem in which it is held. The government loan campaign opened the way for patriotic service. This bank bought or sold bonds amounting to $374,000.00. Statistics for the third and fourth Liberty Loan are typical of the others. Third Liberty Loan bonds totaling $108,750.00 were sold in Cameron. A fact not well known is that about four-fifths of this amount, exactly $83,050.00 was bought or sold through the First National Bank. The Fourth Liberty Loan campaign came when our armies were battling their way to victory on the battlefields of France. Cameron bought bonds amounting to $191,050.00. The First National Bank was responsible for $118,600.00. (The city totals are furnished by the War Activity Committee of Marshall County.)
The bank was particularly fortunate in the choice of a site for its building. The three-story edifice is located in the very heart of the business section. But the size proved inadequate for the growth of its institution, and in 1922 a beautiful annex was erected. Two years later the banking rooms were entirely remodeled. A massive fire and burglar-proof vault was built. The old wooden furnishings were replaced with marble, while mahogany furniture was substituted for the old. The ceiling was paneled, a burglar alarm system was installed, the latest banking machinery was bought and a directors’ room was suitably equipped in the new annex. Additional safe deposit boxes were purchased. The building with its present equipment is outstanding among banks in cities the size of Cameron. Every banking convenience and safety offered by the large modern city banks is enjoyed by the customers of the First National Bank of Cameron.
The staff of the bank at present are as follows:
Lloyd Strope, President
D. H. Peoples, Vice-President
Harry Elbin, Cashier
James G. Toothman, Assistant Cashier
Frank Walker, Assistant Cashier
H. A. Hicks, Assistant Cashier
Julia McCracken, Bookkeeper
Mrs. Clarence McCurdy, Stenographer
The members of the Board of Directors are: Lloyd Strope, D. H. Peoples, Harry Elbin, W. G. C. Hill, J. I . Elbin, C. G. Fish and James E. Cooper.
The First National Bank of Cameron is now not only the largest bank in Cameron, but the largest bank in Marshall County. Its stock, nominally worth $100.00 per share, is now valued near $425.00. The invested capital at this time is around $125,000.00. Depositors have intrusted to the keeping of this bank over one and one-half millions of dollars. The bank is adequately equipped for real banking service to the community. The staff workers include only persons experienced in banking business, and well known through long residence to the citizens of Cameron. The bank was never in a more prosperous condition and it looks to the future with even greater hopes.
HOTELS-HOTEL CAMERON-Hotel Cameron was formerly the Crawford Hotel and was finished in 1903. It was first used as an apartment house. In 1905 it was opened as a hotel with Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Wayman as the proprietors. In 1909, J. G. Crawford, the owner of the building, took over the hotel. It continued under this management until 1915. Since that time the following people have had charge: Miller, Clayton, Fish, Snyder, Loper, Ross, Mrs. Harry Lowe and Mr. P. G. Marling, the present proprietor.
THE CREED HOTEL-Immediately after the disastrous conflagration, 1895, which wiped out the center business section of the town, Dr. Edward S. Davis, a man of vision and faith in the future of Cameron, began to busy himself with the rebuilding. He purchased from W. B. Hicks, the lots now occupied by the Creed Hotel and began its erection in 1896. It is said that the honor of laying the first brick in the rebuilding of Cameron belongs to Mr. Davis.
The building is a three-story structure, 55 feet wide by 180 feet deep. The first floor has the two largest store rooms in town. Once is occupied by L. Goodman, clothier; the other by Finlayson’s Variety Store. The second and third floors, containing fifty-two rooms, were arranged for a hotel, being the first and only hotel after the fire for two years or more.
The hotel was named “Creed” by the builder for his uncle, Creed Thomas, of Richmond, Virginia, who he loved most devotedly. On February 22, 1920, at the age of seventy-three, Dr. Davis departed this life, leaving the building to his wife, Minnie B. Davis, who with her four sons, Edward Shelton, Wirt, Hugh Wythe, and Gerald Leon, reside and manage the business.
GREEN HOUSES-The Cameron Greenhouse Company was organized in the spring of 1913. The first stockholders issued certificates were: Ward Davis, Lloyd Gaston, J. T. Wells and J. R. Henderson of Fairmont, Henry Robb of Wheeling, Ed. Bonar, G. R. Wells, Della Carpenter, Charles H. Carpenter, Letitia Davis, H. H. Pipes, Harry H. Howard, J. I. Gregory, W. E. Grim, W. H. Shanor, Sinsel Hardware Company, C. G. Fish, G. W. Pletcher, Ida Boerner, R. K. Moore, Ralph Lazier, John Lazier, and Ralph Wells, all of Cameron.
George R. Wells, Ed. Bonar, Charles H. Carpenter, C. G. Fish and Letitia Davis were the main operators.
Ed. Bonar was the first president of the company. George R. Wells, secretary and treasurer, and William White, manager.
The capital stock when the company was organized was worth $15,000. This company suffered a loss of one fire in the year 1918 to the amount of $6,000.
Under the presidency of C. G. Fish, in the year 1923, the greenhouse was sold to John Neubar for $25,000. Mr. Fish closed up the affairs of the company and surrendered the charter to the state. Mr. Neubar has made a number of additions and improvements and at present the business is worth $50,000.
MATTHEWS GREEN HOUSE-The beginning of this green house dates back to the year 1914, when Mrs. Durbin gave Mrs. Matthews a geranium. Mrs. Matthews made $20.00 the first year by taking slips from the geranium and selling them. Later she built a small conservatory near the side of her home on North Avenue. She was very successful with this undertaking and later Mr. Matthews became interested. About a year later Mr. Matthews built a small green house on North Avenue. They were very successful with their business and moved to their present location in the year 1911. They had only about $4,000 when they started and now have property worth more than $15,000.
HARDWARES-CAMERON HARDWARE-The Cameron Hardware Company dates back to the late nineties when the present building was erected by Mr. S. E. Leach, who opened up a hardware store in the present location. Mr. Leach conducted the business for a number of years, then sold to Messrs. Harry and John Elbin and Lloyd Strope. In July 1912, Mr. John Lindolph and Mr. G. E. Wilson purchased the business, continuing the same until January 1, 1914, when Mr. B. T. Kent purchased Mr. Lindolph’s interest. Mr. Wilson and Mr. Kent are still proprietors and are doing a successful business.
SINSEL HARDWARE BUILDING-The Sinsel Hardware Company was organized and incorporated June 3, 1909, they having purchased the J. D. Owens Hardware Company prior to this date.
H. W. and H. S. Sinsel had purchased practically half interest in the J. D. Owens Hardware Company about one and a half years prior to June 3, 1909, at which time the present company was formed.
During the year 1914, H. S. Sinsel sold his interest in the company to Mr. Harry Burkley, Sr., and H. S. Sinsel, who conducted the business until 1915, and in the month of March, 1919, Miss Ethel Nuss purchased a number of shares of stock and was elected secretary of the company, January of the following year.
During the year 1921, Mr. Roy W. Jolliffe also purchased an interest in the company. In May 1926, Mr. Harry Burkley sold his interest to Mr. I. H. Pletcher and Mr. Harry Carr.
The present owners of the company are as follows: I. H. Pletcher, Miss Ethel Nuss, Roy W. Jolliffe, Harry Carr and H. W. Sinsel.
Officers of the company are: I. H. Pletcher, President; Roy W. Jolliffe, Vice-President; Miss Ethel Nuss, Secretary, and H. W. Sinsel, Manager and Treasurer.
POST OFFICE-William McConaughey was the first postmaster of Cameron, having received the appointment under President Pierce, January 9, 1855. Since that date the following postmasters have been appointed: January 3, 1860, John Elliott; March 25, 1861, James R. Bell; August 22, 1865, Emanuel Whitmyer; January 9, 1867, Martin G. Todd; March 12, 1888, John G. Crawford; February 19, 1889, Charles N. Chernock; May 2, 1889, Robert B. Watson; May 3 1893, Edward W. Fitzgerald; June 12, 1897, Elijah P. Richardson; September 26, 1901, Robert B. Watson; May 20, 1913, David M. McConaughey; March 7, 1922, Arch N. Cook.
TAILORS-H. M. Plantz, Merchant Tailor, opened his place of business on the second floor of the Masonic building in August 1899. In 1902 the William Matthews Tailor Shop was purchased and stock moved to the Masonic building. The same location is still maintained.
H. Reicherter, Merchant Tailor, came to Cameron February 10, 1902. His present location is in the George W. Huffner building on the corner of Bridge and Main Streets.
THEATRE-The Almo Theatre was opened July 1, 1923, in the Loper and Leach building, between Main and Railroad Streets. At present this is the only theatre in the city. Although there is no competition, Mr. C. E. Kuhn, the proprietor, caters only to high class productions such as the First National, Metro, and Producers Companies pictures.
PROBLEMS OF COMMUNITY INTEREST
CITY GOVERNMENT-OFFICERS-The officers of the city are mayor, city manager who shall act as chief of police, city clerk and collector, solicitor, night policeman and six councilmen. The mayor is elected by the qualified voters of the city. The councilmen are elected by the qualified voters of their respective wards. The clerk and chief of police are appointed by the mayor, but such appointments are not effective until confirmed by council. The solicitor, treasurer, health officer and such other officers as may be needed from time to time are also appointed by the council.
The first city election was held on May 22, 1879, at which time Obidiah Moore was elected mayor. Since that time many prominent people have served in that capacity, namely; William Dunlevy, William McDonald, M. B. Helms, Rev. Yoho, P. E. Richardson, T. C. Pipes, Judge Grimes, Dr. C. E. Hutchinson, Thomas Smith, F. Hayes Fish, Frank Hanley, Albert Vogel and A. W. Fry.
The present city officials are: John Hutchinson, mayor; Ray Holmes, city manager; Loyal Howard, night police; George King, Frank Dilliman, William Bickmyer, B. T. Kent, Aaron Porter and R. G. Stewart, councilmen; Chauncey D. Hinerman, city solicitor.
ELECTION-Under the new charter the first election was held on the first Thursday of January, 1928, and biennially thereafter. The mayor is elected for a term of two years and takes his office the first day of February next succeeding the election. The city clerk and chief of police are appointed for a term of two years. The councilmen also begin their term of office on the first day of February succeeding their election and serve for a period of four years. The council meets the first and third Monday of each month.
CITY BUILDING-The city building was erected in 1907. It is a modern three-story brick building located in the business section on Main Street. The first floor, basement, is used exclusively for the jail. The second floor for the offices of the mayor and city clerk. The meeting of the city council is held in these rooms. The equipment of the hose company occupies the front section of this floor. On the third floor is located the Public Library, the Hose Company club room, and the county surveyor’s office.
This building was erected under the administration of Mayor W. C. Grimes, and Councilmen Charles Howard, Bruce Crow, Charles Wolfe, Dr. James E. Cooper and William Nesbit, Record, J. S. Fish; Chief of Police, D. D. McCardle; Night Police, Alex. Hall, and H. H. Marling, superintendent of water works. Charles Wolfe resigned during his term of office in favor of Alfred Howard.
CAMERON FIRE-One of the most disastrous fires that has ever visited this city broke out about 9:30 o’clock on Thursday evening, June 9, 1895. The fire started in a two-story frame building owned by John Crawford. The building stood on the site of the present American Restaurant. It was used as a storage for livery stable supplies. The origin of the fire was thought by many to have been incendiary.
At this time Cameron did not have any fire department and besides the bucket brigades formed, the only means of combating the flames was water from a B. & O. engine, which was run on the Y track near the present Creed Hotel building.
Aid was summoned from Wheeling and the fire engine was loaded on a drop-end gondola car at Wheeling and brought to Benwood Junction. Here a crew was placed in charge of the train to rush it to Cameron. The train crew was composed of: William Dean, conductor; Harry Metz, rear brakesman; W. Edward Clayton, front brakesman. The engine crew was: Patrick Duffy, engineer; Thomas Weekly, fireman. The train consisted of freight engine number 546, the gondola carrying the fire engine, and the caboose. It left the double tract at McMechen at 11:58 P. M., stopped at Moundsville and picked up several parties, and at Rosby’s Rock picked up Ode Corcoran, A Cameron boy, who was telegraph operator at that place. The train proceeded until it reached Bridge number 146, which is about a quarter of a mile east of Shepherd’s tunnel and a mile and one-half east of Rosby’s Rock. At this point the left back driver of the engine left the track; the engineer whistled for brakes, but the engine ran about 150 yards. In going this distance the caboose and gondola left the track, going over into the creek bed, and in so doing, pulled the tank and engine with it. Mr. Patrick Duffy, engineer, and Mr. W. Edward Clayton were on the left side of the engine. Engineer Duffy was killed and Mr. Clayton had his left arm crushed so badly that amputation above the elbow was necessary. Richard Donahue of Wheeling and Frank Ferrill of Moundsville, both riding on the gondola with the fire engine, were also killed. Mr. Ed. Litton of Moundsville, a passenger on the train, was seriously injured but recovered. The rest of the parties on the train were not injured. The train was making a record run, as it had only been twenty-three minutes from the time the train left the double track at McMechen until the wreck happened and the distance covered was over sixteen miles.
The wrecking of this train of course hindered the fighting of the fire and it was two-o’clock Monday morning before the fire was under control. The fire gutted the entire business district and destroyed several residences on North Avenue, up as far as the present residence of Mr. Charles Wilson. Residences on Waynesburg Avenue and business buildings were also burned west, as far as the present Chaddock garage building. In all, there were fifty-eight buildings destroyed. The only building standing at present in the business section which was not destroyed is the brick building of D. W. McConaughey’s on Waynesburg Avenue.
The B. & O. round house adjoining it was burned. Some of the business places destroyed by fire were as follows: Booher and Stewart, Henderson and Boerner Brothers, Sam Reinheimer, W. D. Mathews, Helms and Woodruff, J. I. Spragg, Phillips and Elbin, C. H. Carpenter, A. W. Fry, R. B. Watson, Davis and Craig, E. W. Fitzgerald, Barney Shalvey, Harrison Hicks, F. R. Reynolds, D. W. Gillespie, B. F. Charwock, Nuss and Byard, G. W. Pipes, John W. Mathews, Hill and Howard, E. S. Davis, J. C. Duncan, James Bachman and Mrs. J. L. Cropp.
This and several other bad fires made the citizens of Cameron realize the need of fire protection.
FIRE PROTECTION-The Cameron Hose Company was organized in 1902 with one reel of hose. The first hose company was composed of the following members, with William Shaner, chief, and William Dalton, foreman: Palmer McSweeney, Lon Lowe, William Hookey, Red Nixon, Ralph Lank, Fred McGinnis, William Buckner, William Deringer, Park Taylor, Herman Hess, James Howard, Creed Malone, Charles Carpenter, Jerd Carpenter, Charles Howard, Floyd Francis, William Bennett, Lee Bonar, George Thomas, Roy Lowe, and E. S. Lowe.
In the year 1904, Hose Company No. 2 was organized and another reel of hose was purchased. In the year 1905 a hook and ladder was added to the fire fighting equipment. This was bought by the city of Cameron raising $700.00 and Messrs. Mike Benedum and John Crawford paying the balance. A fire truck was purchased by the city in the year 1923. The present chief of the Fire Department is Mr. Robert Davidson. A new electric fire siren has been recently installed at an approximate cost of four hundred dollars. Switches have been built about the city where alarms may be sounded.
STREETS-The citizens of Cameron have been active recently in beautifying our little city and two of the main residence streets have been paved and hard surfaced.
High Street, which runs parallel with Main Street and the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, and connects with State Route No. 6 on Dunlevy Street, was completed in 1926.
North Avenue, formerly called String Town, was paved in the year 1923.
Maple Avenue was paved about ten years ago and received its name on account of the beautiful maples located along the highway. This street is now included in State Route No. 6. Waynesburg and Pennsylvania Avenues were the second streets to be paved, and were completed about the year 1905. Parts of Main Street and Pennsylvania Avenue were resurfaced in 1927. Waynesburg Avenue is also on State Route No. 6.
Paving began in our city about the year 1900, when Main Street and Bridge Street were paved. About two years later the Main Street was extended to Loudensville, which is two and one-half miles west of town.
NEW COMMERCIAL BODIES
NEWSPAPERS-FREE PRESS-The first newspaper published in Cameron was established in 1875 by J. R. Faulkner. The first edition appeared in the latter part of December. It was a five column quarto journal called the Free Press. This paper was short lived, being issued only about a year and a half. The subscription price was $1.50 a year.
MARSHALL AND WETZEL NEWS-Another publication was started in 1885 by Messrs. Oliver Cook and S. P. Carney. It was a weekly publication and was the Marshall and Wetzel News. It continued for five years.
THE VIRGINIA WORLD-A six column quarto journal was established in 1893 by Mr. M. J. G. Crawford, editor and publisher. He was ably assisted by Mr. W. P. Robinson, who was general manager. The subscription price of this publication was one dollar a year.
THE REPUBLICAN BANNER-This was a monthly publication edited by Messrs. Oliver Cook and S. P. Carney. It was established May 30, 1894.
THE CAMERON BANNER-This was a weekly publication which had its first appearance June 20, 1895, ten days after the Cameron fire. It was edited and published by Messrs. Oliver Cook and S. P. Carney. This paper continued until 1904.
THE STAR TRIBUNE-The first edition of said paper appeared in November in 1901. It was edited by Mr. Newton Roberts. In February, 1903, Mr. Van H. Parriott purchased a half interest in the paper and assumed charge as editor. In August 1904, Mr. Roberts retired, leaving Mr. Parriott in full charge. Mr. Parriott conducted the business until September 1908, when he in turn transferred the management to Mr. James Moyer. Later Mr. Moyer sold to Mr. Williams. After the death of Mr. Williams, Mr. Willis Tuttle became editor and the name of the publication was changed to the Home Press. This continued until about 1923 when it changed hands, Messrs. Edward Reynolds and Elmer Stewart becoming the editor and publisher. It was discontinued entirely during the same year, 1923.
THE STATE NEWS-The State News, weekly, was established June 22, 1916, with Oliver Cook as editor. It was discontinued June 5, 1924.
THE CAMERON NEWS-The Cameron News, weekly, was established November 13, 1924, with Mrs. Mary E. Cook and Charles H. Cook as editors. After the death of Mary E. Cook, in 1926, Charles H. Cook became the editor-in-chief and Lawrence Cook business manager. In 1927 this paper was changed from a weekly to a semi-weekly publication.
HOME BUILDING INCREASE-Cameron has grown very rapidly as can be seen from the census of 1884 when the town had a population of four hundred ninety-eight. The census report of 1900 shows a population of nine hundred sixty four. At this time the oil and gas development was in its infancy. Owing to these advantages the growth of the town has been phenomenal, its population increasing since that time to over 3,000. This increase in population necessitated the building of many new homes (and new additions have been added to the town, namely; the McConaughey addition, the Strope and Nichols addition, West Lawn addition and Crawford addition.
FRATERNAL ORGANIZATIONS-AMERICAN LEGION-During the latter part of the year 1919, thirty of Cameron’s boys who had returned from service rendered their country during the World’s War met for the purpose of organizing a local post of the American Legion. An application for a charter was filed with the proper authorities, and Cameron has the distinction of being the eighteenth post chartered in West Virginia, there being at present something like one hundred twenty posts.
In casting about for a suitable name for the post it was decided to honor the name of one who had done honor to his country by paying the supreme sacrifice and the name of Delno Durbin of Cameron, who was killed in action at Soissons, France, was selected for the post name.
The post officers for the first year were: Dr. W. E. Grim, Post Commander; A. N. Cook, Vice-Post Commander; E. M. Hinerman, Adjutant; R. W. Jolliffe, Post Finance Officer, and E. T. King, Post Historian. Officers for the succeeding years are:
1921-Arch N. Cook, Post Commander; Raymond F. Fish, Adjutant.
1922-Howard D. Buzzard, Post Commander; C. R. Chambers, Adjutant.
1923-Thomas S. Wilson, Post Commander, W. L. Burton, Adjutant.
1924-D. C. Simms, Post Commander; John C. Hopkins, Adjutant.
1925-D. C. Simms, Post Commander; John C. Hopkins, Adjutant.
1926-Thomas S. Wilson, Post Commander; Clyde W. Travis, Adjutant.
1927-James L. Reed, Post Commander; John C. Hopkins, Adjutant.
1828-Charles M. Cook, Post Commander; John C. Hopkins, Adjutant.
Since the birth of the post with the membership of thirty there has been an increase in membership to one hundred six for the year 1926.
When the body of Delno Durbin was removed from its resting place in France and brought to Washington, D. C. for burial in the Arlington Cemetery, the local post, by the financial aid of the good citizens of the city, sent a delegation of eleven of its members to pay respect to the man who had given his life for his country.
Although the post has been active in caring for the veterans and in handling their affairs in connection with the filing of claims for adjusted compensation, it has also found time to aid and assist in the endeavor to make Cameron a progressive city. The post has been instrumental in securing the several machine guns to be used to decorate the parks of the city.
The post has been active in raising their quota of an endowment fund to be used in caring for the widows and orphans of the deceased veterans.
Through the efforts of the post, “Drive Slow” signs have been erected to protect the school children.
The post observes annually in fitting exercises for Decoration Day and Armistice Day.
In the monster road celebration which was held in October 1926, the opening of the State Route No. 6 connecting the cities of Wheeling and Fairmont, the post was responsible for the handling of the traffic and the parking of cars, and the post has been complimented very favorably upon the manner in which this was conducted since there was not a single accident.
The ideals and purposes of the Legion are well expressed in the following preamble:
PREAMBLE TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE AMERICAN LEGION-For God and Country we associate ourselves together for the following purposes: To uphold and defend the constitution of the United States of America; to maintain law and order; to foster and perpetuate a one hundred per cent Americanism; to preserve the memories and incidents of our association in the great war; to inculcate a sense of individual obligation to the community, state and nation; to combat the autocracy of both classes and masses; to make right the master of might; to promote peace and good will on earth; to safeguard and transmit to posterity the principles of justice, freedom and democracy; to consecrate and sanctify our comradeship by our devotion to mutual helpfulness. In 1927 the post purchased the annex building of the Hagans and Isleman Company for a home. The interior of the building was remodeled and the Legion moved to their new home early in 1928.
AMERICAN LEGION AUXILIARY-The American Legion Auxiliary Unit of Delno Durbin Post No. 18 A. L. was organized on July 2, 1926, in the American Legion Club Rooms.
The following ladies made the organization possible: Mrs. Thomas S. Wilson, Mrs. John C. Hopkins, Mrs. J. J. Boundy, Mrs. Joe Clark, Mrs. J. O. Howard, Mrs. C. O. Masters, Mrs. Clyde Travis, Mrs. Vernon Hughes, Mrs. Q. B. Huffner, Mrs. L. A. Howard, Mrs. R. A. Startzman, Mrs. I. B. Cain, Mrs. D. M. Pauley, Mrs. Elizabeth Durbin, Mrs. H. D. Buzzard, Mrs. D. E. Antil and Mrs. Clyde Loper.
The following officers were elected and installed the same evening: Mrs. Thomas S. Wilson, President; Mrs. John C. Hopkins, Vice-President; Mrs. Clyde Loper, Secretary; Mrs. Clyde Travis, Corresponding Secretary; Mrs. R. A. Startzman, Treasurer; Mrs. J. J. Boundy, Chaplain; Mrs. C. O. Masters, Historian, and Mrs. J. O. Howard, Sergeant-at-Arms.
The first Friday of each month was chosen as the regular meeting night and the time set at 7:00 o’clock.
The Auxiliary made its first public appearance July 4, 1926, at the American Legion Celebration held at Buzzards Field, and there they rendered distinguished service by feeding and serving the immense crowd that attended Cameron’s biggest celebration.
On August 6, 1926, at the regular meeting Mrs. Thomas S. Wilson and Mrs. Howard D. Buzzard were elected delegates to the state convention of the American Legion Auxiliary held at Welch, West Virginia, September 9, 10 and 11. At this convention Mrs. Thomas S. Wilson was appointed state chairman of Americanization.
On November 11th the Auxiliary assisted the Legion in the observance of Armistice Day and sold poppies made by the disabled veterans in the State Hospital at Huntington, West Virginia, and at Christmas times remembered the disabled veterans in the hospitals in the state with boxes of Christmas gifts.
At this time the Auxiliary received as its Christmas gift their charter. At the Auxiliary meeting held January 23, 1928, the following officers were elected for the year of 1928: Mrs. Orville Masters, President; Mrs. Clyde Loper, Vice-President; Mrs. Roy Pettit, Second Vice-President; Mrs. J. O. Howard, Secretary; Mrs. Vernon Hughes, Chaplain; Mrs. John Hopkins, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Mrs. J. L. Reed, Historian.
At this meeting the time of meeting was changed to the first and third Mondays in each month.
In the short time the Auxiliary has been organized it has done a notable work among the disabled ex-service men of the state and city. It has at all times been ready to carry on in its field of work and aid the Legion in the efforts they put forth as a community and civic organization. And may they continue for God and Country. “At least one set of unselfish service to the community each year.”
ANCIENT ORDER OF UNITED WORKMEN-Cameron Lodge No. 23, a subordinate lodge of the Grand Lodge A. O. U. W., was instituted March 25, 1903. The first officers elected at the time the lodge was instituted were as follows: Rev. Canby, Past Master Workman; H. Reicherter, Master Workman; E. Kuhn, Foreman; Ralph Nesbitt, Overseer; A. L. Burbin, Recorder; Charles Howard, Secretary of Finance; James Corcoran, Treasurer; W. B. Fletcher, Guide; Henry Dent, Inside Watchman, and Blanchard Dean, Outside Watchman. Trustees were Alex. Hall, R. L. Prosser and E. B. Kinsey.
This lodge had a very successful existence and was of great help in the community from a fraternal standpoint. However, as the years rolled by, members died or moved away; in fact, the membership became so scattered all over the state and in various points of the United States, and by vote they decided to surrender their charter and become members of Home Lodge No. 1. Their charter and supplies were therefore surrendered and members transferred to Home Lodge No. 1, January 1, 1919.
THE CAMERON COMMUNITY BAND-The Cameron Community Band came into existence as the result of a need felt and expressed by the entire community. Citizens of Cameron were vexed by the necessity of securing bands for various occasions from towns neither larger or better than Cameron, at the same time remembering the Cracker-Jack Citizens Band of two decades ago. Prominent citizens said that what Cameron could do then they could do now. Accordingly, a few sponsors set to work enlisting the aid of the musicians of the community.
The response was typical of Cameron. The veterans hunted up and polished their old horns or got new ones, while the younger boys were equally eager to assist in the organization of the community’s newest feature, the Cameron Community Band. It was formally organized in November 1925, with F. L. Purdy, Director; Harry Elbin, Business Manager, and J. W. Kennedy, Secretary and Treasurer.
The band made it clear to the community that it was organized solely for community service and not for financial gain. The band has held unswervingly to this policy, and has received barely enough money to meet its necessary expenses. It has played for festival occasions of several of the Cameron churches. It has gone into the country and demonstrated Cameron good will and service at many places where brass band music is scarce indeed. It has lent its aid to nearly every important municipal or national holiday since its organization. The muffled tones of the funeral march were heard on Memorial Day, the glorious airs of the nation were sounded forth on Independence Day, and the beautiful carols of the Christ Child quickened and inspired every heart on Christmas Eve. But the band made its greatest attempt at community service in the fall of 1926. For more than two months a community meeting was held in the open each Friday evening. The programs consisted of a band concert and a short address on some theme of community service and interests, with novelty features introduced from time to time. As a result of the success of this undertaking, a fine new bandstand was erected in the rear of the B. & O. depot. The band remains active. It gave two evenings of fun and music in January 1927, and periodical practice continues. The personnel of the Cameron Community Band is as follows: F. L. Purdy, Waldo Jackley, James Richardson, Harold Wilson, Dano Wise, Willis Jackley, W. W. Rupp, Herman Mickey, Stanley Allen, J. M. Phillips, Bud Wise, Harry Elbin, L. D. Reese, W. O. Spitznogle, H. Reicherter, Glen Howard, Nile Davis, Cyde Travis, Clarence Howard, Bernard Kuhn, C. H. Carpenter, G. W. Montgomery and Charles Allen.
EASTERN STAR-The Order of Eastern Star of Cameron, West Virginia, was organized by the Augusta Chapter, Mannington, West Virginia, Friday evening, June 5, 1903. It was given the name of Lorraine Chapter after Lorraine J. Petkins.
There were eleven members of Augusta Chapter present: Mary A. Bostock, M. J. Mathews, T. Tunk, H. Bostock, H. Mathews, Emma Bostock, E. Miller, V. H. Debendarfer, Mary Coleman, and Messrs. Bostock and Marr.
Chapter members of Lorraine Chapter were: Jean Dixon, Malissa Todd, Lydia Plantz, Pearl Harton, Nellie Fox, Cora Woodburn, Margaret Shaner, Verna Cooper, Clara Jeminson, Mollie Basnett, May Hutchinson, Alice Burkley, Martha Richardson, Metta Jones, Lissie Howard, Retta Thornby, Elsie Todd, Nellie Jaminson, Ethel Purdy, Laura Seymour, Mabel Howard and Jessie Howard, H. M. Plantz, John Amsler, Harry Stewart, W. R. Basnett, Louise Nixon, H. Burkely, I. O. Cook, F. L. Purdy, John Jones, A. E. Todd, E. W. Boerner, C. E. Hutchinson, E. N. Todd, E. W. Boerner and J. A. Mellis.
Lissie Howard was elected Worthy Matron; Harry Burkely, Patron; Margaret Shanor, Associate Matron; Pearl Harton, Secretary; May Hutchinson, Treasurer; Verna Cooper, Conductress; Nellie Fox, Associate Conductress.
The Past Worthy Matrons are: Lissie Howard, Alice Burkely, Metta Jones Bland, Beulah Cooper, Frances Elbert, Emma Hicks, Jessie D. Holt, May Hutchinson, Bessie Jones, Rae L. Jolliffe, Maude Kent, Margaret McNabb, Laura Monroe, Nancy Peoples, Edith Poorman, Ethel Purdy, Alice Riggs, Mary Strope, Flora Snyder, Nellie Watson, Anna McConaughey, Virginia Neal. Past Patrons: Harry Burkely, F. M. Ferrell, Vern Monroe, Cecil Snyder, J. B. Jamison, O. Cook. The present officers are: Anna Richerter, worthy Matron; Flora Duncan, Conductress; F. M. Ferrell, Worthy Patron; Ethel Nuss, Associate Matron; Eunice Yoho, Associate Conductress; Jessie D. Holt, Secretary, and Mary McCurdy, Treasurer.
Alice Bickmyer, Ada; Nellie McConaughey, Ruth; Minnie Whipkey, Warden; D. D. McCardle, Sentinel; Virginia Neal, Chaplain; Edna Wells, Electa; Cora Islin, Marshal, and Erma Watson, Organist. They have one hundred and seventy-seven members.
When the order was organized their meetings were held on Friday evenings. Later it was changed to the second and fourth Thursdays of every month.
KIWANIS CLUB-The Cameron Kiwanis Club was organized December 15, 1921, and the charter issued by Kiwanis International, January 14, 1922.
The Cameron Kiwanis Club was sponsored by the Mannington Kiwanis Club and the charter was presented by District Governor O. W. Burdatts, of Wheeling, West Virginia. The first meeting was held in Phoenix Hall with a large delegation from Fairmont, Mannington, Moundsville and Wheeling.
Kiwanis International originated upon the principle that inasmuch as all men eat, why not a representative group of men eat one meal each week together, thereby creating an avenue or outlet for the discussion of community activities or betterment.
The objects of International Kiwanis are:
1st. To give primacy to the human and spiritual rather than to the material values of life.
2nd. To encourage the daily living of the “Golden Rule” in all human relationships.
3rd. To promote the adoption and the application of higher social business standards.
4th. To develop by precept and example a more intellectual, aggressive and serviceable citizenship.
5th. To provide through Kiwanis Clubs a practical means to form enduring relationships.
6th. To render altruistic service and to build better communities.
7th. Co-operate in creating and maintaining a sound public opinion and high qualities which make possible the increase of righteousness, justice, patriotism and good will.
8th. The first officers elected were: Guy B. Patterson, President; John C. Hopkins, Secretary; and H. H. Pipes, Trustee. Directors, Dr. Jas. E. Cooper, Rev. W. E. Pierce, Frank P. Ross, W. P. Watson, B. T. Kent, W. H. Loper, W. V. Smith. These officers were elected and served for the year 1922.
Other members elected and served as club officers are as follows:
President - Secretary - Trustee
1923 R. L. Straub - R. A. Startzman - Guy B. Patterson
1924 Dr. J. E. Cooper - Herman L. Pipes - R. L. Straub
1925 Herman H. Pipes - Dr. S. C. Jones - John L. Boundy
1926 James W. Kennedy - James W. Kennedy - John L. Boundy - C. D. Hinerman
1927 R. A. Startzman - C. D. Hinerman - John L. Boundy
1928 Thomas S. Wilson - C. D. Hinerman - John Dinsmore
Since the organization of the club it has always been serving Cameron and the surrounding territory in many ways, always willing and anxious to lend its influence and help in many undertakings for the betterment of Cameron and Cameron community.
A few of the things in which the club as co-operated with other organizations and individuals are as follows:
1st. Helped put over a bond issue to build a bigger and better water system.
2nd. Erected a flag pole at Cameron Grade School.
3rd. Helped in building additional school rooms and gymnasium.
4th. helped get the early completion of the Fairmont-Wheeling highway which required five hundred thousand dollars to be drawn from the state reserve funds.
5th. Helped with the Boy Scout movement in Cameron.
6th. Helped many under-privileged children of Cameron.
7th. Secured a parking ground for automobiles.
8th. Secured a community scoring by West Virginia University, which resulted in securing for Cameron a community band, a local history, a fine band stand, etc.
9th. Entertained farmers near Cameron on several occasions.
10th. Put on a campaign that resulted in a two-cent reduction in the retail price of gasoline.
11th. Put up Kiwanis road signs.
12th. Helped secure celebration of No. 6 highway completion at Cameron.
13th. Helped secure a full time health officer for Marshall County.
14th. Helped provide a community Christmas tree.
15th. Entertained annually all Cameron school teachers and athletes.
16th. Helped secure an athletic field for Cameron.
17th. Helped bring reindeer and Eskimos to Cameron and give a free exhibition for the school children.
18th. Always helped in getting out the voters at elections and willing to haul voters regardless of political affiliations.
19th. Developed many friendships between business associates that could not have been developed in any other way which in itself has made Kiwanis in Cameron worthy of any benefits it may ever receive in the future.
The membership of February 1, 1927, consists of the following members: R. B. Antil, J. E. Bane, M. P. Boyles, J. J. Boundy, J. E. Cooper, C. W. Covert, R. E. Covert, A. N. Cook, J. E. Dinsmore, H. Elbin, F. H. Fish, C. G. Fish, B. L. Frye, Harvey Hicks, Harry Hicks, W. G. C. Hill, S. E. Hinerman, E. L. Hinerman, C. D. Hinerman, J. C. Hopkins, Charles Howard, Roy Jolliffe, James Kennedy, G. L King, B. T. Kent, W. R. Kincaid, Louis Lando, D. D. McCardle, John McClelland, F. S. Neal, Earl Nowell, Raymond Fish, Guy B. Patterson, H. H. Pipes, Fred Purdy, Luke B. Ross, T. V. Ross, J. D. Reid, R. A. Startzman, E. L. Spragg, R. L. Straub, D. C. Simms, G. J. Simms, Lloyd Strope, C. M. Talkington, G. R. Wells, Thomas S. Wilson, F. J. Wilson, G. R. Watson, F. J. Watson, H. W. Watson, R. C. Yoho, G. N. Yoho, W. C. Spitznogle, W. S. Conner and William Finlayson.
KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS-Cameron Lodge No. 21, Knights of Pythias, was given a charter under the date of October 11, 1893, when W. T. White was Grand Chancellor and Manor Jenkins was Grand K. of R. and S. of the State of West Virginia, and was soon thereafter organized with the following named brothers as charter members: LeRoy H. Allum, Edward Anderson, Will J. Booher, William A. Boerner, Frank F. Boerner, John J. Barrett, John G. Crawford, Jesse Clark, Thomas L. Davis, Jerry A. Fitzgerald, Henry Helreigle, Charles H. Carpenter, Geo. W. Howard, William W. Howard, L. L. Howard, Sr., Geo. W. Hill, Perry Menear, Willey Lowe, R. McConaughey, Thomas C. Pipes, Geo. W. Pipes, Grant Reese, and Silas Woodruff.
Owing to the disastrous fire which occurred in the year 1895, when the records were completely destroyed, it is impossible to obtain a list of the first officers who were selected from the above named members and who were duly elected and installed to further the order.
In the year 1927, after a third of a century from the date of organization, the membership totaled one hundred and thirty-four. This organization meets every Thursday evening at 7:30 P. M. in the I. O. O. F. building.
From the ranks of the Cameron Lodge No. 21, two Grand Officers of the Grand Lodge of West Virginia have been elected, namely; Thomas H. Neal, Grand Prelate, State of West Virginia; and D. D. McCardle, member of the Board of Trustees. Both of these state officers have the high regard of their townsmen and the Pythian fraternity generally through the state.
The officers at this time are: John C. Murphy, C. C.; W. D. Richey, V. C.; C. D. Hinerman, Prelate; D. D. McCardle, K. of R. and S. and M. of F.; Charles Greathouse, M. of E.; Roy Chambers, M. of W.; W. C. Frye, M. of A.; M. E. Bonar, I. G.; Harrison Gosney, O. G.; J. W. Dinsmore, Representative to Grand Lodge, and W. C. Frye, Alternate.
MASONS-Cameron Lodge No. 17, A. F. and A. M., was originally organized February 22, 1858, upon the petition of the following named persons: John H. Dockey, David W. Gray, Dr. S. B. Stidger, Solomon Kraus, John Fitzgerald, John Woodburn and Francis Gray. A dispensation by the Grand Lodge of the State of Virginia was granted. A charter was received on December 15, 1858, by them from the Grand Master, and John Dobe, Secretary. It was then styled Cameron Lodge No. 180. In 1863 West Virginia was formed and then in the year 1867, a new charter was granted under the new state which was dated January 24, 1867. This was signed by William J. Bates, Grand Master; Thomas H. Logan, Grand Secretary, and then renumbered 17.
The first officers and members under the charter granted by the Grand Lodge of Virginia, December 15, 1858; John H. Dickey, W. Master; David Gray, S. Warden; Francis Turner, J. Warden; William T. Head, Secretary; John Fitzgerald, Treasurer; William H. Showacre, S. Deacon; John Woodburn, J. Deacon; and John W. Allen, Tyler.
The first officers and members on the new charter granted by the Grand Lodge of West Virginia, January 24, 1867, were: John H. Dickey, W. Master; John Miller, S. Warden; H. A. Woodburn, J. Warden; Martin C. Todd, Secretary; Charles Boerner, Treasurer; Francis M. Reynolds, S. Deacon; John Kilapatrick, J. Deacon; Sample Parker, Tyler.
The society has been very successful since its organization. Everything seemed to work for its good, and nothing to impede its honored movements and numerical strength and in the accumulation of means. This organization meets first and third Tuesdays of each month in their hall on Main Street. The present officers are: Fred L. Purdy, W. M.; Frank B. Dillaman, S. W.; Lawrence E. Crow, J. W.; Earl W. Nowell, Treasurer; and F. M. Ferrell, Secretary; L. Dale Reese, S. D.; and William C. Fry, J. D.
THE MODERN WOODMAN OF AMERICA-The Modern Woodman of America, Camp Number 8052, of Cameron, received their charger March 11, 1907.
This camp was organized with twelve charter members, namely: O. F. Covert, James H. Denny, Arthur E. Fox, James Q. Harris, James M. Manning, William C. Nesbit, H. M. Plantz, and Herman Simmons.
This has been an active organization since its beginning, the membership having increased to one hundred and five.
The present officers are: L. O. Bonar, Consul; R. E. Stimmel, Administrator; H. A. Hicks, Banker; Kermit Bonar, Clerk; Albert Clark, Sentinel; Harrison Gosney, Watchman.
MACABEES-Mountain State Hive No. 796 of the Ladies of the Macabees was instituted in Cameron in August 1919, by Kitty E. Moore at the Creed Hotel. The meetings were there for a month or two, after which the I. O. O. F. Lodge Room was secured. Mrs. Minnie B. Davis was the first Commander. Others who have served in that capacity are: Mesdames Mayme Wagner, Erma Bonar, Iochia Best and Mrs. Newton Mickey. The present officers are: Mrs. Emma Dayton, Commander; Mrs. James McCardle, Finance Keeper; Virginia Smitley, Bookkeeper; Della Gray, Lt. Com.; Hannah Gable, P. Com.; Ethel Wright, M. of Arms; Edith Wright, Sergeant; Rose Goodman, Sentinel; and Florence Cramer, Picket.
ODD FELLOWS-The Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Cameron was organized October 15, 1867, with seven members composed of M. K. Pipes, W. R. McDonald, B. F. Andrews, J. A. Connelley, J. W. Lillie, A. B. Pipes, and David Dickey. The Fitzgerald Hall was first used as a meeting place for the order. After a few years the lodge erected a frame building on the ground now occupied by the present Odd Fellows building. The frame building was destroyed by fire in 1895 when the whole of the business section and several dwellings were burned. After the fire the lodge erected its present three-story brick building. The first story is occupied by the Dew Drop Inn Confectionery, the second as a club room and dining room, the third floor as a lodge room for Cameron Lodge No. 36, I. O. O. F., and other orders. There have been members admitted to nearly seven hundred, the present membership being about three hundred. The lodge meets every Friday evening.
The present officers are: Noble Grand, R. F. Hill, Right Support to N. G., Fred Wise; Left Support to N. G., C. E. Allen; Warden, R. E. Stimmell; Conductor, Lorraine Kester; Chaplain, I. N. Mickey; Outside Guard, William Gray; Inside Guard, Toy Cramer; L. S. S., Paul Howard; R. S. S., Ed. Hicks.
DIAMOND ENCAMPMENT-Diamond Encampment No. 49, I. O. O. F. Lodge, was chartered November 1894. The present membership is sixty-five. The lodge meets on the first and third Mondays of each month. The officers elected for 1928 are as follows: Romino F. Hill, Chief Patriarch; W. H. Snyder, High Priest; J. B. Riddle, S. Warden; M. E. Bonar, J. Warden; C. G. Howard, Inside Sentinel; Ray Polen, Outside Sentinel; W. D. Richey, Scribe; Kinsey Allen, Treasurer; and D. D. McCardle, Grand High Priest.
Mr. McCardle was elected Grand patriarch of the State of West Virginia at the State Assembly which convened June 6, 1928.
PYTHIAN SISTERS-Cameron Temple No. 32, Pythian Sisters, was instituted June 9, 1914, with the following charter members: Dora Phillips, Edna McCardle, Rena Bonar, Fronia Menear, Ora Ferling, Bessie Frye, Anna Hill, Claudia Bonar, Della Reese, Eliza Nuss, Laura Lowe, Hettie Hicks, Hilda Chambers, Cora Phillips, Edna Wilson, Ada Chambers, Rachelle Fitzgerald, Cora Gosney, Dora Wagner, Clarice Teets, Hattie Frye, Pearl Wilhelm, Mary Rush, Otie Miller, Mary Stimmel, and Metta Dowler.
The first officers were: Mrs. Emma Hicks, Past Chief; Mrs. Rena Bonar, Excellent Senior; Mrs. Dora Phillips, Excellent Junior; Mrs. Hattie Frye, Manager; Miss Mary Chaddock, Mistress of Records; Miss Nellie Hicks, Mistress of Finance; Mrs. Metta Dowler, Protector; and Mrs. Mary Rush, Outside Guard.
The membership has steadily grown until at present there are sixty-three active members. The present officers are: Stella Chambers, Past Chief; Mrs. Brucey Chambers, Most Excellent Junior; Alice Williams, Manager; Dora Gray, Excellent Senior; Ora Allen, Excellent Junior; Bessie Frye, Mistress of Records and Cor.; Frona Menear, Mistress of Finance; Rachael Fitzgerald, Protector; Anna Fisher, Guard; and Mesdames Mary Stimmell, Emma Hicks, Rena Bonar, Trustees. Pianist is Nellie Elbin.
REBEKAH LODGE-Sunbeam Rebekah Lodge No. 127 was organized September 3, 1907, by Mrs. Mae Currance, District Deputy President, Middlebourne, West Virginia, with the following charter members: Sallie Nichols, Minnie Robinson, Maggie Kincaid, May Hutchinson, Dr. C. E. Hutchinson, Elma McCardle, Mary Walton, Florence Howard. L. L. Howard. D. D. McCardle, Alice Helms Garrison, C. F. Garrison, Lucretia Pipes, T. C. Pipes, Sarah Jeminson, Sarah E. Harter, Joseph Harter, Hattie Frye, Dora Jones, Mary Ross, Elizabeth Estel, Jacob Estel, Lucy Nuss, Clara Jeminson, and Ethel Nuss.
The lodge meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month in the I. O. O. F. Lodge Hall, and have a present membership of one hundred and forty-nine.
The following are the Past Noble Grands: Clara A. Jeminson, Sarah E. Harter, Ethel Nuss, May Hutchinson, Elizabeth Estel, Elma McCardle, Rena Bonar, Frona Menear, Maggie Kincaid, Ora Allen, Mary Stimmel, Mary Ross, Lucy Nuss, Emily Platt, Dora Phillips, Bess Frye, Amelia Grossman, Ora Ferling, Cecil Kinsey, Anna Fisher, Metta Dowler, Pearl Wilhelm, Hazel Antil, Anna Caldwell, Cora Hicks, Bertha Wilson, Hattie Frye, Edna Simms, Erma Bonar, Minnie Davis, Cora Hinerman and Anna Kinnan.
The officers for 1928 are: Noble Grand, Mrs. I. N. Mickey; Vice-Grand, Anna Haun; Secretary, Ethel Nuss; Treasurer, Frona Menear; Right Supporter, Erma Bonar; Left Supporter to Noble Grand, Mrs. Robert Henry; Warden, Mrs. Robert Yoho; conductor, Mrs. J. B. Riddle, Inside Guardian, Mrs. Roy Cramer; Outside Guardian, Mrs. C. O. Grimes; Chaplain, Mrs. Elmer Morris; Past Grand, Mrs. W. D. Richey; Right Supporter, Mrs. R. E. Stimmel; Vice Grand, Mrs. C. E. Allen; and Pianist, Mrs. Hazel Antil.
THE WOMAN’S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION-The first auxiliary of this W. C. T. U. was organized in Cameron in the year 1885 in the M. E. Church with the following charter members and officers: Lucy Helms, President; Emma Hicks, Secretary; Allie Car Chenoweth, Corresponding Secretary; Mary E. Matthews, Supt. of Literature; Virginia McCuskey, Lavenia Loper, Florence Gillispie, Mary Reese, Bettie Willard, Eliza Nowell, Eliza Nuss, Samarian Hicks, Sarah Jones Harter, Sara Frye, Nancy McCuskey, Lizzie Estel, Mary Walton, Jane Parriott, Maggie Kincaid, Mrs. James Chambers, Mrs. Lee Howard, Mrs. Simmton, Mrs. Householder.
Six of the charter members are still living and active.
This organization, which has for its motto, “For God and Home and Every Land,” has reached out into every line of service in the home, social life and has done a lot of good in its work for our community.
They were active in all campaigns against the legalized liquor traffic and were instrumental in bringing about “For Saloons” and “Against Saloons” on our local ballot. It was also through their efforts that the curfew laws were passed.
In 1901-02 they employed a detective to get evidence against licensed saloon keepers who were operating slot machines and were successful in getting indictments against all of them. During the same year they were successful in removing a house of prostitution, that had been given the privilege of operating by the city officials. This was the only house of its type ever given a license in Cameron.
It might be interesting at this time to give the story of Cameron saloons. In a complete story of any city or community, notice should be taken of all the enterprises and institutions entering into its life. No complete history could be written of Cameron, therefore, that fails to include the story of her saloons, for there was a day when Cameron had as many as eleven saloons. And whatever observation might be made of these institutions this much could always be said of them, they flourished. They drew their patronage from the homes of Cameron and community for many miles around about. Many of the rooms now occupied by our most up-too-date and most enterprising merchants were at one time or another used as a saloon. One name that still lingers in the minds of Cameron people is “Phoenix,” the name for the saloon in the building now occupied by the Cameron Drug Store. These rooms were all fitted up in the most elaborate fashion, and no pains nor money were spared in an effort to make the glare of lights reflecting on expensive furnishings and equipments attract the attention of all who passed by on the streets. And people came to these places in great throngs. The old and the young and the middle aged came. Many would stay far into the night. Drinking and gambling and licentiousness were the triple activities that kept these places going. There are men now living, with but little left for old age, and the necessities incident thereto, who might have had “full and plenty” of this world’s goods but for the fact that they had wasted an entire estate in the saloons of Cameron.
But today saloons exist only in the memory of the aged and middle aged people of Cameron. No one who has not come at least to the meridian of life can give even a fair description of a saloon. And to write the history of these institutions is like trying to relate a story you heard twenty years ago. But the incredible thing about the whole story is just in this fact: That a business that flourished as did Cameron saloons, did ever go out of business at all, nothing like it has happened in all the history of civilization. Never yet did any legitimate business go out of business while it was yet in a flourishing business. No one ever heard of a merchant closing his doors while his customers crowded his place. No one ever heard of a factory closing down while orders were pouring in faster than they could be filled. With every legitimate business known to man, its prosperity has always been the absolute guarantee that it would continue indefinitely. But in the case of the American saloon, it was its own prosperity that killed it. It required fifty years for the American people to learn that the saloon had only one business; that was to make drunkards out of boys and girls. That if saloons flourished they must always do so at the expense of every legitimate business, the school, the church, and the home. That if saloons flourished every worthwhile possession in America would be levied upon in order to keep 250,000 saloons going. And when for fifty years an attempt to control these parasites upon society by means of a license tax had failed, (at one time the license tax in Cameron reached as high as $1,000 for each saloon).
When the people of Cameron finally began to reason that even $11,000 levied as a tax and paid into the city treasury for the purpose of paving our streets and building our water works and our city building, did not begin to pay for the damage they were doing to society and the toll they were levying upon legitimate business, then we rose up and said with a mighty voice: “We will have no more saloons forever.”
Cameron saloons met their doom in an election held on the first Thursday in January 1905. The campaign was bitterly contested. At first there were only a few people in Cameron who could be found with courage enough to lead in the fight. Many bad men headed the liquor interests. Threats of various kinds were made against those who stood ready to hold the torch of liberty aloft. There was an occasional act of violence perpetrated upon one or the other of these leaders, and additional threats that were never carried out would invariably follow upon the heels of every forward movement by the prohibition forces.
The W. C. T. U., headed by such loyal women as Mrs. Kinsey and Mrs. Durbin and others, and the Prohibition party, headed by such men as V. L. McCuskey and others, were the institutions, which, with the aid and encouragement of the church people of Cameron, were responsible for the victory won on the above named date. On that day the saloon interests were beaten by a bare majority of twenty-eight votes. And although an effort was made at each succeeding annual election to overcome this victory, they slipped back with every attempt. Many saloon keepers actually paid their rent for as long a period as one and two and possibly three years in the hope that prohibition would be defeated at the next election and they would go into business again.
But it was not to be. Cameron was to have seven fat years of actually trying out of prohibition before the campaign of 1912 when the people of West Virginia were to vote on the question of state wide prohibition. And Cameron’s courageous step was a mighty contribution toward a dry West Virginia. And West Virginia’s wonderful majority of 94,000 in favor of prohibition went a great ways to get our nation ready for the eighteenth amendment. Those who fought the saloons in Cameron in the years prior to 1905 were therefore building better than they knew.
And today we have men and women in Cameron who were born since the liquor traffic was outlawed in our fair little city who have never seen a saloon. Today we have a population, three-fourths of which have never seen a saloon who do not know the smell of liquor. And because this is true, and because history shows that never yet has a free people, after having so thoroughly tested the benefits of such a reform movement, ever gone back to the old ways.
In 1926 a public drinking fountain was installed opposite the post office by the W. C. T. U. ladies.
This organization has an enrollment of seventy-two active, paid members. The officers for 1928 are as follows: President, Mrs. L. A. McCardle; Vice-President, one from each church, first, M. E. Church, Mrs. Ida Mickey; second, Christian Church, Mrs. S. B. Hinerman; third, Presbyterian Church, Mrs. William Guthrie; fourth, Baptist Church, Mrs. Sidney Bane; Recording and Corresponding Secretary, Mrs. J. J. Boundy; Flower Mission and Relief Work, Superintendent, Mrs. Catherine Wilson, and Treasurer, Mrs. Earl Flack.
THE WOMEN’S BENEFIT ASSOCIATION-The Women’s Benefit Association was established in Cameron, April 2, 1902 with twenty charter members. Since that date the organization has steadily grown, until today the membership totals one hundred and thirty.
The mission of this organization is to give life protection within the reach of all women and provide specific social affairs for its members. It is, and always has been, an order organized exclusively of, by, and for women. Its founder, Miss Bina M. West of Port Huron, Michigan, is one of the foremost women of America.
The first officers were: Commander, Mrs. Will Davis; Lieutenant Commander, Mrs. C. Hutchinson; Past Commander, Mrs. Hiram Gain; Record Keeper, Mrs. O. F. Covert; Chaplain, Mrs. Robert B. Ward; Lady-at-Arms, Miss Teckla Johnson; Sergeant, Mrs. J. Davis; Sentinel, Mrs. R. E. Stimmel; Picket, Mrs. Will Hookey.
The present officers are: President, Miss Florence Anna Wright; Vice-President, Mrs. Mabel S. Loper; Past President, Mrs. R. E. Stimmel; Recording Secretary, Miss Nelle Chambers; Financial Secretary, Mrs. Will Davis; Lady-at-Ceremonies, Mrs. Clara Hopkins; Chaplain, Mrs. Helen Crow; Sergeant, Mrs. Dessie Smith; Outer Hostess, Mrs. Mollie McVey; Inner Hostess, Mrs. Bertha Clutter; Captain of the guards, Mrs. Lizzie J. Smith; Assistant Captain of the Guards, Miss Lelia Morris; Pianist, Mrs. Frank P. Ross; Parliamentarian and Critic, Mrs. Hannah McNeely; Press Correspondent, Mrs. Frank P. Ross.
WOMAN’S CLUB-The Woman’s Club of Cameron was organized in 1906 under the name of the A. W. O. W. Literary Club. The charter members were: Mesdames Geo. Elbert, L. Copeland, William Moniger, Alf. Howard, Maggie Kincaid and Miss Hattie Johnson.
The first officers were: Mrs. William Moniger, President; Mrs. William Helms, Vice-President; Mrs. H. Reicherter, Secretary; Mrs. Alfred Howard, Treasurer; and Mrs. Copeland, Critic.
This club was admitted into the West Virginia State Federation of Woman’s Clubs May 11, 1907; and on January 26, 1909, it was elected to membership in the General Federation of Woman’s Clubs.
On January 10, 1911, the name A. W. O. W. was changed to Woman’s Club.
This club is active in education, civic, and community welfare. The city libraryis maintained through the efforts of this club.
The club has been active in the sale of Red Cross Seals every year since 1910. During this year a week’s program of lectures were given.
Medical inspection in the schools by local physicians was made during the year 1912 at the request of the Woman’s Club, who furnished the blanks. This same year, domestic science classes were organized in school and Mesdames Maggie Kincaid, Herman Reicherter and Miss Nettie McCuskey conducted classes in sewing and cooking.
The first “Clean Up Day” was carried out under the management and expense of the Woman’s Club in 1911. this proved to be a brilliant success and the following year “Clean Up Day” was adopted by the city officials to be an annual event.
The first public civic improvement was begun in 1912, when the B. and O. grounds on the south side, in front of the Patterson and Hagan residences, were fenced and improved. This has been a permanent improvement and the ground are now leased to Mr. Guy B. Patterson; who has placed a new fence around it, planted beautiful hedge and shrubbery and in the summer season this plot is planted with flowers blooming almost continuously.
On Mother’s Day, 1912, twenty-six plants were delivered to shut-ins. This work was in charge of Mesdames Lloyd Strope, Fred Anderson and Maggie Kincaid.
A flower day, held October 8, 1912, netted money enough to buy three hundred bulbs which were placed on the B. and O. grounds already improved.
The city was provided with waste paper baskets for the business streets in 1913.
Several “better babies” contests with instructive work were sponsored.
Educational features, such as lectures, recitals and book reviews, are sponsored often by the club.
The City Playground movement was started in 1919 and the following year the playground was opened. The site was on the location of the present High School Gymnasium. Funds for buying the equipment for the playgrounds were raised by public subscriptions and a play which the Woman’s Club sponsored. Playground directors were hired each year for several years. The expenses of the playground have always been met by the different playground committees, who have sponsored plays and had refreshment booths during Chautauqua week.
The playground is now located on the west side of North Avenue. For several seasons the equipment has not been used. This year all equipment has been placed on the grounds and it is now opened to the public. Members of the Boy Scouts will serve as directors during the coming season.
Among those who have served as directors of the playground are: Erma Radusch, Thelma King Haught, Olive Langfried, Helen Smith, Helen Scott Howard and Mr. R. G. Stewart.
The first health survey of the city was made in 1921. The Woman’s Club had complete charge of the survey and a house-to-house canvass was made by the members. This report was submitted to the county health authorities at Moundsville. The result of the survey were better sanitary conditions for the city and several cases of tuberculosis were given the proper medical attention.
In 1926, a city flower, the petunia, was adopted and seed of this beautiful flower was distributed free of charge to all residents of the city. The first 4-H Club movement in Cameron was sponsored by the Woman’s Club in the year 1924. Mrs. J. M. Thompson was chairman of the committee in charge and she was assisted by Mesdames H. M. Plantz, Herman Reicherter, C. W. Riggs, E. R. McNabb and others. The work of this committee was to instruct the members of the 4-H Club in sewing and basketry.
In 1927 the club decided to give a gold medal each year to the member of the Senior Class of Cameron High School who has the best all around scholar. In 1928 the club presented two prizes for the best spellers in the annual spelling bee held by the Cameron District Schools. The presenting of these prizes will be an annual event.
Funds for the maintenance of the library are raised by giving plays and tag days. The tag day held October 8, 1927, netted $124.00. This was one of the best tag days ever held.
The past Presidents of the club were: Mrs. William Moniger, Mrs. J. E. Cooper, Mrs. T. R. Hite, Mrs. C. E. Hutchinson, Mrs. Herman Reicherter, Mrs. C. F. Anderson, Mrs. J. I. Elbin, Mrs. W. V. Teagarden, Mrs. George Platt, Mrs. E. R. McNabb, Mrs. John Hutchinson, Mrs. J. M. Thompson, Mrs. F. Hayes Fish, Mrs. Harvey Hicks, Mrs. W. E. Pierce and Mrs. C. W. Hurd.
The present membership is limited to thirty active members, two honorary members, Mrs. Peter Fleming and Mrs. George Elbert.
The present officers are: President, Mrs. John Dinsmore; Vice-President, Mrs. Chauncey D. Hinerman; Treasurer, Mrs. Frank Dillaman; Secretary, Mrs. George Holt; Corresponding Secretary, Mrs. John Hopkins.
THE WOODMAN-Cameron Camp No. 45, Modern Woodman of America, was organized by the St. Manager Alex Foreman and Deputy S. J. Recter on the evening of December 28, 1911, with the following membership: T. J. Smith, S. W. Clutter, T. J. L. Hills, S. J. Lees, S. S. Chambers, C. W. Downing, B. G. Haws, H. B. Slonaker, C. B. Chambers, E. Jollife, A. Zerick, J. W. Gray, M. E. Williams, R. A. Bryan and R. E. Simms. At present J. P. Summerfelt is clerk of the camp.
WAR VETERANS-This chapter is written in recognition of Cameron’s soldiers, the living and the dead, of the three great wars, namely, the Civil, the Spanish-American and the World War.
All the demands of the government were met and in every instance the people of Cameron District went “Over the Top” of their goal set. The records established by these soldiers is a very enviable one, not excelled by any district in the state. Among the Civil War veterans from this district are: John Burley, John Buzzard, Presley Buzzard, S. H. Cooper, J. J. Chaddock, J. R. Dickson, Dr. Edward S. Davis, Jerry A. Fitzgerald, Jerry Fritz, Christopher Frye, Hudson Frye, Thomas Gallentine, Jake Howard, James Howard, Alfred Howard, Albertim Howard, George Howard, Wiley Hager, Nicholas Helms, M. B. Henry, James Hicks, James W. Hicks, Captain Wilson Hicks, John A. McCracken, David McDonald, J. S. McDonald, W. R. Murphy, David Nowell, William M. Pariott, S. A. Pipes, Dr. J. H. Riggle, Jacob Riley, Hyder Riley, Charley Sloan, Samuel S. Slonaker, Jacob Talbert, Robert B. Watson, Porter B. Willard, J. P. Allen, and Charles Keller.
The Spanish-American War veterans from this district are: J. R. Dickson, Frank Hanley, Art Jones, George Jones, John Summerfield, Robert Yoho, and August Zerick.
Among the World War veterans who did particular acts of merit are: Lester Delno Durbin, of the Second Division, who was killed in action at Soissons. His family received both French and American citations for his bravery. The Cameron Legion Post is named for this hero. Joseph Clark, a runner, carried important messages under machine gun fire; he also received a distinguished service medal. Another Cameron boy who served in the World War and has made a name for himself in aeronautics is Encil Chambers. He holds the world’s record for the highest altitude jump from an airplane, a distance of 26,260 feet. He is a very spectacular performer and is at present located at Lincoln, Nebraska, a member of Page’s Flying Circus, an organization of stunt flyers. Augey Peddler, pilot for Miss Doran, lost in the Hawaiian flight in 1927, was pilot for Sergeant Chambers for two years. Col. Charles A. Lindbergh and Clarence Chamberlain were instructed in the art of flying by Mr. Chambers. He enlisted in the Eighty-second Division Machine Gun Co., May 6, 1917. After the World War he re-enlisted in the aviation corps and graduated from the U. S. army air service, Mechanics School, Kelly Field, Texas, April 16, 1920.
Among the others who served in this war from this vicinity are: Charles E. Anderson, Jesse Amos, Clyde Anderson, D. E. Antil, Walter Bailey, Herman Bowers, Harold J. Barrett, E. S. Bowers, Albert Bebee, Austin Boundy, Sam Braden, Spray Burley, Howard Buzzard, Arnett Buzzard, James Raymond Burley, Elijah Blake, Charles Buzzard, Roy Chambers, Encil Chambers, Harry Chambers, Arch N. Cook, Lawrence C. Cook, Charles M. Cook, Stanley Crow, Herman Crow, John Christy, Wylie Cecil, Absolam Cecil, Howard Cox, James L. Crogan, Joseph Clark, Slater Chambers, Walter C. Courtright, Lester Crow, Harrison Chambers, J. Randall Crow, Conrad Chaddock, Lester Delno Durbin, Orville Dickson, Ercil Dickson, William T. Eller, Harold Evans, James Earnest, William Earnest, Roscoe Fair, Leo Joseph Fry, Charles Carlton Fish, Raymond P. Fish, Charles Fish, William H. Fletcher, Harold Fisher, Floyd Gregory, Ralph Gunn, Otis Gallentine, J. B. Gallentine, Arthur Gallentine, Milton Gable, Addison Gable, Spencer Gable, George Gable, Allen Gump, Elmer Gump, Lawrence Goodman, Dr. W. E. Grimm, Tuiller Braden Huffner, William Hatina, Orval Howard, James O. Howard, Walter Howard, Emmett Hinerman, Leslie C. Howard, Paul Hagerman, John C. Hopkins, Martin Hopkins, J. Henry Hall, Vernon Hughes, James T. Ingersoll, Roy W. Jolliffe, C. Ray Jolliffe, Charles Johnson, Phil Jones, Emmons King, Fred Kinsey, Everson Knox, Frank M. Leach, William R. Lowe, Harry Lowe, Clyde Loper, Paul Lough, William Miller, Earl Miller, Fred Miller, Orval Mason, Charles Minor, David T. Murphy, Jr., William Moose, Edward Mix, John Mix, John P. McDermott, Arlington McGinnis, Cyril McCormick, Denton McCormick, J. Lloyd McCracken, James Minor, Bernard McGinnis, Guy Peoples, J. E. Parker, Fred Phillips, William Lester Parsons, Luke B. Ross, James L. Robinson, Oscar Ryan, Columbus Ryan, George Reese, Guy Reese, Edward Reese, D. Carl Simms, Clarence Slaughter, Elwood Strobel, Charles Sloan, Roy Straun, J. L. Tribbett, Vere R. Todd, Harry Tedrow, Ersie Van Teagarden, Thomas S. Wilson, Clarence B. Whitlatch, John W. Whitlatch, Arch Wilhelm, Jesse Wilhelm, John Maywood Williams, Grafton Williams, George Williams, Wesley Ward, Harry Wendt, John L. Woodruff, James R. Wilkerson, Clem Yoho, Thomas Yates.
Loudensville-Ray Straun, Joseph Howard, Walter Hartley and Charles Garey.
Woodruff-John Turner, Nelson Richards and William Lynn.
Denver-Linzie Dayton, Asa Woods and Charles Grandon.
SUMMARY OF BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS
The citizens of Cameron may well be proud of their places of business and the many men and women who have entered the business and professional fields of service. The following is the classified business directory:
AUTO REPAIRS AND ACCESSORIES AND AUTOMOBILE DEALERS
Anderson Motor Company - Waynesburg Avenue
Arrowhead Gasoline Company, R. Pierce, Mgr. - Pennsylvania Avenue
Bartrug, James - Poplar Springs
Bane Brothers - Waynesburg Avenue
Bane and Hinerman - Waynesburg Avenue
Chaddock, P. E. - Waynesburg Avenue
Conners, William S. - Clouston
Fair, Roscoe - Main Street
Finnegan, B. J. - Waynesburg Avenue
Howard, Clarence - B. & O. “Y”
Howard, Edward - West Main Street
Howard, Harley - Waynesburg Avenue
Howard, C. G. - Dunlevy Avenue
Haws Service Station - Main Street
Huffner, I. B. - Waynesburg Avenue
Hicks, Mrs. Esta - State Route No. 6
Henderson and Minor - Main Street
Kerns, A. W. - Waynesburg Avenue
McClelland, John - Main Street
Mason, O. J. - Tunnel Hill
Mickey, I. N. - Main Street
Raber, John - Pennsylvania Avenue
Swishers, C. E. - Waynesburg Avenue
Simms, D. C. - Waynesburg Avenue
Turk Motor Company - Pennsylvania Avenue
Wilson, M. G. - Maple Avenue
Whipkey, W. L. - Pennsylvania Avenue
Yoders Motor Company - Waynesburg Avenue
Bank of Cameron - Main Street
First National Bank - Main Street
Cameron Bakery Company, J. I. Elbin - Bridge Street
Howard, L. L. - Dunlevy Avenue
Swisher, C. E. - Waynesburg Avenue
Arcade Pool Room, Clyde Stevens - Main Street
Antler Pool Room, Abe Brody - Bridge Street
Frank Ferrill - Crawford Avenue
Cameron Telephone Company - Main Street
Bell Telephone Company - Main Street
Farmers Telephone Company - Main Street
TIRES AND RADIO
Howard, Clarence - B. & O. “Y”
Swisher, Dr. C. E. - Waynesburg Avenue
Mackey, Dr. J. M. - Adaline Street
Yoho, George N.
Gable, L. O. - Chambers Brothers - Carter, William - Kinnan, J. B.- Ray Brothers
Snyder, C. A. - Keith Virgin and Nelson Richards - Martin, Paul - Covert Brothers - McElwee, M. J. - John Virginia and Annon Isiminger - Hamilton, Morgan - Boundy Brothers - Windom, L. L. - Bush, M. and Sons
Cameron Hatchery, Boundy, Delmont - Pennsylvania Avenue
JOB PRINTING AND SUPPLIES
News Printing Company, Cook Brothers - Maple Avenue
PAINTERS AND PAPER HANGERS
Thompson, I. N. - Mix, John - Morris, Elmer - Hamilton, L. L. - Strope, George - Howard, L. L., Jr. - Marling Brothers
Hughes and Carney - Main Street
The Woman’s Store, Wilhelm and Startzman - Main Street
Cameron Drug Store, Dinsmore, John - Bridge Street
McNabb’s Pharmacy, McNabb, E. R. - Main Street
Rexall Drug Store, Howard, Harry H. - Main Street
Jer Alfa Dale Farm, McConaughey, D. Charles - Pennsylvania Avenue
Meadowbrook Jersey Farm, Lough, John - Clouston
West End Dairy, Gump, Elmer - West Main Street
Yoho, George - North Avenue
Fauley, D. M. and W. D. - Waynesburg Avenue
Sanborn, R. H. - Bridge Street
Antill, William and Son - Waynesburg Avenue
Fish, C. G. & Company - Waynesburg Avenue
Anderson and Wright - Waynesburg Avenue
Watson Brothers - Waynesburg Avenue
Anderson, John - Main Street
Atlantic and Pacific Tea Company - Main Street
Conners, William S. - Clouston
Dinsmore and Wagner - Main Street
Fish, Hayes - Bridge Street
Huffner, George - Bridge Street
Howard, Harley - Waynesburg Avenue
Jones, A. W. - Pennsylvania Avenue
Jackley, Waldo - Main Street
Keilt, Dan - Main Street
Knight Food Market - Bridge Street
Taylor, Mrs. George W. - Adaline Street
Wendells, Edd - West Main Street
State Grocery Company - Main Street
Cameron Green House - Pennsylvania Avenue
Cameron Hardware Company - Waynesburg Avenue
Sinsel Hardware Company - Pennsylvania Avenue
Antler Hotel, Brody, A. - Bridge Street
Creed Hotel, Davis, Minnie - Main Street
Hotel Cameron, Lowe, Mrs. Olive - Main Street
Cameron Tool Company - East Pennsylvania Avenue
Cameron Glass Company - East Pennsylvania Avenue
Eljer Pottery Company - West Main Street
Perfect Glass Company - East Pennsylvania Avenue
Patterson Glass and Manufacturing Co. - West Main Street
Public Service Utilities - East Pennsylvania Avenue
Smile Bottling Works - Church Street
INSURANCE-LIFE AND FIRE
Carpenter, Charles H. - Main Street
Crowe, Lawrence - National Bank Building
Howard, Charles - Main Street
Reese, Earl G. - High Street
Simms, C. J. - Main Street
Watson, B. J., Jeweler - Main Street
Antil, Lewis and Son - Waynesburg Avenue
Moundsville Lumber Company - Maple Avenue
Cameron Sunshine Laundry, Hughes, Edward - West Main Street
Watson Brothers - Waynesburg Avenue
City Millinery, Virginia Smithley - Pennsylvania Avenue
Hughes and Carney - Main Street
Wilhelm and Startzman - Main Street
Antil, W. M. and Son - Waynesburg Avenue
Fish, C. G. and Sons - Waynesburg Avenue
City Plumbing and Heating Company, Ryan, E. L. - Waynesburg Avenue
Duncan, Frank - Main Street
The American, Van Devender, D. R. - Main Street
Restaurant, B. and O. - Railroad Street
Kerns Restaurant, Kerns, A. W. - Waynesburg Avenue
O. G. Coffee Shop, Marling, H. H. - Waynesburg Avenue
Boerner Shoe Shop, Boerner, Frank - Waynesburg Avenue
Shoe Hospital, Senkow, Conrad - Main Street
Sisson, J. L. - Bridge Street
Plantz, H. M. - Main Street
Reicherter, Herman - Bridge Street
Buzzard, Clyde - Main Street
Barger, D. L. - Main Street
Fry, James D. - Bridge Street
Hicks, Harry - Main Street
Isleman, Charles - Main Street
McCardle, William - Main Street
Cameron Beauty Shoppe, Oliver, Bess D. - Main Street
Byard Blacksmith Shop - Waynesburg Avenue
Jones, Frank, Blacksmith Shop - Waynesburg Avenue
Finnegan, B. J. - Waynesburg Avenue
CLEANING AND PRESSING SHOP
Phillips, Russell - Main Street
Fish, S. Jerry - Main Street
Loper, Clyde - High Street
Dew Drop Inn, McCardle, D. D. - Main Street
General Furnishings and Shoes
Goodman, Louis - Main Street
Hinerman, S. B. - Main Street
Howard, Charles - Main Street
Lando, Louis - Main Street
Men’s Furnishings and Shoes
The Spragg Company - Main Street
Almo, Kuhn, C. E. - Main Street
Fordyce, Jess - Main Street
Finlayson Brothers - Main Street
The following is the list of our professional men and women, the place of their birth, the name of the school from which they received their degrees, and the date when they located in our city.
DOCTORS OF MEDICINE
Arnold, J. E. Born at Glen Easton, Marshall County, West Virginia. Graduated from the University of Nashville, Tenn., year 1907. Located in Cameron in 1926.
Cooper, J. E. Born at Ryerson Station, Greene County, Pennsylvania. Graduated from Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio in 1897. Located in Cameron in 1898.
Coen, John A. Born at Pine Bank, Greene County, Pennsylvania. Graduated from Pittsburgh University in 1911. Located at Cameron December 9, 1927.
Grim, W. E. Born at West Finley, Washington County, Pennsylvania. Graduated from Baltimore Medical College, Baltimore, Maryland. Since associated with Maryland University in 1928. Located in Cameron in 1911.
Hill, W. G. C. Born in Tyler County, West Virginia. Graduated from Baltimore Medical College in 1909. Located in Cameron in 1910.
Hagerman, R. P. Born 1896, Marshall County, West Virginia. Graduated from University of Maryland in 1903. Located in Cameron, September, 1927.
Riggs, C. W. Born in Pleasant Valley, Marshall County, West Virginia. Graduated from the Starling Medical College, Columbus, Ohio, in 1900 and immediately located in Cameron.
Wells, G. R. Born at Fairmont, Marion County, West Virginia. Graduated from the Fairmont High School in 1896, Fairmont Normal in 1901 and Baltimore College of Dental Surgery in 1901. Located in Cameron in 1908.
Spitznogle, W. O. Born at Hundred, West Virginia, and graduated from Cincinnati College of Dental Surgery at Cincinnati, Ohio in 1925. Located in Cameron in 1926.
Boyles, M. P. Born at Philippi, Barbour County, West Virginia. Graduated from Fairmont Normal in 1909, West Virginia University, A. B. degree in 1913, A. M. degree in 1927. Located in Cameron in 1922.
Wright, Florence Born at Greene County, Pennsylvania. Graduated from Ohio State University in 1916 with B. S. degree, West Virginia University in 1924, M. A. Has been principal since 1921. Was appointed Superintendent of Cameron District Schools in 1927.
Hopkins, J. C. Born at Cameron, Marshall County, and graduated from the Elliott Commercial School, Wheeling, West Virginia; Law College of West Virginia, degree L. L. B. in 1921, and immediately located in Cameron.
Hinerman, Chauncey D. Born at Proctor, West Virginia. Graduated from West Virginia University Law School in 1925 with L. L. B. degree. He immediately located in Cameron.
Fish, Viola Watson Graduated from Ohio Valley General Hospital at Wheeling, West Virginia, in 1919.
Lowe, Mrs. Ethel Pearl Graduated from Haskins Hospital at Wheeling, West Virginia in 1910.
NEURO CALOMETER CHIROPRACTORS
Metz, Walter F. Born at Shamokin, Pennsylvania.
Metz, Mrs. Virginia E. Born at Philippi, West Virginia.
Yoho, George N. Born at Garner Settlement, Proctor Township, Wetzel County, West Virginia. Located in Cameron in 1908. Elected to the State Senate in 1922.
It is questionable if there is a town in the State of West Virginia with Cameron’s population (3000) and business rank that is as clean, morally. The town is, to a large degree, clear of that element which usually lowers the moral tone and character of a community of its size. It is particularly a desirable residence for people who are seeking a clean, moral, healthy location.
FOR YOUR INFORMATION....
In preparing to submit The History of Cameron, West Virginia, I was concerned about possible copyright violations. I contacted the librarian at the library in Moundsville, West Virginia and also spoke with a former librarian of the Cameron Library in Cameron, as well as a current employee of that library. This book was published in the late 1920’s by the Cameron Women’s Club. which no longer exists, according to the former Cameron librarian who also believes the book was never copyrighted.
In retyping The History of Cameron, West Virginia, I have tried to preserve the punctuation and spelling as it appears in the book. I have changed only the most confusing punctuation marks. As for the spelling, you will find many inconsistencies which I believe are not so much the fault of the authoresses as of the typesetter. For example, in one paragraph you will find the name “Zinnerman,” but in a subsequent paragraph it appears as “Zimmerman.” In another example, I found the male name “Francis” showing up a few sentences later as the female “Frances.” In many of these instances, I felt I knew which spelling was correct; however, I decided to leave the names as they were and allow you to make your own deductions. However, I feel compelled to point out two deficiencies: 1) On page 61 the name “Tuiller Braden Huffner” appears. I believe this should be Quiller Braden Huffner. I lived next door to Mr. Huffner on Gable Avenue in Cameron for four years, and I am reasonably certain that “Tuiller” is actually my neighbor, Quiller. 2) In my copy of The History of Cameron, on the page listing the World War veterans is a penciled notation “Charles W. Ludolph” written by Mr. Arthur W. Ludolph. Charles Ludolph’s name may have been inadvertently omitted from the original list.
I have proofread the pages at least twice and sometimes as many as three times. If errors remain, I apologize.........Crystal Hart Allen
Web page by Linda Cunningham Fluharty